Find companies:
The Kroger Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,104 reviews

The Kroger Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Bakery clerk (Former Employee), sugarland, texasSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: paid break time
Cons: little hours
It was a nice place to work. I learned how to deal with different kind of people. The management and co-workers were nice understanding people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reliable workplace with an excellent staff
Cashier (Former Employee), Laveen, AZSeptember 14, 2014
Work was a routine of food prep sales customer service and marketing. I learned how to conduct inventory and shrink out used product. I was taught how to create in store displays and up sale and product pair for customers. Management was open and available to the staff and did their best to have our schedules and job duties lined out and easily followed. – more... Co workers were friendly and professional for the most part. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace advancement at a young age!
Bookkeeper (Former Employee), Frisco TXSeptember 14, 2014
Work was great for a first job honestly. Quickly advanced through the ranks up to the stores bookkeeper at 17 years old. Very fun and very good job for teaching responsibility. Great work environment!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with customers and being able to assist them while they shopped.
Cashier / File Maintenance Clerk (Former Employee), Ypsilanti, MISeptember 14, 2014
Pros: the able to help customers and our discount on groceries which helps with having a family.
Cons: the cons i have would be lack of communication with management/staff, the schedule which made it hard for me to schedule things for my family and myself.
This location was always steady and busy which made working enjoyable. However the process of advancement within the company was difficult at times. I have a family and my continuous different schedule made things hard for me. There would be days that I would work an over night shift (10p Sun - 6a Mon) then be scheduled to return back to work 8 hours – more... later (4p-12a Mon) which would give me exactly 8 hours to go home sleep, eat and take care of my family. I tried to discuss this numerous times to try and make a little more of a set schedule for me. I did get along with all my co-workers and was always willing to give a hand where ever it may be needed. The most enjoyable part though was definitely the interacting with customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Cashier (Former Employee), Macon, GASeptember 14, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: low pay
Fun environment. Low stress. Helpful coworkers. A typical day at work was pretty much like any day at a grocery store. Customers would checkout with their groceries and I would greet them with a smile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for college students.
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee), Alexandria, LASeptember 13, 2014
Great job for college students. A typical day at Kroger is to stock the shelves and help the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kroger was good for management experience but I am interested getting back in my field of work for my particular major of Computer Science.
MD1 Management Program/Senior Co-Manager (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: no work life balance
Kroger was good for management experience but I am interested getting back in my field of work for my particular major of Computer Science.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace working environment
Part-sales associate (Former Employee), Dearborn, MISeptember 13, 2014
Pros: good hours, long breaks
Cons: not good compensation
A typical day at work would be described as a little challenging due to the fact that there are so many customers to assist around the store. Working here I learned how to conducted myself properly in a retail setting and how to fulfill the customers wants prior to their needs. While working at DEB, I was able to work at the cash register, dressing – more... rooms, by the door, etc. so it did definitely did help give me inside knowledge and training on working in retail business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing Managers Ruin Atmosphere
Deli Associate (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: excellent compensation such as health insurance, discounts, and scholarships.
Cons: high stress environment, good managers replaced with bad ones. higher management punishes those who report bad behavior.
The day would often start with a lot of hand washing and pleasantries between coworkers, and if the time was right, lots and lots of customers. The chefs working with us were very nice people, though would be more irritable later in the day, as customers and (after the manager change) bad scheduling would grate on them. Some coworkers are very good – more... people, others are very bad people, it's a mixed bag, and you never know who you're going to be saddled with. Some employees will carry their own weight and far more, going above and beyond, while others flippantly refuse to work unless someone important is watching. Some coworkers would often verbally abuse others, and higher management would usually ignore reports of bad behavior unless the union was called. Higher management punishes those who report bad behavior anyway, usually by actually enforcing the rules they usually ignore on those reporting. If two employees have a conflict, the aggressor will usually be ignored, while the victim will be watched closely for rule breaking, and sometimes given untruthful punishments for things like "insubordination" when no rules have been broken. Upon the month many employees were laid off, including me, a new manager was hired to make the structure of the location more like a Walmart (not hyperbole, those were his exact words to me) and replaced our existing deli manager with one that had been a manager here before, but was previously replaced due to complaints of incompetence.

The compensation is incredible, but at my location, you must be prepared for repugnant upper management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workers were great!
CUSTOMER SERVICE / ACCOUNTING (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCSeptember 12, 2014
I wanted to change my professional state.
I learned a lot of about people's need. And to solve the problems fast and efficiency, leaving without any concern.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Start Not Long Term
Assistant Customer Service Manager, Lead Clerk (Former Employee), Lake Orion MISeptember 12, 2014
Pros: great benifits
Cons: poor hours
Give up your nights, and weekends, fight for hours, 17 years with advancing all the way to the top hourly position, not worth it in the long run
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Cashier (Current Employee), Chester, VASeptember 12, 2014
They don't really appreciate anything you do. The pay sucks because they want so much out of you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeps my bills paid.
Assistant Manager of Subway (Current Employee), Calhan, COSeptember 11, 2014
A typical day starts off with lots of prep work to do, cleaning and handling orders and transactions. As the day goes on its continuous cleaning and dealing with customer orders. The hardest part, is always being put down no matter what you seem to do. The most enjoyable is meeting some of the customers who enjoy talking to you, that makes the day better – more... and goes by faster! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
treat every employees as a slave
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 11, 2014
Pros: good work envirnment
Cons: work and pay not balanced
This company is big but they don't care lower level employees.
I like the work environment but I have to spend a year to get 25 cent pay raise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Covington, GASeptember 11, 2014
:Typically day of work can be very calm or very hectic,
: Everyday gives me a new way how to handle different situations, even tho I have been there for 7 years I learn different ways to handle things which I like to look at is as a great thing,
:I love my coworkers, I am very much a people person
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and an enjoyable place to work
Cashier (Current Employee), Clarksdale, MSSeptember 11, 2014
Constantly learning, building new professional relationships and meeting new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Deli/ Customer service (Current Employee), Bradley, ILSeptember 11, 2014
Nice place to work get to meet new people, department manager works with us to complete task, co-workers (sum a little difficult) are fun we make the day go fast by working together and learning each other and our customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drama town
Cashier (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: seeing old friends daily
Cons: drama
I had a good time at Kroger except for all the drama that was going around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They care about the customer and the associates
Manager PMO (Former Employee), Blue AshSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: inclusive, they care about keeping good resources
Cons: mid-range pay compared to the market
Great company from a culture perspective. VP's listen if you aren't whining but make valid points for improvement. Managers are pressured to deliver. Overall a really good company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was alright
Starbucks Barista (Former Employee), Sugar Land, txSeptember 11, 2014
The overall salary didn't fit well with the other Starbucks employees at the main stores.