Find companies:
The Kroger Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,995 reviews

The Kroger Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kroger is FUN
Meat Department Associate (Former Employee), Columbus, OHAugust 8, 2014
Kroger is like any other retail job. I didn't notice anything with grocery. Being in a union is actually a good benefit as well. I broke my ankle in the winter and was unable to to put pressure on it. Any other job where I would be making minimum wage, I would get fired if I couldn't have made it to work. Being in a union I got the necessary time off – more... to heal and still had a job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management cares and motivates
Fuel Manager (Current Employee), Knoxville, TnAugust 8, 2014
Pros: supportive managers, freedom to discuss professional interests and concerns about the company
Cons: there are sacrifices one must make, due to low wages, in order to move into upper management
Kroger management is quick to notice above average job performance. They encourage cross-training and promotion and go above and beyond in recommending open positions that further your professional journey within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Cashier (Current Employee), Saginaw, MIAugust 8, 2014
pros= co workers
weekly pay

cons= management
benefits
rude customers
short breaks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Deli Associate (Former Employee), Anderson, INAugust 8, 2014
Pros: daily outings
Cons: management
Your work day was never the same twice!

You would deal with behaviors DAILY by different consumers in the home.

The hardest part of the job was having to say good-bye to the family (co-workers and consumers) in the homes I worked in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average to good work place, pleasant people.
Production Associate (Current Employee), Washington, ILAugust 8, 2014
Pros: good amount of hours
Cons: bad work life balance
management and coworkers are all good. pay is not good and work life balance is not always great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
B
Lead Nutrition Clerk (Current Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 8, 2014
Pros: fellow workers
Cons: management
Over all is a good company,the level of management has recebtly fallen off.
Very satisfying
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ever-changing
Co-Manager (Current Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 8, 2014
Kroger is a great company. The typical work week is ever-changing; one will learn a lot there from hiring, coaching and leading good associates to become great. One must dedicated and willing to accept the ever-changing world of Kroger.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i like what i learn on the job as baker
Baker (Current Employee), Decatur, GAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: insurance
Cons: not enough employees workin on the job
the hardest part of my job was not having product prepared for the next day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair place to work
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Delta DCAugust 7, 2014
Pros: job security for management
Cons: long hours
Kroger is a fair place of employment. It has a decent management team. My co-workers make the job enjoyable. A typical day is long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management, Poor Training
Bagger/ Cart pusher (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 7, 2014
Pros: discounted groceries
Cons: poor management, bad coworkers
I was not informed of what position I was going to be in, Nor was I fully trained for it. When the work became to much for me to handle, i went and asked the GM for help, his response? "It's your job, you signed up for it. Suck it up." How rude, right??
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its okay if you dont need money
Drug/General Merchandise Department Manager (Current Employee), Missouri City, TXAugust 7, 2014
Pros: awesome people to work with
Cons: low pay
Kroger is an awesome place to work at. But it doesnt pay enough to pay the bills and have an awesome life outside of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Job
Gas Clerk (Former Employee), kennesaw, georgiaAugust 7, 2014
The position as a gas clerk was very straight forward and easy to accomplish the tasks handed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Work environment
Bagger (Former Employee), Hebron, OHAugust 7, 2014
Pros: it was a job
Cons: management
I have nothing positive to say about working there. Everything was very unstable and unreliable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive organizational results
Fuel Specialist (Current Employee), Dallas, TXAugust 6, 2014
Pros: relationship building, networking, and teamwork
Cons: communication, coaching, advancement
Manage training 300 employees in 50+ fuel centers while demonstrating inclusionary leadership, expecting inclusive behavior from associates, and support the efforts of the store, district, and division Cultural Councils. Utilize coordinators and other field staff to ensure store departments are achieving their sales and profit goals and ensure implementation, – more... and execution of division merchandising plans. Promote and support strong relationships with local fuel managers in the surrounding area in which the store operates. Control fuel storage tanks and enforce state and government fueling regulations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great advancement opportunity
Co-Manager (Current Employee), WVAugust 6, 2014
Pros: discounts
I have been able to enhance my management and leadership skills through this company. I enjoyed the "behind the scenes work" such as preparing budgets, creating action plans, and setting goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Cashier (Former Employee), Pickerington, OHAugust 6, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
This was not my favorite job at all the manager stole from me and fired me for it then the company found out about it so im not a big fan of this job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customer service
Cashier (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAAugust 6, 2014
I liked meeting the new and different people who came in and out daily. I also liked cleaning the store and having nice conversation with my coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Stock & Assistant Head Frozen (Former Employee), oregon ohioAugust 6, 2014
if your a good and hard worker you will go far and the co-workers are friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workhard
Customer Service (Current Employee), Covington, TNAugust 6, 2014
Pros: good heath care, paid vactions
Cons: trying to advance in the company
Busy,Productive , I LEARN something new everyday, the most enjoyable part of my job is meeting new people and helping people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Assistant Produce Manager (Current Employee), Louisville, KYAugust 5, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: slow raises and even slower advancement
My job consist of inventorying, delegating, unloading trucks, and weekly board meetings. I have been a manger for 3 years officially but 8 years unofficially.
I deal with a great range of people from many different backgrounds.