Find companies:
The Local Pages, Inc
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

The Local Pages, Inc Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical over promise with possible hugebenefits
Advertising Consultant-outside sales rep (Former Employee), ArizonaSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: make your own work schedule
Cons: lying about contracts and compensation
I worked for TLP for 3 months. I was flown into Salt Lake City for one week of training...basically it's shoved down your throat. Unless you have done something like this before then you will feel lost to a degree. Yes, I understood what I was supposed to do...sell. Go business to business with leads provided. Only bad thing is print is being phased – more... out due to the internet. I can see where the "Baby-boomers" still use the yellow pages but at the same time if they are business savvy they will also use the internet. TLP does have a GO'N'Find app powered by Google...but it is it's own app...if it were powered by Google's regular search it would be easier to sell. Compared to the larger yellow page books out there, it does seem that TLP's prices are very comparable. The bad thing is when making the contracts out and inputting the information on the contract if it is undersold which I wasn't told about during training the commission you were expecting never transpired. I was on the Tier 1 compensation plan which is $400.00 a week. Then I switched to straight commission. If you make no sales then you do not get paid. Leads are provided for you and renewal contracts but it is difficult to sell them and re-sell them when the price increases...if it were the 5% they wanted for increases no problem, but when the increases they wanted were 234% and higher then even if you did sell the new contract at a 25% mark up then you would only make 5% instead of 20% commission. Positive note is you are paid weekly. I really enjoyed my co-workers...the manager is a very nice guy but didn't really look over your contracts to make sure they were completely correct so you wouldn't have charge backs/under sold contracts and so on. I feel like TLP still owes me money on contracts I sold and made them money. I worked day in and day out and drove all over...to me not being reimbursed some sort of gas is idiotic...so I guess I'm an idiot for accepting the job...so be it...but I feel like everything I learned or was taught was incorrect...I was not paid on trades...no one said that trades had to have money attached to the contract to be paid...I was told the ladder...so If I made a trade worth $1200.00 I should have been paid on the $1200.00. There also wasn't food trade when I went out to the locations I was assigned to as well as over night places to stay either...I was informed during training that there were plenty of both...LIE! Hardest part of the job is staying overnight somewhere when your married and not having your spouse with you...most enjoyable part of the job is making your own schedule. I learned that if you don't have an out going personality even if you do work hard to convey your message to sell advertising that you will not succeed. This is a prefect job for a younger or older person with no immediate family...i.e. Kids, being married and so on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
Book Manager/Advertising Consultant (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTMay 29, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: travel was at yoiur own expense
The company is a great company. The downside to this company is the high turn over. After training there is no mentorship and employees get lost in transition. I learned that if you put in hard work you have great rewards. I had amazing co workers.
The hardest part of this job was the traveling at your own expense.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working for this company
Outside sales for New Mexico (Former Employee), new MexicoApril 28, 2014
Pros: great pay, and since of freedom, no micro managing
I used to work for the company back in 2013, It is a traveling sales job so it takes the right type of personality and character to work business to business sales. I enjoyed it and make a good living doing it. I was paid weekly and always took home over a grand a week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Income Potential, Good Benefits
Outside Sales Rep (Former Employee), NW IdahoMarch 25, 2014
Pros: great income potential, positive atmosphere
The Local Pages is a great company to work for. Very Positive. I made good commissions and benefits were ok. There is huge potential to make a lot of money. I enjoyed the travel and the good food at the restaurants we had trade at. I didn't like some of the people I worked with because they complained about everything…..some of them shouldn't have been – more... working for this company because they didn't have the motivation to work and had a very negative attitude.
I had to leave because of a previous injury.
If you are a self-starter and motivated to make money and ok with travel, you will like The Local Pages. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a company that, unfortunately hasn't a very good future.
ADVERTISING CONSULTANT (Former Employee), Southern UtahFebruary 10, 2014
This company expects its employees to go door to door at businesses trying to sell yellow page advertising. Their product is being quickly replaced by the internet, but they insist on charging very high prices to put ads in a book that nobody uses any more.
It is very hard work requiring long hours and giving very low compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Interesting, Positive , Great Training
Sales Rep (Current Employee), ORJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: uncapped income, potential for bonuses, good support
This job is fun and I like the freedom of working outside in sales. This company rewards you for your work. They give you the necessary tools and a lot of support. I like the positive atmosphere. Yes I have to travel but I enjoy it. I like seeing the different businesses and building relationships. I like that we are provided leads and have protected – more... areas – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We had a good staff and a very good Regional Manager.
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Dayton, OHJanuary 21, 2014
We worked together out of town and returned home every evening selling ads for a small phonebook out of Utah that was produced for small towns in Ohio. It was a good job with good people to work with and for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hate the company!!
Advertising Consultant (Former Employee), ColoradoNovember 8, 2013
I accepted the job offer after a phone interview. Never again will I accept a job based on 1 phone interview. The company made many promises. I was given the hardest leads to try to sell. I was not able to make a sale so I was told that they didn't "think it was working for either of us" and I was let go. Plus I did not receive my base pay for the 2 – more... weeks that I worked in the field. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a great place to work until economy
sales manager (Former Employee), slc utAugust 9, 2013
lost 40% of income and while had to charge more to customers in bad economy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice to have a job
Book Manager (Current Employee), Salt Lake City, UTMay 24, 2013
Pros: decent pay
Cons: too much traveling away from home, overall benefits are very poor
Another notch for my advertising back ground..phone books. Became manager withing 7 months. Business to business selling and managing accounts. Also manage sales team, keep them close to each other because this job requires traveling most of the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bait and Switch
Outside Sales (Former Employee), Coeur d' AleneMay 9, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: everything!
Run far far away from this company!!!! I typically never have anything negative to say about a company as you can make anything productive with hard work..... Expect for the local pages. I was hired and informed I was to start working the city I lived and after might travel to a town 50 miles from where I lived. Once out in the field I was told “we – more... have to finish this book" it will only take a few days. So I traveled for 4 weeks in blizzard conditions 50 miles each way. The down part was I was only given 5 all ready worked leads per day. I voiced my frustrations and then was taken off tiered commission.

The regional manager was horribly rude and disrespectful and in my short time with TLP, they lost everyone in our area and we had some top notch people. I would run far as you will spend more money than you will ever make! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hate the local pages
inside sales (Former Employee), salt lake city, UTMay 6, 2013
Cons: to controlling on breaks down your throat all the time about sales
this job is a hack phone books are going under they are a very unprofessional
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales treated as inferior
Utah Regional Manager / Senior Account Executive (Current Employee), Salt Lake City, UTMarch 6, 2013
Pros: great incentive for collecting cas
Cons: hard to get paid and absolutely no future for sales reps
The company steal and pillage the sales force, refusing to pay the right commission amount to anyone, churn and burn is their moto.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
about this job
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTDecember 3, 2012
Pros: one this is they had a lunch truck come everyday for lunch
Cons: poor quality of a job
I wouldn't recommend anyone to work here if you are looking for job security. Their management isn't the best at all, the co workers there are extremely nice but you definitely could lose your job at any time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What you make of it.
sales (Current Employee), ArizonaOctober 31, 2012
Pros: freedom
Cons: no base, travel away from home
I've worked here for over 2 years. It's not perfect, but what is? I have the ability to manage my own day; doing as I please. My income is dependent on my efforts. If I succeed I can make money in a little time. For those who don't work hard, success isn't likely and their paychecks probalby show it. I've had slow days/weeks, but that is part of commission – more... sales. This job is NOT for those who expect easy sales (order takers). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Local Pages rewards those that work with great pay and benefits!
sales consultant (Current Employee), NorthwestOctober 27, 2012
The Local Pages is a great company to work for. The company pays excellent commissions and you are rewarded for your hard work. Yes travel is required however you know that when you are hired. Unfortunately there are people that do not want to work rather get paid for no effort and complain about any and all work policies. In the years that I have been – more... employed with this company, I have seen continual growth and been rewarded for my work efforts. I agreed to travel and understand that is part of my job. This company has a great product and I enjoy the POSITIVE people I work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In Agreement With Everyone Else
Employee (Former Employee), Salt Lake CityOctober 16, 2012
Pros: nothing whatsoever
Cons: everything was a con. biggest complaint was management.
I wasn't an outside sales rep, I was inside the walls of this death trap. The compensation isn't worth it, the managers are the worst I've worked for (love drama and being involved in it, and refusing to help employees grow within the company), the employees were just as bad because of the lack of example management set, no room for growth, no raises – more... ever. I came in every day strictly so that I could have a job and pay the bills. Didn't last very long, because having no job is better than everything they will put you through there. Save yourself the trouble - find a REAL job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever
Account Executive (Former Employee), Troy, ohOctober 6, 2012
Cons: sketchy
Their so called training is shipping you to Salt Lake City for a week then give you a stack of addresses and tell you to go store by store and sell phone book ads. They refused to go on first call with you. Additionally you will be required to travel, mileage not reimbursed, 5 days a week regardless of what your family life is like. You may be hired – more... for Troy but that won't last past a month or so – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bait and switch is being kind
Sales (Former Employee), OregonAugust 27, 2012
Pros: none at all
Cons: tell you anyting to get you to salt lake city, then slowly bring on reality
Pay.... Not what your told. Expenses...... Not what your told. Travel.... Not what your told. Job.... Not what your told. Important: ask questions and read all fine print. THEY LIE!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Switch and Bait!
Outside Sales (Former Employee), Port Townsend, WaMay 1, 2012
Cons: this is a total "scam". stay away!
Stay as far away from this company as you can. They will send you over 500 miles from home, with "D" rate lodging, if you're lucky. They use you for 2-4 weeks, then bring in their so-called managers to sign and close contracts, where by, those people benefit from your hard work by taking your commissions. They charge for training materials, and after – more... they switch and bait, they charge you for the airfare to training. If you get hired for say West Coast regions, expect to travel over 500 miles on your dime. – less