THE MEDICAL CENTER Employee Reviews

Showing all 47 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
goof benifits
Registered Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee) –  TexasMay 19, 2016
Working at this establishment can be productive and fast paced. Learning of good time management skills is a must. The hardest part of my job is when my job duties become busy, and I wish I could have done more. The enjoyable part of my job is when people overcome their illness and get to go home. Management is available to address your needs. The coworkers are always willing to lend a helping hand.
Pros
cleanliness of the building and the grounds
Cons
I wish they had more healthy options in the cafeteria
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and fun work environment with great people
Registrar/Pricing/Billing (Current Employee) –  Plano, TXMarch 21, 2016
I love working in this fast-pace environment. This facility has the friendliest employees and we all thrive by working as a team and promoting the company's success.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsatisfactory work experience
Certified Therapeutic Recreation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Aurora, CONovember 14, 2015
Unable to support working for this organization. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Pros
Great co-workers
Cons
no support, bad management, no budget for program
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun learning my craft
Medical Assistant Externship (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, VAJanuary 20, 2016
The medical center of woodbridge was a great place to learn my skills. A typical day included calling the next day's patients to remind them of their appointment, calling for insurance eligibility, and taking co payments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love this job
Unit Secretary (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COOctober 30, 2015
i worked in the Labor and Delivery floor with the best nurses, doctors, and patients. i love my job , my environment, going to work was one of best part of my day, and leaving it was the hardest. i learned so much . helping out nurses, doctors, and patients with translating was very helpful and kept me updated with my speech. seeing patients have their babies and the joy that brings will always fill my heart with love. it was worth the 12 hour shifts everytime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and exciting work place
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Blountstown, FLOctober 20, 2015
Clock in and respond to the emails that needed to be addressed. Made sure everyone had their licenses, credentialed and contracted with insurance companies. If receptionist called in, I would do reception same for the referral coordinator, order supplies, worked up patients if needed, strep screen, urinalysis, flu test, EKG if needed. Dealt with patients billing questions and complaints.
Pros
always something different to learn
Cons
no health insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy work shift
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Colulmbus, ga.October 14, 2015
Busy hospital, admit and discharge patients, Peritoneal dialysis, monitor telemetry, administer medications, report abnormal findings. encourage family to be apart of the discharge planning
Pros
experience
Cons
work schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
C.N.A.
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bowling Green, KYJune 2, 2015
Get report from out going staff, get vital signs before breakfast, make sure patients have what they need for breakfast. After that assist them with bathing and linen changing. Make sure patients who need to ambulate do so. Then repeat for lunch and dinner. Also to make sure supplies were stocked and to help the doctors and nurses when needed.
Pros
long days off in a row
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face of Organization
Helpdesk Specialist (Former Employee) –  Beaver, PAMay 26, 2015
Provided support for 6,000 in-house customers. Received and logged 30 plus call per day. Interfaced with numerous support specialist (networking, interface, application specialist, etc.) gathering relevant details, escalating issues, while keeping customer informed in incident progress.
Pros
Numerous challenges and few dull moments
Cons
Position Outsourced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work - great environment.
Perinatal Counselor (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GAOctober 5, 2015
Love providing services for patients who needed it. Great staff to work with. Management was good but needed to be diverse with getting their message to all employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management staff!
FLOOR TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GAJune 29, 2015
Great place to work. The staff is very pleasant to work with. Management was always willing to work with you and were very patient during the training period. Although I worked there for a very short time, there is always room to grow, meaning, they will support your endeavors to grow as a person.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nursing perspective
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Beaver, PASeptember 13, 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed working for the Medical Center. We had wonderful managers who provided great working conditions. The Hospital was renamed Heritage Valley, but it remains in the same location.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kitchen Aide
Kitchen Aide (Current Employee) –  Bowling Green, KYOctober 15, 2015
I have only been working for the medical center for 5 months now and the job is great. I have learned all the position in the cafeteria very quickly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Insurance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GAAugust 26, 2015
A fast pace hospital that allowed educational classes related to your job. Great management. Patient flow is high and fast pace but I enjoyed helping patients very rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Medical Center was a very rewarding job but I struggled to balance work and time for school.
Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bowling Green, KYJuly 13, 2012
A typical day at work included admitting and discharging patients and accessing them with the RN. Taking vital signs and and making sure the patient is comfortable. I learned alot about people and how to approach people from different walks of life. My co-workers were a joy to wokr with and were very helpful. The hardest part of my job was taking care of a patient who was non-compliant. The most enjoyable part of my job was seeing someone leave the hospital satisfied with my customer service.
Pros
pay rate, learning oppourtunities, job security.
Cons
short of help, breaks, job acuity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, busy hospital. Very good insurance benefits
Ambulatory Surgery RN (Current Employee) –  Bowling Green, KYSeptember 13, 2012
Ambulatory Surgery is a very fast paced area. I constantly improve my time management skills here! I have learned to work well with many different patient populations and disease processes. Nurses here must have a broad knowledge base to draw from. The teamwork in this area is excellent. Management is fair but definately corportation oriented. The hardest part of this job is the pace and the feeling of being on an assembly line at times. The most enjoyable part is co-workers and the sense of accomplishment at the end of a busy day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers and friendly staff
Biomedical Technician (Current Employee) –  Plano, TXDecember 11, 2012
There isn't always a "busy" day. The staff here will be forgiving as long as you make their problem priority. I work with a great team and communicate fairly well for as busy as we usually are. The most difficult task at this location would be to get the hospital to purchase consumables and accessories. This is a smaller facility, so it is easy to build relationships with the customers and have a first name basis type of work atmosphere.
Pros
being able to work on mutiple types of equipment
Cons
old equipment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Case Manager
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GAFebruary 11, 2013
Case Management was very busy. It was a very good environment to learn autonomy and many new things. Leadership in the case management department is excellent and is a great support system. Team members in the department are also a good support system. You must be able to work well under pressure and have excellent organizational skills. You must be able to utilize the many community resources. The hospital as a whole is undergoing many changes which is un-settling and gives you a sense of instability. Many changes have been good, yet you just can’t help to worry about stability with multiple changes in place.
Pros
autonomy and leadership support
Cons
multiple changes and the sense of instability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commerical Biller
Commerical Biller (Current Employee) –  Columbus, GAJuly 9, 2012
I love my job at The Medical Center but there is no room for advancing within this organization. I have been here for 12 years and have not seen any progress in employee satisfaciton. Moral is at an all time low but I keep a positive outlook and attitude because I love what I do and I give 110% daily. I bill numberous medical bills both primary and secondary claims daily, run and file reports. Call insurance companies for payment sometimes resulting in having to rebill the claims by fax, mail, or electronically. Post adjustments or foolow-up on additional payments. View medical contracts to see if additional payment are due. Assist management as requested.
Pros
i enjoy the billing the claims and watching the payment post.
Cons
the negative attitudes within our office some times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work, education reimbursement
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GeorgiaApril 12, 2014
Got to work and gave set up medication and administered medications to patients. Charted medications that were given. Assisted other nurses as needed.
Pros
Team work and a great work environment, tuition reimbursement, worked 24 hours and got paid for 40 hours during RN school.
Cons
overload of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at THE MEDICAL CENTER. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 47 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0