Find companies:
The Melting Pot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
63 reviews

The Melting Pot Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good tips, fun experience
Server (Former Employee), San Clemente, CAMarch 28, 2014
Pros: tip
Cons: breaks, managers
good times, just bad upper management, fun guiding guests through dining experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mix between hard workers and fun management
Server's Assistant (Current Employee), Tallahassee, FLFebruary 27, 2014
A great place to work, as they work with you and your schedule to make sure you do not get burnt out from over working. Respectful management to get what has to be done and with work with you to make sure nothing is slowed down and all customers are taken care of .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work hard
Manager (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: classy
Cons: over worked
loved this place. well managed. be ready to work 60 hrs per week as a manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the people I work with. If you have family and friends, you will barely see them. I feel like I am married to Melting Pot.
Server (Current Employee), Novi, MIFebruary 6, 2014
Like I said, I love the people I work with. Like any other serving job, you are always there. This place comes with a lot of side work to.

It's a decent paying job for a serving job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, good people, etc
Server (Current Employee), Naperville, ILJanuary 31, 2014
My fellow employees at the Melting Pot are wonderful, everyone is so friendly and willing to help if I ever need it. I've learned quite a bit here, this is my first experience serving in fine dining and I really enjoy it, it can get quite hectic sometimes because serving at this restaurant is way different than any other serving job, I have to make – more... customer's food at the table and there's a lot of presentation and memorization involved which it makes it a little harder but it keeps it interesting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management dont care about employees
HOH (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHJanuary 28, 2014
terrible place to work i only stay because i need the source of income i am currently looking for a better place of employment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Restaurant Job
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee), Brea, CADecember 27, 2013
nothing separates it from the pack of other restaurants except they are all franchised and no corporate stores.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry level service industry job
Server (Former Employee), Poughkeepsie, NYDecember 6, 2013
Pros: fun staff
Cons: unfair management showed great favortism
little pay for long fast pace work
learned great product knowledge with extensive training
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. Terrible Management
Server/Bartender/Host (Current Employee), Austin, TXDecember 4, 2013
Pros: 50% off food, contests that can result in cash rewards.
Cons: no comment
I currently work for The Melting Pot in Austin Texas, I transferred to this location after working at the store in Arlington Texas. While I loved my home store I can honestly say that I have made way more money working at this location(all of my income is tip based.) I have been there for over a year and managed to get promoted to a bar tending position – more... within this year. I absolutely love the people I work with and the entrees are demanding but fun at the same time. This isnt your run of the mill serving job, customers will be there for a minimum of 2 hours if doing all 4 courses. The serving part is fun. The problem that I have with working here is the the general manager, CAN NOT MANAGE. On paper she/he is great, but she/he is not a leader and there are no consequence for actions. Which makes it very hard for those who do all aspects of their job correctly, want to continue to work there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun weekend/night job
Host (Former Employee), Annapolis, MDNovember 18, 2013
Pros: great friends
Cons: slow summer months
Great place, managers were fun and easy to get along with. The entire staff would do a lot of stuff after work together which was fun too. I was a host so I didn't make the real money but during the winter months it is a packed place. Summer time can be quite dead though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun employees
Server/bartender (Current Employee), Providence, RINovember 16, 2013
Cons: long working hours adv 5-12 with no brakes
the people are nice to work with, the customers are fun and exciting to serve. but the management team needs some help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment and earning potential
Server (Former Employee), Gainesville, FLNovember 12, 2013
The Melting Pot was one of my favorite jobs. The owner started out as a dishwasher and eventually bought the restaurant. All employees started out as either dishwashers or host/hostesses and moved up from there. All the servers had been there for years and resulted in a close knit group of people who worked extremely well together. I always felt respected – more... by the owner/management. Average table time was 1 1/2-2 hours during which time you prepared many of the courses at the table/and or provided instruction, described the dishes and sauces and their ingredients, all the while engaging in friendly conversation and developing a rapport with guests. Gained a knowledge of wine through education and tastings. The most difficult part of the job was how hard it was affected by season. In addition, it was in a college town, so summers were extremely slow. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours but fun environment
Bartender/Server (Current Employee), Atlantic City, NJNovember 12, 2013
A typical shift includes a lot of opening sidework and long hours because of how long it takes to dine at The Melting Pot. If a table walks in at 10pm, you won't leave until after midnight. The management is good though, always willing to work with you on scheduling and help out if you're weeded.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun,easy going, professional
Server (Former Employee), Longwood, FLOctober 18, 2013
Pros: cash in hand
Cons: no advancement
-Routinely supported other areas of the restaurant as requested, including taking reservations and completing customer satisfaction.
-Followed all safety and sanitation policies when handling food and beverage to uphold proper health standards.
-Developed and maintained positive working relationships with others to reach business goals.
-Relayed orders – more... to bar and kitchen by quickly and accurately recording guest selections and keying them into the register. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small staff great people to work with.
Host/Busser/Sever/Bartender (Former Employee), Bellevue, WashingtonOctober 11, 2013
Pros: wine at cost.
Cons: no benefits.
Working at the Melting Pot was an eye opening experience for me. I learned a plethora of lessons and have grown tremendously as an individual with a great group of people. The main values I have taken from my time being employed at the Melting Pot were communication, teamwork, and adaptation. The most enjoyable times I had were the people I worked with. – more... All of the employees considered each other family, which created a well balanced work environment. The most difficult part of my employment would have to be the lack of budget. When you care about your work, you want to improve every and any detail to make the presentation to the guests glamorous and memorable. With the lack of budget, certain improvements could not be made in the bar, and the creative ideas I had remain just that; ideas. My former manger, I will always respect. His management skills and personality helped us all as his employees adhere and have exceptional work ethic. Overall, this was an amazing experience for me. I will always love the time I spent at the Melting Pot. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Franchised so owners are different
Hospitality Specialist / Server (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAOctober 1, 2013
Pros: the tips can be good
Cons: stress, lots and lots of stress
I would not recommend working at either Los Angeles County Restaurant. Extremely difficult working environment because of the owners. Management changes regularly because they can't handle pressures from owner. Promotions are assigned randomly and are often undeserved. Product is not high quality and have to deal with complaints that you don't have – more... control over. Always short staffed. Owners are cheap, bullies, unethical and demeaning. Tips can be good but it comes at a price. Run out of product a lot. Extremely stressful work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Server
Server (Current Employee), Poughkeepsie, NYAugust 6, 2013
Love my job! LOve cooking for customers and making them happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great family style restaurant, with a little too much drama.
Server (Former Employee), Viera, FLAugust 3, 2013
Pros: free sald and 50% off dinner.
Cons: management, lack of business.
A day at the melting pot was different every day, no good consistency with business or personalities. Many people had little to no server experience. I learned what I want and deserve are too completely different things when it comes to restaurants. Management was spotty at times and rather inconsistent. They definitely played their favoritism and it – more... showed by schedule and shifts. I thoroughly enjoyed some of my co-workers, others were not very prepared nor should of worked there. The most difficult part of the job was the inconsistency of work and income. There was also no structure with the management and servers alike. I loved working with people I liked and that had good personalities and server skill it made for a smooth shift and evening of work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to connect and meet the people of the city. 2+ hour dining experience.
Server (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJuly 14, 2013
Pros: employee discount (50%)
Cons: terrible management. no breaks.
0 compensation and benefits other then compensation for injuries.

Somewhat diverse staff.

Only job security is they are desperate for servers.

Management is atrocious. The "general manager" is the GM of the Charlottesville location, and he drives down 2... maybe 3 times a week. And he's a bafoon.

The most flexible establishment in terms of schedule. – more... VERY accomodating. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good food and drinks
Server, bartender, server and bartender trainer (Former Employee), San Mateo, CAMay 21, 2013
High priced, but quality products. Good location great wine list.

1 2 3 4