The Money Store

The Money Store Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 27 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful to work for, unrewarding, high turn over rate.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Gautier, Ms.July 23, 2012
A typical day at work consisted of collecting on past due accounts, lots of phone calls, processing new loan applications:i.e title loans, payday loans, jewelry loans and jewelry pawns,handling money, basic office management. I learned allot about the pawn industry and consumer finance laws in general. I think the management there is very inexperienced in terms of an established corporate company versus a mom and pop company. I enjoy working with people but when it came to co-workers, there was a lot of favoritism and politics involved. No boundaries on fratnization what so ever. The hardest part of the job was trusting my supervisor's management capabilities. The most enjoyable part was working with the clients.
Pros
every other weekend off, two weeks of paid pto a year, insurance benefits.
Cons
very stressful working environment. not compensated very well.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and challenging company to work for.
Customer Service Call Center Associate II (Former Employee) –  North Highlands, CANovember 9, 2015
Working in call center is a new challenge everyday. You always learn new things working in the call center. This place taught me a lot working in the mortgage field. Great company and manager to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Foreclosure Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAOctober 6, 2015
This was a long time ago this was a good company to work for. I worked for Foreclosures and found this to be a hard job. Although working with customers and trying help them save there houses it wasn't always easy and if we hard to auction it off I always felt bad for the ones that worked hard to try and keep it.
Pros
good company
Cons
hard job
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bank Lenders
Jr. Loan Officer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 8, 2015
I work from Home I call clients who need help with their mortgage
If they need help I take an application make sure the qualify for the program they need, if they do. I send it to my office in New York
Pros
work from home
Cons
comission only, it takes 2 months to close
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A progressive, forward thinking company
Telecommunications Analyst/Project Specialist (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAOctober 29, 2015
As far as the IT department went, we were given proper tools and resources to produce effective results. Unfortunately, many jobs were eliminated when the company was bought out.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Collector II (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJuly 20, 2012
Review and update client files and accounts . Contact for over due and defaulted accounts . I learned a great deal about Real Estate Loans and others , as well as managing financies. Management was okay .Changed often . Got along with co-workers , we worked together to attain same goals and we worked on same accounts . The hardest part of the job was trying to locate a borrower , who may have moved or changed addresses .. ( Skip -Traceing ) was very time comsuming and a challange , but fantastic when you located the person , and was able to resolve account problem , as well as assit the borrower, so would not loose their home or car .
Pros
knowledge gained about home and car loans, as well as what occurs if defaults on a either . n
Cons
having to listen to someone cry and beg you not to put their home into default, or come and take their car or truck, and to allow more time to pay .
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Experience
Mortgage Processor (Former Employee) –  Cheektowaga, NYJune 16, 2015
I was given an opportunity to take on a role with little/no experience, and it provided me with a knowledge base that allowed me to accept a role for another company, in a new city, and expand my horizons beyond what I could have imagined.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Old Money Store
Call Center Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville FloridaJanuary 11, 2012
I worked with TMS Prior to them being purchased by First Union Bank. It was a great place to work and if the new TMS had the same culture as before I would want to work there again.
Pros
great competitive atmosphere and great people.
Cons
the original tms closed, not sure about the new revived company.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Loan Officer (Former Employee) –  denver, coJune 26, 2013
General Loan processing duties. Management was supportive and not afraid to jump in to help! Hardest part of the job was meeting end of month goals, reachable but difficult.
Pros
great team environment
Cons
company shut down
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place of buisness and so unproffesional
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 25, 2012
the worst place to work ever. the management and district managers are so disrespectful. they never do their job, but gossip all day every day about the employess, i would not reccomend that anyone work there
Pros
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deed Writer
Deed Typist (Former Employee) –  Encino, CAFebruary 23, 2015
I was typing with early computers - Deeds and had to be EXACT! A period or comma in a wrong location would mean a different address! It was high tension, and our Boss demanded excellence. Challenging but I understood it all.
Pros
The Money I Made was Excellent!
Cons
The Pressure from Day - to - Day because of Our Boss!
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Money Store was fun and productive until they changed over to Always Money.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  birmingham, alMarch 29, 2013
I enjoyed my job overall. It was a great company to work for until they decided to make the sudden name change. Thats when they decided to change out managers. I know that in the business world changes do arise but the way I see it stick with what works for the company. It was a great experience for the past 7 years. The Money Store showed their employees alot of love as well as incentives. I couldn't have asked for better employment. I have nothing but respect for the owner.
Pros
bonuses
Cons
no 401 k plan
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMarch 12, 2013
Great company to work for, unfortunately they didn't manage collections and when the opportunity for the senior management to sell they took the money and ran.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Elmwood parkNovember 21, 2013
Great energy good management. A lot of fun working there. Great incentives and a good team atmosphere
Pros
contests, big payouts for successful sales.
Cons
went out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where did the morning go ?
Underwriter I (Former Employee) –  Clark, NJSeptember 14, 2012
Where I was trained. I can say I would work there again. I utilized the computer system and made them alot of money.
Pros
management
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Process 25-35 FHA, and conventional loans per month, from submission to selling the loans in the secondary market.
Senior Loan Processor (Current Employee) –  Florham Park, NJJanuary 24, 2014
Process 25-35 FHA, and conventional loans per month, from submission to selling the loans in the secondary market. Maintain direct communications with clients, loan officers, and all third parties.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Mortgage Loan Originator (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CADecember 18, 2013
Tuff economy and company worked well to get loans funded.
Worked 8 hour days. Manager was very talented. Great coworkers. Tuff part is processing was on east coast. Best part of the job was my coworkers and the great rates and low closing costs.
Pros
great rates
Cons
processing on east coast.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company.
FHA DE Underwriter Wholesale/Retail (Former Employee) –  Florham Park, NJFebruary 6, 2014
Company went through changes. Had good working hours. Company offered overtime and it was never an issue. Managers were good.
Pros
n/a
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lunch time
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJune 15, 2013
I appreciated the dressing nice and it was an easy job! It was a small office with no windows, but I was determined to learn new information.
Pros
dressing nice and the luncheons
Cons
small office with no windows
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALJuly 20, 2012
This Job is horrible looking to advance with reputable company.
Pros
title experience
Cons
owner and managmet
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Money Store. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.5