Find companies:
The Nebraska Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 reviews

The Nebraska Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Staff Nurse Oncology/Hematology Special Care Unit (Former Employee), Omaha, NEAugust 27, 2014
Pros: productive
Cons: shortbreaks
Great staff and company is good to work for,. Good company to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TNMC
Patient Care Technician Float (Former Employee), Omaha, NEAugust 7, 2014
Pros: payroll deduct for meals, job clothing, gym, etc
Overall (TNMC) The Nebraska Medical Center is by far the best place i've worked. My manager is understanding and stern at the same time. If extra hours are avaliable we can without worrying about overtime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent career opportunities, benefits and job culture.
Resource Control Analyst (Former Employee), Omaha, NEJuly 9, 2014
Pros: excellent career opportunities, benefits and job satisfaction.
Cons: department and job position was outsourced.
Processed purchase orders, monitored medical inventory (Inventory Control), resolved product backorders and recalls, assisted shipping and receiving, worked with The Nebraska Medical Center's Product Committee in evaluating new products, filled in as a supply technician when needed. Worked closely with vendor representatives and clinicians to resolve – more... supply chain issues. Most difficult was trying to substitute backordered items for neonatal intensive care unit. Most enjoyable and most satisfiying part of job was knowing that patients where getting the best possible care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome learning opportunity in an academic setting.
Cardiology RN (Former Employee), Omaha, NEJune 17, 2014
Learning was occurring all around! Residents, fellows, visiting physicians, new equipment, trials/ protocols, collaborative procedures....the Nebraska Medical Center had it all!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waiting till July
Nurse (Current Employee), Omaha, NEJune 12, 2014
Pros: good place to learn, see unique surgeries, department management
Cons: pay to park, upper management sucks, pay is horrible, food is expensive, parking is horrible, wishy washy ceo, doctors get away with anything, care more about $$$ than patients
Horrible upper management!!!! Great place to learn new things. We treat sickest of the sick but are the lowest paying hospital in omaha. Nurses that have been with company for years make as much as new hire grads. They don't appreciate hard work. They won't hire more staff because they think our overflow is "temporary". Our hospital has been full and – more... no ICU beds daily since last year. So much so that we have had to start using PACU as rooms for patients because we have no room. We also have to recover our patient in the rooms sometimes because there's either no staff in PACU or no beds.
Department management is good but they can't get anything done because upper management is too concerned about money than patient safety and quality. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to anticipate what tomorrow will bring
Non-Invasive Cardiology Tech (Current Employee), Omaha, NEJune 9, 2014
Day to day it is hard to know what changes will be coming making family and life planning difficult. Pay is competitive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive new experiences all the time
PC Support Technician (Former Employee), Omaha, NEJune 3, 2014
Pros: exciting
Cons: easy to get lost
Great place to work, but it is a big place and easy to get lost.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dead end
Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Omaha NeMay 14, 2014
Pros: decent lunchs, nice campus
Cons: no breaks, bad management
Here as a MA you will work your butt off and hardly ever be compensated for what you do. What we are trained todo in school and taught are hardly utlized within the company. Management seems to be cowardly and plays favorites. Patients here are amazing and trying at the same time but what really brings you down is the other staff.
I've been here for – more... going on 3 years and there are only two coworkers who I know would truely have my best interest at heart, managers are wishy washy and cowards. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No typical day
Manager (Current Employee), Omaha, NEApril 23, 2014
There is not a typical day in my present position, there are new issues that arrive every day when dealing with a facility as large at the The Nebraska Medical Center. I have grown so much in the past six year learning so much about what it takes to make a facility of this size run everyday and even the amount of work it would take even in a smaller – more... amount. I have some of the best co-workers that I have ever had in my career so far, everyone really works as a team to get everything done. The one thing that I have really enjoyed is work on budgets, it amazes me every year how we are able to fine tune (reduce the budget) and still keep everything running. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient First
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Omaha, NENovember 27, 2013
Pros: coworkers. free parking. medical benefits.
Cons: no way to advance. poor communication.
Great, fun environment to work in. I furthered gained knowledge regarding state and federal programs available for patients.
Management assists and supplies needed information to complete job.
Great coworkers who are always willing to help when they have the knowledge to.
Hardest part of job is that not every phone call ends with the patient totally – more... happy, sometimes because they were not happy with results or because issue could not be corrected.
Best part of job is coworkers and the grateful patients who we are able to assist. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Prestigous Company with Old Fashioned Family Values
Staff Assistant (Former Employee), Omaha, NESeptember 11, 2013
Pros: multi-tasking, flexibility, patient interactions, problem solving
Cons: saying no, not always being able to give th patient/clinic/md what they were requesting
The Nebraska Medical Center is a world-renowned hospital. To work there is to be in the presence of true perfection.

My typical work day included entering CPT and ICD-9 charges for an extremely busy cardiovascular lab, scheduling tests for both our university (teaching) building, and our private-based building. I also backed up our vascular transcription – more... department, and even found time to assist a lost patient or two.

My co-workers were out of this world. Intelligent, friendly, and so unbelievably patient-focused, we were able to flex and bend with any emergency or change of events. My co-workers were the true definition of "patient oriented" and left me speechless on a daily basis.

Honestly, the hardest part of this job was clocking out and leaving for the day. To be a part of this team, and a part of this hospital was an honor every single day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Internship (Former Employee), Omaha, NEAugust 19, 2013
This was an unpaid internship, where I learned alot about how all the aspects of Patient Financial Services work together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company that's patient oriented
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), omaha, NEJuly 23, 2013
Pros: friendly docs and nurses
Cons: boring
great first job but not many opportunities to grow. Lot's of hours worked but still don't feel like enough got accomplished.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Manager of Support Services - Clinical Laboratory (Current Employee), Omaha, NEJuly 12, 2013
Overall working at the Nebraska Medical Center has been becasue i know I was making a diffence in patient lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High volume and fast paced workplace.
Medical Billing Specialist (Former Employee), Omaha, NEJune 13, 2013
Pros: patient satisfaction was priority, flex schedule, great health benefits and pto.
Cons: no cons, truly enjoyed working at the nebraska medical center.
On any given day at The Nebraska Medical Center, I was required to review 50-100 rejected claims to correct errors and submit to the insurance company. Worked closely with the certified coder in the clinic to correct ICD-9 and CPT codes to allow clean claims to go to the insurance company. Would review patient demographics and insurance information – more... and make any corrections needed. Assisted co-workers with understanding of coding processes, and how to appeal denied claims.

Two most enjoyable parts of my job:
Working with the patients to resolve any issues with their insurance claims and/or statements.
Ability to find and help co-workers find a solution to a coding problem. I would contact insurance representatives, research coding guidelines on various websites (Medicare, Medicaid, AAPC) and contact former co-workers until the problem was solved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with people
Radiology Assistant 1 (Current Employee), Omaha, NEMay 16, 2013
Pros: if you like people, you will love this job
Cons: too many to mention
If you enjoy working with people you will love this job, the downfall some of the co-workers are very hard to get along with , no matter how hard you try.
Management . not gonna go there..
With all the cutbacks its hard to not wonder from day to day if Ill still have a job.
also with all the cuts , I truly believe patient care is not the main concern – more... anymore .
Your patient is the V.I.P. , seems doctors and residents think they are much more important then the patient . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Omaha, NEApril 12, 2013
A good employer, quality management and very knowledgeable co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization, excellent senior team - approachable, common sense, down to earth.
Employee (Current Employee), Omaha, NEApril 9, 2013
Pros: excellent leadership, fiscally prudent, warm and caring culture.
Cons: very slow to remove management members who do not walk-the-talk and are not a fit with the culture, pay is not on par with other health care organizations in the region, some resistance to change by more senior employees is impeding growth & innovation.
The Nebraska Medical Center is truly an amazing organization for both employees, patients and their loved ones. There is a warmth here that touches everyone. I hope to spend the rest of my career here, but given all the uncertainty in the healthcare industry today, and the fact that I am a single parent, I have to be proactive and look at opportunities – more... outside the organization. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Level 1 trauma center
MRI Technologist (Current Employee), Omaha, NEApril 9, 2013
Great place for Patient Care. State of the art equipment. Great co-workers make for a fun day of work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place for tempory job
Nutrition care worker II/ Cashier (Former Employee), Omaha, NEApril 7, 2013
Pros: discount on clothing
Cons: no free lunch, short break, and etc
* learn retail
*floor plan for clothing
*sales
*fun sometime to work with shoes and clothing
*co-worker was good