Find companies:
The Nebraska Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

The Nebraska Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Prestigous Company with Old Fashioned Family Values
Staff Assistant (Former Employee), Omaha, NESeptember 11, 2013
Pros: multi-tasking, flexibility, patient interactions, problem solving
Cons: saying no, not always being able to give th patient/clinic/md what they were requesting
The Nebraska Medical Center is a world-renowned hospital. To work there is to be in the presence of true perfection.

My typical work day included entering CPT and ICD-9 charges for an extremely busy cardiovascular lab, scheduling tests for both our university (teaching) building, and our private-based building. I also backed up our vascular transcription – more... department, and even found time to assist a lost patient or two.

My co-workers were out of this world. Intelligent, friendly, and so unbelievably patient-focused, we were able to flex and bend with any emergency or change of events. My co-workers were the true definition of "patient oriented" and left me speechless on a daily basis.

Honestly, the hardest part of this job was clocking out and leaving for the day. To be a part of this team, and a part of this hospital was an honor every single day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Internship (Former Employee), Omaha, NEAugust 19, 2013
This was an unpaid internship, where I learned alot about how all the aspects of Patient Financial Services work together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company that's patient oriented
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), omaha, NEJuly 23, 2013
Pros: friendly docs and nurses
Cons: boring
great first job but not many opportunities to grow. Lot's of hours worked but still don't feel like enough got accomplished.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Manager of Support Services - Clinical Laboratory (Current Employee), Omaha, NEJuly 12, 2013
Overall working at the Nebraska Medical Center has been becasue i know I was making a diffence in patient lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High volume and fast paced workplace.
Medical Billing Specialist (Former Employee), Omaha, NEJune 13, 2013
Pros: patient satisfaction was priority, flex schedule, great health benefits and pto.
Cons: no cons, truly enjoyed working at the nebraska medical center.
On any given day at The Nebraska Medical Center, I was required to review 50-100 rejected claims to correct errors and submit to the insurance company. Worked closely with the certified coder in the clinic to correct ICD-9 and CPT codes to allow clean claims to go to the insurance company. Would review patient demographics and insurance information – more... and make any corrections needed. Assisted co-workers with understanding of coding processes, and how to appeal denied claims.

Two most enjoyable parts of my job:
Working with the patients to resolve any issues with their insurance claims and/or statements.
Ability to find and help co-workers find a solution to a coding problem. I would contact insurance representatives, research coding guidelines on various websites (Medicare, Medicaid, AAPC) and contact former co-workers until the problem was solved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with people
Radiology Assistant 1 (Current Employee), Omaha, NEMay 16, 2013
Pros: if you like people, you will love this job
Cons: too many to mention
If you enjoy working with people you will love this job, the downfall some of the co-workers are very hard to get along with , no matter how hard you try.
Management . not gonna go there..
With all the cutbacks its hard to not wonder from day to day if Ill still have a job.
also with all the cuts , I truly believe patient care is not the main concern – more... anymore .
Your patient is the V.I.P. , seems doctors and residents think they are much more important then the patient . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Omaha, NEApril 12, 2013
A good employer, quality management and very knowledgeable co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization, excellent senior team - approachable, common sense, down to earth.
Employee (Current Employee), Omaha, NEApril 9, 2013
Pros: excellent leadership, fiscally prudent, warm and caring culture.
Cons: very slow to remove management members who do not walk-the-talk and are not a fit with the culture, pay is not on par with other health care organizations in the region, some resistance to change by more senior employees is impeding growth & innovation.
The Nebraska Medical Center is truly an amazing organization for both employees, patients and their loved ones. There is a warmth here that touches everyone. I hope to spend the rest of my career here, but given all the uncertainty in the healthcare industry today, and the fact that I am a single parent, I have to be proactive and look at opportunities – more... outside the organization. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Level 1 trauma center
MRI Technologist (Current Employee), Omaha, NEApril 9, 2013
Great place for Patient Care. State of the art equipment. Great co-workers make for a fun day of work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place for tempory job
Nutrition care worker II/ Cashier (Former Employee), Omaha, NEApril 7, 2013
Pros: discount on clothing
Cons: no free lunch, short break, and etc
* learn retail
*floor plan for clothing
*sales
*fun sometime to work with shoes and clothing
*co-worker was good
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pharm tech
Inpatient Pharmacy Product Supply Technician (Current Employee), Omaha, NEFebruary 18, 2013
In a Typical work day i walk/stand 8hr. I've learned a lot about deffent med's and how they work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Coworkers
Staff Nurse (Current Employee), Omaha, NEFebruary 11, 2013
Pros: great coworkers
Cons: work overnights
I work overnights and that doesn't leave much for a home life. Trying to get onto days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work experience was variable
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Omaha, NEJanuary 13, 2013
Pros: huge variety of units and settings to work in
Cons: extremely poor employee benefits: expensive cafeteria, pay for parking spots, costly insurance premiums with few choices
Each unit has its own culture and each day was different. Management encouraged and looked for student but often did not budge when it came to school/work conflicts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working here
Emergency Department RN (Current Employee), Omaha, NEDecember 11, 2012
Great level 1 Trauma Center

Learned a lot working with traumas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Patient care attendant (Former Employee), Omaha, NEOctober 26, 2012
Pros: great benefits
Cons: n/a
I usually sat with patients that were fall risk and If ask I would assist RNs and CNas with patient care. What learn from this job that there are variety people, who have fall risk catogories. The mangement was great when it come to the employee needs. The only co-workers were the RNs and CNAs,who seem to be very helpful. The hardest part of the job – more... was the taking care of two patients who were going through detox and you could not restraint them. The most enjoyable of the job is when people regonize who you were at the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Data Entry (Former Employee), omaha,neSeptember 17, 2012
great co-workers, enjoyed working with different types of people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive environment to work in.
PC Support Specialist (Current Employee), Omaha, NEAugust 26, 2012
Pros: friendly environment
Cons: not much room for advancment
The Med Center is a great place to work. There are caring people there to always help you achieve your goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work.
evs atttendant (Former Employee), Omaha, NEJune 4, 2012
i injoyed going to to word every day.i like my coworker alot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed helping visitors
Employment History Janitorial Assistant (Former Employee), Omaha, NEMay 17, 2012
Pros: helping persons
Cons: deppresing situations
I enjoyed helping visitors find their way through the huge campus.Many times I encountered my freinds and relatives needing unexpected care.I learned alot of Medical terminology and Procedures.My Immediate Managers were contracted and probably not familiar with hospital etiquete as they also Manage Food Service.Thousands of Co- workers and I enjoyed – more... working with them all.It's never easy seeing,or even hearing of sickness and death.Patients are People first and also Customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place and worked with great people
Refund Specialist/Medical Biller (Former Employee), Omaha, NEApril 30, 2012
Pros: easy access to work
Cons: director was not nice
Enjoyed working at NE Medical Center. I was refund specialist and learned a lot about the refund system while I was there. Also a fun place to work.