Find companies:
The New School
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

The New School Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all enjoyable community to be a part of.
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee), Fayetteville, ARNovember 26, 2013
Pros: holidays, the children, the teachers
Cons: leadership
A busy place, with alot of activity. I learned how a private school operates in a positive setting for children to learn and grow. Learned several business systems, banking, transfers, grew in accounting skills. Most enjoyable part, watching the kids, getting to visit with the parents. Making friends with teachers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very inclusive job culture.
Student Financial Services Counselor (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 25, 2013
If you thrive in a culture of fear, then this is the place for you. Non-communicative management with little or no people skills rule the roost in this atmosphere of favoritism and overwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job I Ever Had
Student Financial Services Counselor (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 15, 2013
Pros: one hour lunches, helping students
Cons: incompetent management, very clique oriented
A typical day included being overworked and micromanaged. Directors have no communication or people skills and policy changes on a whim. Fosters a culture of fear and depending on a supervisors mood, can become a stressful and hostile work environment leading to errors being made then punitive action taken.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very busy environment. The main objective is to make sure that the students are given the best service possible.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Registrar's OfficeOctober 19, 2013
Pros: making sure that students received the information that they needed.
Cons: i cannot think of any at the moment
I had a large amount of mass mailings that had to be put together and mailed for at least three times a day.

There was a lot of filing and date entry as well.

I would say that the overall rating would be 4 stars.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment for Youth
Tutor (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 6, 2013
Pros: competitive pay for a full-time student
Cons: little work hours
Most days consisted of tutoring children ages 11-17 in all subjects, organizing and assissting in small workshops, maintaining order amongst the youth, etc. I would occassionally give necessary progress reports to my employers. My employers often asked me to assisst im events outside of the after school program. The majority of my co-workers were far – more... older than myself. The most difficult part of the job was disciplining which was very rarely necessary. I Have A Dream Foundation was an amazing environment not only for the children, but for myself as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experiences and exposure to new trends in higher education. I enjoyed my stay and had great job satisfaction. I worked with minimal supervision
Visiting University in Exile Research Scholar (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 14, 2013
Pros: challenging and rewarding experiences
Cons: healhcare
Conducive working environment and was excited about going to work because there was always something new to learn. The management was helpful and professional and the co-workers were also helpful and cooperative. The hardest par of the job was presenting concepts from a foreign culture to a multi-cultural society making sure that all participants benefited. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job was learning new trends in higher education – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to gain work experience
Admin Asst. (Former Employee), New YorkDecember 28, 2012
Pros: great location
Cons: salary, upper management
This was a decent place to work, however; the Directors that worked there sucked. If upper management changed and some staff members changed, this would be a better work place. The other part of the job that sucked was the money. If a person works hard and has to learn so many steps and functions, I believe they should have the compensation that says – more... we appreciate all you do, here's more than 35K. People with BA degrees need more than 30K and a better benefit package. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy work environment
Administrative Assistant (Human Resources) (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 18, 2012
Pros: wonderful view, diverse workplace
Cons: n/a
I enjoy working for The New School. Its a fast paced work environment, but colleagues are supportive of one another and help out where they can to get the job done efficiently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gret Company
Receptionist (office of the President) (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 8, 2012
Great Company
Nice Compensation
Great Environment.
Receptionist

.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Buyer (Former Employee), 80 Fifth AveFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: salary in the beginning, location.
Cons: upper management poor.
Salary is ok till you get work you didn't sign up for. Most managers work with no idea for running a dept.