The North Face Employee Reviews

Found 137 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean and productive environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tannersville, PASeptember 15, 2016
This store was always clean and the workers are very friendly. They know their product and always pleased the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Truckee, CASeptember 9, 2016
Working for TNF was a wonderful experience to work along side so many talented and passionate people. The most enjoyable part about the job was the trips.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, however at the time they underpaid employees
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Woodbury, NYAugust 31, 2016
Not the worst place to work. Many people came together to help each other with stock and sales work. There were several very strong management figures.The pay was just low.
Pros
hours based off sales goals
Cons
Low compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place, easy to advance
Stock Manager (Current Employee) –  Williamsburg, VAAugust 29, 2016
This company is a great company to work for. If you are looking to advance and grow, this is where you need to be. They make work fun and enjoyable all while being sure you meet expectations.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most satisfactory retail leadership position I ever had!
Stock Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 21, 2016
Having worked in retail sales & leadership for nearly two decades, I assumed I never would find an employer who truly valued its employees' values and opinions until I joined The North Face, Boston, MA. The leadership treated its staff like family; In doing so, people respected one another and intrinsically co created a culture of accountability and productivity.
Pros
Organic work environment, fair compensation, balanced schedule, and one hour lunches!
Cons
It's still corporate retail
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
SALES CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  Freeport, MEAugust 7, 2016
The best job and environment I had ever worked for. Management great and co-workers like a family. Being an extreme sport person it was easy to become the top sales person in this location as I love the product and my teammates around me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Individual work environment
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Limerick, PAJuly 10, 2016
A day would consist of me staying in my assigned zone on the floor and aiding all customers in any questions they may have, or size adjustment needed. The work culture was one of the most despicable places i've worked for, although the company itself is a very dependable known brand so i did enjoy that aspect of working there.
Pros
30 hours is considered part time
Cons
Worst work culture i've been apart of
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Simpsonville, KYJuly 10, 2016
long days, rude customers, no advancement, cool coworkers, the monotony is the worst part, getting to go home...obviously the best part.

Definitely not the worst job i've ever had.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work just wish they would of worked around my school schedule
Full Time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Michigan City, INJune 23, 2016
Had a great experience there just wish I could of stayed longer but had to go to pursue my goal of obtaining my Bachelor's Degree. Management was sub-par in how they handled some situations with the store and seemed to not truly care about it's employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Senior Footwear Designer (Former Employee) –  Alameda, CAJune 3, 2016
V.F. really cares about their employees.
Compensation is a little low but I enjoyed working with all the members of the footwear team.
Miss working there all the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about The North Face?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are friendly, but the hours were very short and no room for advancement
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLMay 20, 2016
I Enjoyed my job at The North Face because it gave me some experience in customer service and helped me work on my communication skills.
Pros
Disocunt on clothese
Cons
No room for Advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Vacaville, CAMay 18, 2016
The North Face was a great first place to gain job experience in retail. The people were always welcoming and very helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 16, 2016
Great discount but even loyal employees don't get hours. They are hiring but only give current employees around 4 days a month. Other than poor management and no room to advance, barely a raise...
Cons
No hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment
Visual Associate (Current Employee) –  Tulalip, WA 98271April 21, 2016
I did the merchandising and visual displays. The environment was relaxed, however there was no room for promotion with the company,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment
Visual Associate (Current Employee) –  Tulalip, WAApril 21, 2016
I did the merchandising and visual displays at the north face. It was a fun job. There was however no room for promotion within the company. They only like to hire from the outside for management positions,
Pros
Outdoor participation
Cons
Turnover rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work. high expectations for ok pay
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALApril 3, 2016
It is an ok place to work but can be tough during the busy season. Expect long hours on your feet and not many breaks. Some opportunity to move up but the management can be difficult to work with some times.
Pros
discount
Cons
low pay, high expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Ontario Mills, CAMarch 27, 2016
New store opening up in Ontario Mills. Great district manager/Managers and enthusiastic work environment. Great company and opportunities for growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company that values employees personal lives
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHMarch 26, 2016
During my time at TNF I enjoyed the outdoorsy culture of most of the staff members. Towards the end of my 3 years I saw the company steering away from hiring folks that had outdoor passions or experience which I think will hurt them in the long run. I loved my staff in Columbus, OH (PT, FT, and management were great). The company offers some great benefits for their staff if they want to pursue outdoor things and FT is offered health benefits which is awesome. The chance for advancement in the company is really good. I started as PT and worked my way up to a sales manager.
Pros
Advancement opportunities
Cons
Corporate disconnect
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful work environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNMarch 4, 2016
This company is well managed. They follow company rules almost exactly to standard and provided an excellent work environment. The training is only difficult if you have a hard time memorizing facts and different technologies. It is fun to sell to customers and overall has been a great experience.
Pros
Discounts, management, always know your hours
Cons
Almost seasonal type of job. Business is slow after winter months
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Evanston, ILMarch 1, 2016
TNF in Evanston is a great place to work, with a boutique feel due to it being a smaller store; We pride ourselves on our customer service and our team environment.
The only disadvantage is the compensation and difficulty to get hours during the warm months of the year, due to low customer traffic.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The North Face. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 169 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0