Find companies:
The Palmer Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

The Palmer Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temp agency
HUD reimbursement (Former Employee), West Des Moines, IAMay 12, 2014
Pros: quick placement
Cons: impersonal contact
I overall had a good experience with Palmer. They were very quick to help find placement but unhelpful with advancement opportunities or additional education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great temp agency.
Receptionist (Former Employee), Des Moines, IAFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: decent pay, nice people.
Cons: little to no stability.
The people you work with that help you find jobs are very nice and it seems like they really try to place you as soon as they can. However, the last two jobs I've had through there have ended abruptly. The first one was my mistake, while the second one decided to lay me off due to work slowing down. With absolutley no warning whatsoever. I know that's – more... not The Palmer Group's fault but its now been over a month of me looking for work and struggling with bills. So there's just very little stability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very helpful management, found jobs quickly
Clerical Temporary (Current Employee), West Des Moines, IAJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: great management
Cons: healthcare is secondary insurance.
Temporary Assignment at Equifax:
Verification of Employment calls for people getting a loan or mortgage.
Management: Very helpful
Learned: Phone skills, Customer Service, Uploading odcuments
Co-workers were friendly and helpful
Hardest part of job: Keeping up production levels
Most Enjoyable: Speaking with people from all over the US.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not impressed with placement at all.
Job Applicant (Former Employee), Des Moines Metro AreaJune 16, 2013
Forget this place if you're a college graduate. They have very few entry-level jobs for educated professionals and tend to gear everyone to a certain large bank in the area and other data entry sweatshops. Returning calls was poor which is pretty typical for any temp agency. I didn't get hired due to being overly educated, in my opinion. When I needed – more... work I took that interview opportunity and was turned down. I asked for feedback and was given a call back saying how they're "pursuing other candidates at this time" because "it doesn't sound like you're excited about these jobs and want ones that are." All that just for asking for feedback? If I do say so myself, I did not have demeanor issues, only being a person looking for work and survival in a very rough economy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed.
Loan specialist (Current Employee), Des Moines, IAApril 23, 2013
Pros: fast placement
Cons: dishonest information
They really try hard to place you as quickly as possible - with that said - make sure you accept a position that you truly believe you will be able to do/are interested in. They will tell you that if you find out the position isn't right for you that they will work with you to find something else but that isn't true. You are stuck where you get placed – more... and due to contract issues and ethics (?) they won't work with you to find a different assignment.

They have a very hands off approach after you get hired. You will not hear from them unless you contact them directly.

They will also tell you anything you want to hear about your assignment. If they say people generally get hired on permanently at your assignment in 3-6 months - add one year to that (at least). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional Management
Loan Document Specialist (Former Employee), Urbandale, IowaOctober 9, 2012
Working for the Palmer Group was not a pleasant experience. The management is very unprofessional. They may or may not respond to your inquiries. Also, they gave me someone else's confidential information by accident. While this was an accident, you wouldn't expect this from a human resource dept.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
minimal management appearance
Wells Fargo, Operations Clerk 3 (Current Employee), Des Moines, IAJune 5, 2012
You will not be recognized. They will not know who you are. You will know more about you and the work you are doing than they do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About my job
Loan Adjuster I (Current Employee), Des MoinesJune 3, 2012
I work on the OCC Consent Project at Wells Fargo. We work on cases for foreclosed homes. This includes routing loans and validating the case work to be sent to PFG. It is a good atmosphere as my co-workers make it easy to go to work. The hardest part of the job is the security and not being full time. I enjoy the people I work with the most.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great support - excellent career advice
Project Field Coordinator (Former Employee), West Chester, OhioMay 3, 2012
Pros: great people in the office.
I worked for The Palmer Group as a contractor for over 2 years. During that time, I worked for three different companies. Down time between assignments was minimal. What impressed me the most was their ability to look at my work history and identify skillsets that would translate well to new career paths, expanding my experience and employment options.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hardworking crew that find jobs for you.
Loan Researcher (Current Employee), West Des Moines, IAApril 24, 2012
Come in sit at the desk and get ready to take on the case load that's in the computer system. Learned a lot about how to research and analyze different types of loans. Writing brief synopsis' on a case by case basis. Hardest part of the job is looking and sitting down at a computer all day, the most enjoyable part would be the work atmosphere and getting – more... to listen to our IPods. – less