The Pantry Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 15, 2017
The company was bought out at this moment and commended the growth of the company from small scales operations to mega- company before it was bought out. I worked with great boss and we had a great and productive realtionship
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Danville, VA/ charlotte ncOctober 10, 2017
The pantry was one of the best jobs that I have ever had in my life. I do recommend this company to any & everyone. I loved my role. The pay was great & there was plenty of room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace, evr changing culture
Manager/ District Manager (Former Employee) –  Sanford, NCOctober 10, 2017
good for begining career in management. Not for young mothers.I was able to do many aspects of the job. I managed a very high volume district and I also had the oportunity to teach shrink and P&L classes to managers within the region.
Pros
fast pace
Cons
no home / work balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pantry
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCOctober 5, 2017
Its was a steady job...but they worked you seven days a week if you let them...I did everything from paperwork, grocery order, inventory, training employees...deposits
Pros
Good Job
Cons
I worked by myself alot, never got everything done in a day that needed getting done
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, good coworkers, interesting to say the least
prep cook (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLOctober 5, 2017
The Pantry is a good place to work if cooking is your passion. The environment is stressful and somewhat unprofessional with the advice and training given.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
closed
Sales Associate / Assistant Manger (Former Employee) –  Clarksville, TNOctober 2, 2017
no loner open was bought out they no longer operate and has been bought my circle k no longer work due to being bought out so I rally don't know what to say
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at the pantry . I love to interact with people
Subway Manager (Former Employee) –  Barberville, FLSeptember 28, 2017
Thank you for taking the time too review my application. I lived muy job art the pantry. I had a surgery ex on for and I was out for one year. I went to go back but the only managers position was 2 hours away. So I chose to resign. Again thank you for your time.
Pros
Vacation 401k
Cons
Hours cut
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided mulitple opportunities to advance into management
Roving Manager (Former Employee) –  Brevard County, FLSeptember 27, 2017
Provided multiple opportunities to advance into management. However the day to day activities in a store can be stressful and working with the public in a convenience store environment can be a bit on the crazy side.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Cashier, Line (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYSeptember 26, 2017
Modern and spacious layout.

It's a place utilized for it's own reasons on coming here. It's fitful for many occasions and located at a prime spot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much work, not enough people
Manager (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INSeptember 11, 2017
Could not keep employees or even get too many reliable employees. Someone was always calling in so the manager (me) had to fill in at all hours of day or night. It was very stressful and I couldn't plan my life.
Pros
N/a
Cons
Can't keep good employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging area to work with. Great employees and managers
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  TexasSeptember 11, 2017
Great place to work at.
Friendly management
friendly employees
Challenging tasks
Kitchen designed very well for the need of the operation
Always busy caters to 800-1200 guest per night
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work at
COUNSELOR WORKER (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYSeptember 10, 2017
Samuels temple church was a good place to work at. Giving back to the community was the most enjoyable part of the day. I've learned that giving back to the community really makes a difference in peoples lives and I'm just happy that I was apart of it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace store
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saint Augustine, FLSeptember 6, 2017
Provided superior customer service
Accurately handled the cash register and deposits
Monitored the receiving of merchandise to verify accuracy of our order
Stocked shelves and coolers with merchandise
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was rude
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Umatilla, FLAugust 30, 2017
I was sicker than a dog and they made me come in anyway then complained about everything i did. I went completely through the checklist the manager left me, and the manager told the district manager that i refused to do anything that night
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work. With audio and cctv company backed up their emplyoyees when customers were wrong.
FT Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Middleburg, FLAugust 26, 2017
Was a fast paced environment.Learned alot about convenience shopping. Stock and keeping fresh product on shelves was a day to day challenge.Also the challenge of keeping shrink to a minimum was a great importance.
Pros
Seeing same customers regular basis was helpful to them.
Cons
Company insurance was to expensive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hilton Head Island, SCAugust 20, 2017
very quick paced place to work. lots of interacting with customers. a lot of room for advancement. the manager could of showed more respect to employees but overall pretty good place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long work hours
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Clarksville, TNAugust 19, 2017
being a manager for The Pantry is hard work. You are a salaried employee and do not get overtime. You also are on call 24-7-365. If someone calls out and you cannot find a replacement then you have to work. The people I hired were great and we all were like one big family.
Pros
Great employees
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Review for the The Pantry (Kangaroo)
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCAugust 17, 2017
With my years of experience as a being manager in the retail industry and food service, I took on managing a convenient store not realizing what I was getting into when you have a 24- hour store that is open.
Pros
there is no pros working when you have to pay for your meals, no dicounts giving to employees.
Cons
they are no con to report about working at a convient store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Croydon, PAAugust 17, 2017
Under table job. Just like working at a 711 or was a only smaller. Boss eass very rude and treated his female employees like trash. Worked deli cashier stocked and lottery.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short breaks, rude boss
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
discount
Claim Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Cary, NCAugust 8, 2017
Working with the company for the short time that I did was ok, sometime the my manager would have me do her work and tell her manager that she did it with out the help of her team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Pantry. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 476 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3