The Pep Boys - Manny, Moe & Jack

The Pep Boys - Manny, Moe & Jack Employee Reviews

Found 1,149 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working for them
Cherry Picker Operator/shipping receiving (Former Employee) –  Mesquite, TXMarch 23, 2017
nice clean work space. friendly co-workers , and great boses. the work hours where wonderful and gave me time before work and after work to do things that was important to me and my life
Pros
great hours
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional environment
Sales Associate and Cashier (Current Employee) –  TexasMarch 23, 2017
Poor management.... lack of quality people team work against each other no support HR is the worst. Low moral lots of under minded behavior customers were great to help out with car care needs
Pros
Customers
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average day
Warehouser (Former Employee) –  McDonough, GAMarch 22, 2017
Scan in product with pfc scanner, process in merchandise then stage product. Management was the typical but nothing crazy. Hardest part of the job was seating in one spot for several hours. Best part of the job was there was local restaurants was near.
Pros
Breaks
Cons
to maintain several things at one time under a current amount of time and benfits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Care
Customer Care Representative - Piedmont Road (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 21, 2017
I enjoyed working with the customers. The hardest part was working in a male dominated environment. I would receive a merchandising package and work on setting up plans. On days when there were no special merchandising I maintained the stock on the shelves and worked the auto parts desk processing special orders, warranties, and returns. I learned a lot about automobile parts and was able to enjoy a discount on car parts and repairs.
Pros
discounts continued certification opportunities
Cons
loud noises and the smell of oil
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work at ALL
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Crestwood, ILMarch 20, 2017
This company is horrible, they are severely understaffed and expect you to work 7 days with no breaks, upper management will never respond to phone calls or emails, it took them a month to pay me. since the "buy out" the company has fallen away from customer service and is terrible at keeping parts in stock, they have plenty of useless items there like "as seen on tv" products but not "car parts". This place was the worse company i ever worked for
Pros
Compensation
Cons
CEO, Upper management, time spent there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Job
Manager in Training (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMarch 18, 2017
Horrible company, which is why it got sold. Management doesn't know what they are doing and employees are under paid. I was a found mice droppings around food. Employees got sick (possible from droppings or dust). The District Manager and Service Managers are horrible. Customers complaints were through the roof and they ripe people off. I saw at the Service Manager sale a service and the tech never did it. Horrible place for employment and doing business.
Pros
Lunch breaks
Cons
Ripe customers off, employees are under paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need to clean house they know the system to well and get away with anything against the policies.
PRI Manager (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXMarch 17, 2017
dont go there not good company to progress im surprised there still opened.To much work for not a good pay it suck need to give up the older employees so new ones can get a better pay not fair
Pros
nothing good
Cons
everthing is to boring n slow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate/Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  El Monte, CAMarch 16, 2017
Typical day at Pep boys is always being on top of everything and giving every customer what they need. Super fun staff and great work environment including Pep express.
Cons
Managemet need work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work
General Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Lockport, NYMarch 14, 2017
The manager doesn't know anything about working on cars. So he doesn't trust his mechanics to work on them either. Pep Boys management turns away jobs that the mechanics there can do, therefore costing the mechanic money. They use cheap Chinese parts, and when one fails blame the mechanic who worked on the car. The pay is terrible. Just not a good place to work.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Bessemer, ALMarch 13, 2017
if they listen to their employees more hired a better district manager things would run a lot smoother, there still a great place to work, if I ever needed the job I will go back there with no hesitation
Pros
Great store managers
Cons
Bad assistant manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pepboys testimonial
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Dedham, MAMarch 13, 2017
The pepboys that i ran was one of the only profitable multimillion dollar location.Extremelly busy service dept. Which i have increased each month i was there, The company went thru a huge buyout to new ownership.Which made the location understaffed and pay cuts.
One ot the great asset of the company was the constant training that was mandatory and kept employees sharp and updated.my favorite part of the job is gaining customers trust and providing exceptional service.
Pros
good products
Cons
employee benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with a gym
Material Handler/ sorter (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAMarch 13, 2017
Pep Boys was an excellent environment to grow. The employees and the management worked very well together. Great accommodations for the employees, and even went as far as to install an employee fitness center.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent pace with resonable commisions
Service Writer - Liaison between customers (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 12, 2017
working at pep boys was diffidently a leaning experience, I got a lot of information on vehicles I hadn't known prior to working there, the pace was usually pretty high speed, running around getting parts and helping customers. management could have been better at my location. we ad issues with not having proper staffing and too much stress on closing employees which was usually just me handling parts sales along with service tickets.
Pros
they worked with my school scedual well
Cons
not enough staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad if you need a job
part-time delivery driver (Current Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAMarch 11, 2017
Typical day is delivering parts to customers and answering phones on occasion. That is the better part of the day helping customers with problems and getting them the right parts.
Pros
slight price break on employee prices.
Cons
healthcare costs too much for what you get.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pep Boys is a great company to work for
Fleet Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Northern NJMarch 11, 2017
At Pep Boys there is plenty of room for advancement. A world class company.They always encourage you to think out of the box and come up with NEW ideas to help others in the organization
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better
Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Aliso Viejo, CAMarch 10, 2017
It has been a stressful work environment with the assistant managers at the Aliso location, they can be nice but when the work load gets large, they stress and it often can be directed towards us and then it makes for an uncomfortable work environment. There are other coworkers there that do make it a better time there. So it is a give and take.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just a regular job
Parts Driver (Former Employee) –  Corona, CAMarch 10, 2017
nothing really special at this job, i do feel for being a driver that a higher wage would make more sense as the duties required are not very easy......
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs lots of improvements
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lawndale, CAMarch 9, 2017
Started working not knowing about cars, now I'm comfortable on the topic. There's much knowledge to gain, it's a good place to work, poor management..
Pros
Customer interaction, hands on training.
Cons
Too much favoritism, management unprofessional, management has no education on ethic and respect.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Carson, CAMarch 8, 2017
A lot of fun dealing with the people. Interacting with the customers.
A great management team that was very supportive and helpful.
Sales contests that motivated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to learn about cars
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fredericksburg, VA 22401March 8, 2017
Fun place to learn all about cars. Can learn repairs and what parts are good. Will teach you how to buy a car. Any car troubles, you have lots of friends and real advice. Just a great place to work.
Pros
Learn all about cars
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Pep Boys - Manny, Moe & Jack. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,152 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3
61%

CEO Approval

Based on 197 ratings
Add your rating