The Pep Boys - Manny, Moe & Jack Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager really needed help
car technician (Former Employee) –  Castle Rock, COJanuary 22, 2018
The manager was crazy, he always complained about his life, he barely got days off. Heard he is doing a little bit better but he was a bad person. Threatened the crew and everything. Super weird.
Pros
Learning stuff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to get started
Auto Technician (Former Employee) –  Turnersville, NJJanuary 21, 2018
Its a good place to get started I worked there while I was in school . very understanding when going to school. the techs were willing to help when needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJanuary 19, 2018
The company is stressful. No one works together. When its time to help out no ones there to assist customers. Hardly time for break. always packed. no communication with employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Tire Technician (Former Employee) –  Destin, FLJanuary 18, 2018
They had faulty equipment at the time when I was wprking their andd the mechanics were nor ase certified. When the jack let lpose and crushed my hand inbetween a box truck and the ground that was it for me
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job always room for advancement.
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJanuary 18, 2018
Great job for ones that are hard workers driven and wanting to advance their career. Learn how to use up to date equipment and possible enter into the mentor program. good managment always there for you when you need them.
Pros
Good place to work. always challenging and always work.
Cons
Sometimes long days and stressful work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job to start out at
Commercial Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Euless, TXJanuary 16, 2018
If you're looking for a first time job related to automotive parts the definitely give it a try. the work environment was usually very relaxed and the employees were very nice.
Pros
long lunches, good discounts.
Cons
stores are usually dirty and not appealing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Customer Service Professional (Current Employee) –  Glen Mills, PAJanuary 16, 2018
I Love working here the morale and chemistry of the team is amazing we always make a way to make the day go by quickly and we work efficiently together
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Commercial Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Gastonia, NCJanuary 16, 2018
Very high turn over rate. Not enough staff to provide excellent customer service. Over worked and very stressful enviornment. In a period of 2 years I went through 5 general managers.
Pros
2 weeks pto
Cons
poor management not enough staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No family time
Assistant Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GAJanuary 12, 2018
Very fast paced work environment. Not enough time off. Worked every single holiday and weekend. Never had time to spend with family or friends. Customers cut your throat.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place
Commercial Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  new yorkJanuary 12, 2018
good place to work room for adavcment , ok money to start in some locatons. good management for the most partgood benefits good culture and some down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Auto Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Marlow Heights, MDJanuary 12, 2018
Come in grab a ticket fill out ticket & get to work.
I learned a lot from this store cool people.
Management was good they help me out a lot.
Hardest part was getting stuck there after hours.
Pros
Good Environment
Cons
Stressful hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJanuary 11, 2018
It was a good job in general, just at the time was not right for me. I needed something else that felt more filling, which is the reason I am a medical assistant now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good mansger and coworkers
Tire Technician (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJanuary 10, 2018
Was disappointed in my hours and pay. I liked working with my manager and coworkers. The pace was slow. Mansger worked with me when i had a medical issue
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work at
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Granada Hills, CAJanuary 10, 2018
Friendly working environment. Not really much opportunity for growth. You learn a lot about cars. Customers are very nice and friendly and can teach you a thing or two about cars. The best part of this job is the employees and work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
mgr/auto (Former Employee) –  Carson, CAJanuary 8, 2018
its a busy environment and challenging place. managers are great well trained district managers are lack of communication with employees and over promises.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced and Collaborative
E-Commerce & Reach Operator (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAJanuary 5, 2018
Very fast paced and timeliness is reflected in the bonus you earn. Everything is timed so if you stock or pick faster than the computer then you get a percentage of the difference added to your bonus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Commercial Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GAJanuary 5, 2018
Handled cash and debit/credit card transactions efficiently and in a timely manner. Assisted customers with finding the products that want and assisted with resolving any issues or complaints and followed up to ensure customer satisfaction.
Pros
Free Lunches and Autucare discounts
Cons
No benefits were offered.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Auto Technician (Former Employee) –  Mid-AtlanticJanuary 3, 2018
i have worked at pep boys for almost 20 years. Never ever able to get weekends off due to shop hours. Always worked either Saturday or sunday with a day off in the week.
Recently they hired a guy off the street immidiatly giving him Monday thru Friday 8-5. I believe because it’s someones buddy.
What a slap in the face to anyone who’s worked there for any length of time.
Pros
Pay, paid time off
Cons
Cut throat job culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place i ever worked
Installer/Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Streamwood, ILJanuary 3, 2018
The management that was at this location when I worked there was the worst I have heard there is new management at this location but do not now if it is true. I will not go there to find out.
Pros
cow workers
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work
Tire Technician (Former Employee) –  Bradenton, FLJanuary 3, 2018
i worked at pep boys for a couple of years they would make us work over time and not pay us for it which lead to legal problems which lead to me finding a different job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Pep Boys - Manny, Moe & Jack. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,645 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2