The Pep Boys - Manny, Moe & Jack

The Pep Boys - Manny, Moe & Jack Employee Reviews in United States

Found 1,004 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Corporate Trainer (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMay 24, 2016
A good company to work for. Lots of opportunities to grow in different segments of the business. Great ideas but little follow through.
Pros
Overall Experiences
Cons
Little direction and not enough resourses committed to get the job done.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Skill building activity
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Windcrest, TXMay 9, 2016
For an entry level Job, I can learn new things everyday from the job at hand and customers demands. A regular day at work is basically helping out customers on their needs to product needs to Automotive service parts
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
polotics
Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAJuly 27, 2016
Its a good company however at the store i work at we tend to lose co-workers because my manager acts like a 5 year old all the time and then we get undermanned and everything is hectic and just not good all the way around.
Pros
good benefits?
Cons
polotics
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
place sucked to work for
DEPARTMENT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Orange, CAMarch 14, 2016
this is the worst company to work for to much shady stuff going on behind offics doors and the managers are fast to blame the regular employees if somthing goes wrong.. plus the favortisim of other store managers kids working for the company is abolutly discusting
Pros
none
Cons
all
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pep boys
Master Technician (Current Employee) –  Humble, TXJune 21, 2016
Its Not a bad company. It is not knowing if you will get flag hours
or not. You can be there 49 hours a week but only get 20 hours.
it is hard to support a family on this income when you don't get 40 hours a week.
Cons
No Gaurantees like firestone
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
close to home made good money
Master Technician, smog technician, shop manager. (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAMarch 11, 2016
great training program, got to communicate with my customers that helped build cliental, the shop manager had a high turn over rate but I made the best of it .
Pros
good benifits, good pay, great training, quality tools .
Cons
manager turnover rate.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place , Very interactive with customers
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Temple Hills, MDMay 16, 2016
Although online orders was a terrible experience.They tried to tend to customer needs. Very fun place to work.Managers were very reliable . Area Manager was very helpful to employee needs
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work if they would have better workers
shop lead (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJanuary 17, 2016
pep boys was a fun job that let me explore the true job of running a shop and putting out reliable work. it is very hard to keep a name going when you cant control what techs and lube bay guys are hired to work under your name. this was the down fall when I worked at pep boys
Pros
freedom to be a honest mechanic
Cons
unrelaiable workers
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, learned a lot about management
Service writer/ Manager (Former Employee) –  Centereach, NYJuly 2, 2016
I was in charge of day to operations by the time i left employment here. I went from a service writer, to parts manager to then a store manager in a few short years.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
felt constricted
COMMERCIAL SALES MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, MDFebruary 29, 2016
Pep boys was a horrible company to work for. I was Hired as a manager for the commercial department, but was held back on doing my job properly due to the store manager always interfering and changing routines on a daily basis.
Pros
none
Cons
restricted department hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn about auto parts.
AUTO PARTS COMMERCIAL MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 27, 2016
Working a pep boys was a part time job. The job is fair, pep boys always giving training classes. I learn too much about cars. I did made very good friends. It was fun working with this company.
Pros
Good environment to work at.
Cons
Many asignments to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service manager
Technician Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJuly 20, 2016
Closed and opened a six bay garage checked customers.took care of night audits worked cash register. did nightly stock counts daily
Pros
solid company good structure
Cons
no un employment
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Job
Assistan Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXMarch 23, 2016
This was a decent job however, I wouldn't call it a career for me. I enjoyed providing help for people when it came to maintaining their cars. Upper management was really pushing up-sales on maintenance packages which I frowned upon.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard place to work
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 27, 2016
Corporate company, does not care much about the little man. Very hard to move up the corporate ladder unless everyone loves you. Promotions not based on skill but on personality and who you get along with.

Can be depressing at times, has not always been this way, I have loved it in the past but times have changed
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good enviroment, Easy to excel
Technician B (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXMarch 28, 2016
Great place to work at. only con is the work schedule even though there isn't incoming work from time to time. Over all a good place to work since acquiring tools you need to work on a job is as easy as going into the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to take your car.
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Bayamón, PRApril 12, 2016
In general it is a good place to take your car if you don't have a place where to fix it. And if you are a do it yourself kind of guy the store has almost everything you need to take care of your car projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terribly Run Company
Tech A (Former Employee) –  Winchester, VAJanuary 3, 2016
Doesn't care at all about employees. Only about making a profit. Very hard to advance in company. All managers from the Store Manager all the way up to the Regional and District Managers do not take concerns of the employees seriously. Dangerous work environment with faulty equipment and no working safety features.
Pros
none
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience.
Assistant Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJuly 19, 2016
Started out as an installer. Job mainly revolves around tire and lube. Friendly and helpful environment. Questions will be answered if asked.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Sandy Springs, GA 30342July 21, 2016
Great qce to work for. Learned alot about automibiles the mechanical side of it. Training was the best and very flexible hours as well. Great managers to work for. Adbancment was easy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great customer oriented company
Parts Clerk / Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Glendale, AZMarch 23, 2016
working for the company is fun. I like the job duties and dealing with clients.
they make it easy to do your job
they appreciate the job that you do
Pros
great hours
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Pep Boys - Manny, Moe & Jack. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,007 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3

The Pep Boys - Manny, Moe & Jack Reviews by Location