The Port Authority of NY & NJ Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great internship
Summer Management Intern (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 25, 2017
It was a great summer internship for me. Got to see numerous big projects that the company is involved with. Even got the chance to go to the top of the G.W. Bridge. Really enjoyed the internship. the only con thing I would say is that I was located in Brooklyn for the internship and I was traveling from Pearl River, NY and so I had a long commute.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Family Type of Enviorment
Management Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 11, 2017
Good place to work and to gain experience. Bureaucratic structure can be challenging at times if something needed to be done quickly.

Everyone worked with is friendly have integrity. That is something rarely found in the private/financial sector.
Pros
Family, friendly environment
Cons
Bureaucratic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Coordinator Photo, Audio & Visual Services (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 26, 2017
Always some administrative work to be done. Paper work goes through layers of checks and balances. Stable work environment with room to move up and laterally.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Data Analyst Intern (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 10, 2017
A good place to work. Friendly and supportive colleagues. Great benefits. A good place to learn, explore and build up connections with highly experienced professionals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very open minded and learning environment
Human Resources Student Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 10, 2017
 Implemented employee training database to organize data and training efficiently
 Process, verify & maintain personnel related documentation, including training, performance evaluations, & classifications
 Record individualized data evaluations for each employee, including personal information, earnings, supervisory reports on performance, and training verifications
 Trained/assisted Supervisor & Manager in Oracle PeopleSoft software
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good.
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJJanuary 24, 2017
I enjoyed working here and it was unfortunate I did not last long. I would love to work with them again. Days were great. I was always busy. Hardest part was working with all different people but nothing that couldn't get done. it was enjoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to commit to long term employment
Toll Collector (Former Employee) –  Fort Lee, NJFebruary 23, 2015
Working as a toll collector you'd need a serious attention to funds, requires punctuality and overall the ability to work with all types of backgrounds.
Pros
Two breaks
Cons
Fumes
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work.
Senior Legal Secretary (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 20, 2014
Typical day included doing various tasks. Over the years I learned a lot. Enjoyable part of my job was interacting with other people.
Pros
Great co-workers, enjoyed my job.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse State Agency committed to rebuilding the World Trade Center and the Region. Fast paced and exciting to be part of such a momentous project
Senior Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York CityAugust 4, 2014
Had the opportunity to be part of a momentous project such as the rebuilding of the World Trade Center.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very informative
electrition (Former Employee) –  new york new Jersey areaJune 1, 2014
The only thing I can see is that the company should have better job security.
Pros
management experience
Cons
job sucuities
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to advance
Clerical-TB&T (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 6, 2014
management is great.
hardest part is advancing
great place to learn communitive skills.
Pros
close to transit
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Solid Employer
Materials Engineer (Current Employee) –  Jersey City, NJNovember 20, 2013
Good place to gain construction management skills
A wealth of knowledge amongst the various disciplines
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy, young and had a great 1st job
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 12, 2013
Sincerely grateful to start my working career with the Port Authority of NY NJ. Still have contact with most of the people I worked with including my supervisor. WTC Forever!
Pros
Working at the WTC. Very happy to turn 21 yrs with the PA
Cons
Wo
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting projects
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJApril 29, 2013
Great co-workers and benefits. Challenging and diverse work assignments.



Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back Internship
Summer Budget Analyst (Current Employee) –  NYOctober 7, 2012
good for getting to know the business. i enjoy working here.
Pros
casusal friday
Cons
short notice on deadlines
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional work place
Legal Secretary (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 17, 2012
A typical day a work started with work on your desk from 5 different attorneys. There were two secretaries for five attorneys, and there was a box where work was placed and as you did one job you picked up another. What I did learn was how to read doctor reports and summarize them for workers' compensation cases. My co-workers were very nice and considerate people to work for. The hardest part of the job, was having to work overtime on weekends. The most enjoyable part of the job were the people I worked with.
Pros
considerate workers
Cons
late over time work, and weekend work required
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Port Authority of NY & NJ. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5

The Port Authority of NY & NJ Reviews by Location