Find companies:
The Ritz-Carlton
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
243 reviews

The Ritz-Carlton Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work great managers.
Loss Prevention Officer (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 27, 2013
Pros: always active.
Great co workers, beautiful property. Amazing guest. Provided security for celebrities and athletes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work.
In Room Dining Agent (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCAugust 27, 2013
Pros: using the gym
Cons: when busy constantly on your feet sometimes no break until its time to home
A typical day to you never know what to expect, just smile and remember your on stage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work & meet celebritys
Loss Prevention/HR (Former Employee), Marina Del Rey, CaAugust 22, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Awsum place to work getting to meet diffrent people from around the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company wth excellent benefits
Housekeeper (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLAugust 22, 2013
A typical day at work would involve me cleaning and servicing numerous guests' rooms in a timely manner. I am also completing guests' requests, and engaging with guests to ensure they have a memorable experience. I have learned time-management. Often there are days that the work load is extremely large, and often seemed impossible, however, I have always – more... pushed myself harder and have completed my assigned tasks. The co-workers are warm and welcoming, and seem more like family than fellow employees. The hardest part of job is the assigned workload. I work ten hours a day, and most of the time the only break I can take is lunch because if I stop then I wont be finished by the end of my shift. The most enjoyable part of the job is receiving decent pay and the company benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced work yet enjoyable as every day was different and you continually were learning to deal with different guest issues on a daily basis.
Valet / Doorman / Bellman (Former Employee), Greensboro, GAAugust 21, 2013
Pros: very positive workplace environment, hard work but very satisfying with great benefits.
Cons: working all holidays and losing time with my family on holidays.
The Ritz Carlton taught me a ton on how to communicate with people in a professional manner and how to go over and above for every guest who stayed at the hotel. They were very organized and it was always known what was expected of you every day. They did not settle for anything less than perfection when dealing with each guest. Each day was different – more... but I knew that i was responsible for the guests first and last impression of their stay at the hotel. This made you focus on always being very positive and upbeat so the guests knew you loved your job and loved serving them in any way possible. I learned how to be attentive to every guest and focus on meeting their every need before it was expressed. My co-workers were all positive in their day to day duties which made every day of work more enjoyable for me. The hardest part of my job is in the hotel industry they are open every day of the year including Christmas, New years and every other holiday of the year. This was tough because I was unable to enjoy those days with my family. The most enjoyable part of my job was when a guest personally told me that I had made their stay unforgettable (in a positive way) and they couldn't wait to come back again. That gave me a great deal of satisfaction in knowing I had done my job the right way. I take a lot of pride in knowing a played a small part in making their stay better then they could have ever imagined. Although the managment was a little micromanaged, they always let you know exactly what was expected from you day in and day out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Customer Service, poor benefits
Tea Room Attendant / Espresso Bar Manager (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAAugust 20, 2013
The Ritz Carlton is know for its elegance. Unfortunately, most people who were working there were making minimum wage. I feel the customer service skills they teach are top notch, but in terms of job satisfaction, mine was low.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SERVICING GUEST
Banquet Server On Call (Current Employee), San Juan, PRAugust 18, 2013
Offer food and beverages to guest
Teamwork
Takes ovals trays with porcelain platters
goods realtionships
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable atmosphere
Learning Coach - Valet (Current Employee), Amelia Island, FLAugust 17, 2013
Pros: get a free meal each day. ability to move up.
Cons: the pay is not consistent.
The Ritz Carlton is a great place to work. I typically go in to work, take care of any problems or complaints that the other valets have with each other or management. I train new hires as well as people who are wanting to work there for extra hours. The hardest part of the job is just running for 8-12 hours straight. It's hard on your legs. I enjoy – more... getting to meet a variety of people and interacting with all these people.
Working for the Ritz Carlton, I have learned about team management, how to speak with better grammar than I had before, and what it means to go over and beyond for each individual that I come in contact with or who walks through the doors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Director of Loss Prevention (Former Employee), Boston, MAAugust 12, 2013
Great hotel.Run morning meetings.
I would review payroll daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
reviewed
Stewarding (Former Employee), Fernandina Beach, FLAugust 11, 2013
its was good until the work got slow and they fire people for no reason
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work.
Steward (Former Employee), Clayton, MOAugust 4, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: shorts breaks
I would polish all silverware Run dish machine Nice people to work with. When you had large parties you really worked hard, but you get the job done and had fun while you were doing it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!!
Supervisor of Loss Prevention (Former Employee), MIamiAugust 1, 2013
Pros: salary
Cons: management do not value employees.
Great company to work for with great benefits. Try not to mind the politics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What's it like to work at the Ritz Carlton
Bellman/Guest Services/Lateral Services Associate (Current Employee), New Orleans, LAJuly 26, 2013
Pros: meeting and coming in close contact with the many star's, professional atheletes etc. .
Cons: none that i could really think of or atleast have yet to incounter .
An Exciting Place to Work where as you Meet Guest from all types of background ? , from the Rich and Famous , Movie Star's , Professional Athletes ,High Profiled Politicians and People of Great Intrest .The people I work with are always perfessional and curtious with a sesce of family pride . We always start our shift with what is called line-up ,where – more... a dept. manager who is alway's helpful and quick to both our's and the hotel guest needs , will go over the hotel dayly list of who's in house , hotel occupance etc. to which you learn something about the hotel as well as preparing for certain guest intrest who may want somethig special done before or after their arrival / departure .One of the most enjoyable parts of the Job besides meeting and greeting new people as well as the many Star's ?, . . . . Is in klnowing and seeing the Smile on their faces and a satisfied look that they'll be returning mainly because of the Service they received . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience.
Assistant Manager of Guest Services (Former Employee), Naples, FLJuly 23, 2013
Pros: a total team approach.
Working for The Ritz Carlton was one of the best periods of my life, both work and personal. An incredible company that only had six hotels during my employement and has now grown world wide thanks to the Marriott influence and backing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work
Head Waiter (Former Employee), Doha, DAWJuly 23, 2013
i am working shift duty morning/evening or night shift.i learn all the food and beverage method and how to serve the guest,how can i work with my co workers specially different countries/different religion.i got all support of my leaders.i like to wark when the busy periods.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deep and Rich in Culture
Meetings and Special Events Manager (Current Employee), Half Moon Bay, CAJuly 22, 2013
After owning my own company for nearly 7 years I realized that my weakness was Food and Beverage as well as Hotel Operations. I have had an amazing opportunity to study under one of the best Ritz-Carlton Chef's as well as the Executive Leaders who have trained me to learn and understand the needs and requirements for the Luxury Customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Values
Providing Exceptional Customer Service (Current Employee), Doral, FLJuly 15, 2013
Pros: comp nights
Cons: not able to control the calls that come in
A typical day at work consist of making sure to provide the best customer service and meeting their most unexpected needs. I learned that assisting various customers help one to become a better person over all. Management is great, management helps employee to progress in their fields whether it's within or outside the company. The co-workers get along – more... great, never an issue in the office and working together is made easy. The hardest part of the job is satisfying every single customer. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting recognize for the great job we do individually and as a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hotel to work for
PBX operator (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 10, 2013
Pros: free meals, great employee appreciation
Ritz Carlton always put employees first, you can tell they cared. They threw us fantastic parties gave us lush robes, and free meals. A lot of work ,but it was a pleasure working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in such a large place with over a hundred employees
Cook II (Former Employee), Amelia Island, FLJune 25, 2013
Pros: free lunch great benefits
Cons: hours were cut when the recession began .
I started by checking how many people were in the VIP club lounge then I would create three to four types of hor deuvers that I came up with by myself and plate each one on individual plates , over a hundred plates each item . then I would set it up , after I would help with other prep and plating are setting up banquets I also worked in the hotel cafe – more... and Ocean Bar & Grill during the summer . I learned a lot about culinary on a larger scale .Management were incredible and very knowledgable , the same goes for my co workers we were like a big family and I made freinds for life . Being a cook in a large Hotel is very challenging but I enjoyed it for the most .The whole part of working at a place that is like a second family . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed job very much fast paced always something to do
Banquet Server/Team leader/Driver (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 16, 2013
Pros: driving to serve lunch off site
Cons: working on weekends
Co workers always help each other out, even if they were not in that department. Work day started off with your designated task suxh as setting up for a buffet, or in the dishroom. The most enjoyable part of my job was to be a sampler of the food if asked. The part I did not like was I had to work every weekend.

About The Ritz-Carlton

The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Company, L.L.C. is the parent company to the luxury hotel chain, The Ritz-Carlton Hotels. Ritz-Carlton – Read more