The Roanoke Times Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work when I was there
Home Delivery Manager (Former Employee) –  VirginiaDecember 30, 2017
Advanced from within. I loved the teamwork and group of people that worked with. There was a lot of changes when I worked there. I had two different managers during my time there and both were great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No loyalty to employees
Sales & Service Consultant (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAJuly 26, 2017
There was no loyalty to employees and customers alike. No place for any sort of advancement or further training. The newspaper industry is dying and its because of places like this.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work sad to see it close I learned a lot from the ro
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Roanoke, VAMay 31, 2017
It was a fun and enjoyable place to work I learned a lot from the times I felt blessed cause I started as a temp and worked my way up from mail stamper to dock coordinator and then became a machine operator in within a year I was very happy they gave me a chance I am saddened by the closing of my department
Pros
Free newspaper
Cons
Health care, rate of pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only workaholics need apply
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAMay 19, 2017
80 hour weeks are expected. Vacations and sick days are given, but taking them is frowned upon hard enough that you will never get to use them. The company has great upward mobility for anyone who can survive the gauntlet, but very few do. Most people have been working there for under 6 months.
Pros
Easy entry, opportunity for professional growth
Cons
Extremely hard work for long amounts of time. Horrible work-life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management has no plan of action for correcting errors and increasing compensation.
Advertising Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAMay 15, 2017
Management is fragmented. The merger of two companies has caused a gap in how the company functions. Management has struggled to rectify the issue. My hopes to move forward with this company were stopped due to production mistakes the company is making after the sale.
Pros
Amazing people
Cons
Too many mistakes!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Independent Contract Carrier (Current Employee) –  Roanoke, VAApril 12, 2017
Management reflects the employees....
as with any media delays happen and that can damper the whole atmosphere of work
high turn over
hours are ok but required to work if press is late or broken down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Roanoke Times
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAOctober 30, 2016
I started out in the mail room. In production. I remember having hours of overtime. I was a top performer. I had lunch with the editor. I got a promotion. The newspaper was a wonderful place to work. I was very proud to have worked there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Roanoke Times
Mailroom Clerk (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAJune 9, 2016
Starts off slow in morning at 6 AM and really busy from 9:30AM til 6 PM Your on your feet a lot. The workers and managers are nice and flexible with new comers. The environment is nice and welcoming to workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entrt level sales
Account Executive- Advertising Sales (Restaurants) (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VASeptember 15, 2014
I learn how to sell, and become into a persusaive representative.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of change to deal with, but overall a fun place to work
Photocompositor/Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAJuly 12, 2014
At the time I worked there, it was an interesting place to be. The workload could be very challenging at times, but my manager gave me what I needed to get the job done.
My co-workers were great people and I miss seeing them on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work for any age
Inserter (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAJuly 8, 2014
Friendly atmospere. Appreciated by management and customers. Steady work flow and they offer benefits. Good job for any age.
Pros
Non Judgemental Management
Cons
I have no complaints
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traditional newspaper company
Audience Development Intern, Audience Insight (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAFebruary 11, 2014
The traditional newspaper company. The company undergoes many changes as it was sold to another publisher.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management teams
Retention coordinator (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAFebruary 3, 2014
Loved working here! Co-workers along with the management teams were wonderful.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
layoffs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A hard-working medium-sized paper covering SW Virginia
Copy editor/page designer (Current Employee) –  Roanoke, VAJuly 1, 2013
As a copy editor, I mostly work nights. I started here as an intern but was quickly trusted with a lot of responsibility. My team leaders were quick to have me try new things and gather more experience whenever I asked. I went from just editing to posting stories to the website and then designing pages for the paper.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good culture
Local Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Roanoke, VAApril 29, 2013
A good company that will explore change and growth. It is a non corporate environment where local decisions are made with respect to the local market.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Inserter Supervisor/ Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAAugust 6, 2012
A Typical day at The Roanoke Times is Multi-Tasking. I learned how to be a better leader, I learned diversty skills.
Pros
free coffee once a month
Cons
short lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Roanoke Times. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4

The Roanoke Times Reviews by Location