The Roanoke Times Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Roanoke Times
Mailroom Clerk (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAJune 9, 2016
Starts off slow in morning at 6 AM and really busy from 9:30AM til 6 PM Your on your feet a lot. The workers and managers are nice and flexible with new comers. The environment is nice and welcoming to workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A hard-working medium-sized paper covering SW Virginia
Copy editor/page designer (Current Employee) –  Roanoke, VAJuly 1, 2013
As a copy editor, I mostly work nights. I started here as an intern but was quickly trusted with a lot of responsibility. My team leaders were quick to have me try new things and gather more experience whenever I asked. I went from just editing to posting stories to the website and then designing pages for the paper.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of change to deal with, but overall a fun place to work
Photocompositor/Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAJuly 12, 2014
At the time I worked there, it was an interesting place to be. The workload could be very challenging at times, but my manager gave me what I needed to get the job done.
My co-workers were great people and I miss seeing them on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work for any age
Inserter (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAJuly 8, 2014
Friendly atmospere. Appreciated by management and customers. Steady work flow and they offer benefits. Good job for any age.
Pros
Non Judgemental Management
Cons
I have no complaints
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Inserter Supervisor/ Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAAugust 6, 2012
A Typical day at The Roanoke Times is Multi-Tasking. I learned how to be a better leader, I learned diversty skills.
Pros
free coffee once a month
Cons
short lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traditional newspaper company
Audience Development Intern, Audience Insight (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAFebruary 11, 2014
The traditional newspaper company. The company undergoes many changes as it was sold to another publisher.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good culture
Local Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Roanoke, VAApril 29, 2013
A good company that will explore change and growth. It is a non corporate environment where local decisions are made with respect to the local market.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management teams
Retention coordinator (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAFebruary 3, 2014
Loved working here! Co-workers along with the management teams were wonderful.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
layoffs
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entrt level sales
Account Executive- Advertising Sales (Restaurants) (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VASeptember 15, 2014
I learn how to sell, and become into a persusaive representative.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Roanoke Times. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.1
Culture
3.8

The Roanoke Times Reviews by Location