The Rockefeller University Employee Reviews

Showing all 48 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to do research.
Research Assistant in Heintz (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 15, 2017
The Rockefeller University is a wonderful place to do research. The working environment is very friendly and professional. I learned some new techniques while I worked there, for example, the NGS.
Pros
Smart PI and Co workers, Advanced equipments and best lab supplies.
Cons
Commuter takes to long to get there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An intellectually stimulating place to work
Assistant Director (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 10, 2017
Premiere academic research setting with award winning scientists. The faculty are leaders in their field and intellectually stimulating to interact with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a very nice place to work
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  1230 York ave Manhattanin New YorkMarch 29, 2017
I realy like work for Rockefeller University I've been there for 25 years and unfortunately the lamp that I was working for at no more funds so therefore I am unemployed
Pros
Healthcare and vacation
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cutting edge research
Grants & Finance Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 9, 2017
The Rockefeller University is a wonderful and exiting place to work. The university sits on a beautiful campus on the east side of New York City, and it is home to some of the best biomedical researchers worldwide.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and room for advancements
Animal Care Technician (Former Employee) –  1230 york ave new york nyFebruary 11, 2017
Professional environment. Training programs available. Experience working at R.U. was life changing. Very positive. Earning certificates while working.
Pros
Has a great health benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unnecessary testing, animals made to suffer terribly!!!
Animal lover. (Former Employee) –  NonJanuary 18, 2017
It's is proven that there are alternate and even more highly effective ways to test. They are more cost effective and prevent innocent animals from being torchered and forced to endure unnecessary daily suffering.
Pros
Non
Cons
Contribute to the unnecessary pain & suffering to innocent animals.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great scientific community
Postdoctoral Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 18, 2017
It's a wonderful place to conduct academic research. Many world renown scientists are present on campus, top scientist regularly visit the campus to give seminars, better-than-average compensation for postdocs compared to other academic institutions.
Pros
Excellent Science, good benefits
Cons
Lower salary compared to industry (but it's not just at Rockefeller)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working at Rockefeller
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 17, 2017
Rockefeller is a great employer, and a great center for learning. The benefits are wonderful, and the people are very friendly and helpful. This is the one of the best places for work and research in NY.
Pros
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 15, 2016
COuld go to long hours often
Managing multiple projects at a time
I got lucky with a very cooperative and kind research group
Social aspect lacking slightly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYNovember 6, 2016
My time spent at Rockefeller University was an eye-opening experience into research. It helped me to learn about book binding and journals. I got along well with my colleagues and supervisors. The atmosphere was relaxed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice working environment with great benefit
Bioinformatic Specialist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 8, 2016
Beautiful Campus, friendly employees, very efficient compare to other larger institution or university.
Great health benefit and day care inside of the campus
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment,good management & friendly co workers.
Receptionist/ Data Entry Support (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 30, 2015
Friendly work place which dealt with accurate submissions of data entry.Part of a huge campus with constant interactions with all departments, staff,management.My co workers & supervisor taught me many aspects of this industry. Dealt with deadlines,many duties to perform on a daily basis.
Pros
Friendly atmosphere, good compensation.
Cons
Far from train
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing culture you will always love!
Facility Operations Supervisor CBC (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 13, 2015
There is an amazing community behind those gates from 68th to 63rd street!

I had the pleasure of working with some of the greatest minds from all departments.

It truly was an amazing experience that I hope other can experience and share.
Pros
Can't wait to see the new expansion to the campus!
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful Campus with Great People!
Medical Staff Services Coordinator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 13, 2015
The beautiful private campus makes you forget you're in the middle of Manhattan.
I am also surrounded by some of the most brilliant minds in science today.
My boss is the most hard working person I have ever met and is absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Handyman/ Acting -SUPERINTENDENT (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 15, 2015
As a Handyman / Acting Superintendent , my typical day transitioned
from addressing daily building requests to being responsible for
the day to day requirements of a Superintendent .
I would address all concerns of Residents and Management and employees daily .
My daily walk through the building gave me an insight of what had to be addressed .
This experience provided me with the skills to move forward to a full time Resident Building Manager Position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work
Clinical Research Nurse (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 17, 2015
A very unique academic setting with very smart people. Rockefeller has a gorgeous campus - like an oasis on the east river.
Pros
Mellow atmosphere. good benefits. interesting work
Cons
A long way from public transportation. Salaries lower than industry standard
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to be
Environmental Services (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 23, 2015
There's a professional expectation on campus that is very admirable. No day is every the same especially for the service departments.
Pros
Spacious campus.
Cons
The commute from Queens.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid Back
Maintenance/Porter (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 17, 2015
Worked independently, easy going staff. The work environment was very pleasant. The hardest part of the job was the introduction of new students. Task where straight forward, not challenging.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Een inspirerende werkomgeving
Member of the adjunct faculty (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 15, 2015
Dit is een wereldleidend instituut op het gebied van biomedische wetenschap. De organisatie is erg goed voor zijn werknemers en zorgt dat je alles hebt wat je nodig hebt om topwetenschap te bedrijven.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Veterinary Technician (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 19, 2014
its a decent place to work, flexiable hours and good benefits
Pros
people are great
Cons
favortism
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Rockefeller University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 48 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
4.2
Management
4.4
Culture
4.5

CEO Approval

90%
10 ratings
Add your rating

The Rockefeller University Reviews by Location