Find companies:
The Salvation Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,032 reviews

The Salvation Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Way to much church for work Envolvement
RETAIL SALES and TRAINER (Former Employee), Austin, TXAugust 29, 2014
To much religion for the work Environment. I understand they are a church with in them self but very pushy with it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Clerk/Community Service (Former Employee), Anderson, CAAugust 29, 2014
Pros: helping people
Cons: no real room for growth
Keep you busy and lots of inventory to sort through. People usually nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with amazing people
Volunteer (Former Employee), Rochester, NYAugust 28, 2014
Pros: working with positve, entusiastic people
Cons: na
I loved working with such an amazing group of employers. I learned how to be a team leader and apart of the team and when you work in a team you get more work done. My co workers were great to work with most of the time it felt more like working with family. The hardest part of my job was leaving because I enjoyed my job very much and was delighted – more... on helping others with any assistance needed. The most enjoyable part of my job was going to work I didn't do it because I had to or it was an obligation I really did enjoy going to work, of being part of such a great team and making a difference with giving people awesome customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job is very fufilling for those who are interested in interactacting and working with youths and children
Program Aide (Former Employee), PhiladelphiaAugust 28, 2014
A regular work day includes making sure that the children are actively engaged in the planned activities throughout the day and frequently getting involved in the activities yourself. The most enjoyable part of the job in my opinion was getting to interact with the children on a daily basis. I felt so much joy in teaching these kids life skills and – more... teaching them conflict resolution techniques. But more that than i just enjoyed getting to feel like a kid again and engaging them in activities daily. The hardest part of the job is also what makes it so enjoyable; The Children. The children can be unruly and taxing on the nerves sometimes, but, keep in mind, That is normally for children in the age range and grade group that I worked with (K-5). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always something new to do
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Bakersfield, CAAugust 28, 2014
Working the register, putting out clothes. taking old ones to the back. Putting out bric-a-brac, taking old ones to the back, cleaning the store, keeping behind the register clean and organized.
It was my first job so I learned everything from there. I learned how to treat customers, register, routine maintenance.
I believe we could go a lot further – more... if we had the right amount of staff but we do well with what we have.
I really enjoy my co-workers.
The hardest part is getting all the items out. The most enjoyable part is just working with the people I do and some of the customers are just very fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No communication or support from Area Commander
Employee (Current Employee), Gulfport, msAugust 28, 2014
Pros: great staff
Cons: long hours, leadership is not educated and does not understand business or the community and is lazy
No training for position. Management does not know what is involved in raising funds! Not consistent. No leadership and throws blame on everyone else! Leads by fear of losing your job! The employees work hard and TSA helps so many people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
janitor/driver (Former Employee), Longview, WAAugust 26, 2014
I enjoyed working there it was a small family fun environment .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun team to work with and good deeds for needy people
Cashier/Customer Service and Clerk (Former Employee), Rochester Hills, MIAugust 26, 2014
Pros: great employees, good cause
Cons: no benefits, horrible managers
I had a set schedule from 10am-5:30pm. The job was fairly easy, working with customers is always a fun job. I learned how to set up delivery and pick up dates for donations. Learned how to use a cashier register that is more advanced. Co-workers were amazing, the people working there were one of the coolest people I've met. The mangers were a different – more... story, many of them were rude and thought they were better than you. Some of them would yell at the employees in front of the customers. The hardest part of the job was dealing with Managers telling you to do one thing and when you do it, they get mad. It was difficult. Overall I enjoyed working with the employees there and the fact I was helping people in need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was constant move
Volunteer Work (Former Employee), Bremerton, WAAugust 22, 2014
Pros: free food, new people, new food constantly busy
Cons: some stinky people some rude people constantly hot
I didn't like the heat but enjoyed being constantly busy, meeting new people cooking new foods, having a meaning , never the same thing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educational
Adolescence Developmental Counselor (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYAugust 21, 2014
•Followed up with program participants after program completion to track progress.
•Managed and restrained violent, potentially violent and suicidal clients.
•Monitored a unit of 20 Residents.
•Monitored residents where about , document all activities.
•Conduct unit runs hourly, Goal entry, writing reports, Answering phones.
•Provided Security of the – more... children that residence at the facility.
•Duties include but not limited to assisting residents to get up in the morning, eat breakfast and perform personal hygiene, clothing & home mangerment skills.
•Escort residents to medical appt. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place helping people
Helper (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAAugust 21, 2014
Pros: good staff
i helped people get food and did inventory and all around had a great time with staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great oportunity
PT After School Academic Advisor (Former Employee), atlanta GaAugust 21, 2014
Pros: they are a christian organization
It was a great place to work, and it was an honor to be a pert of that great organization while I was there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JOB WAS HARD BUT FAIR
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 21, 2014
8 HOURS I LEARN EVERY THING I COULD MANAGEMENT AND CO-WORKER OK LOAD AND UNLOAD TRUCKS KNOWING I COMPLETED THE JOB THAT DAY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
asst pool manager (Current Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 20, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: pay is low
its a beautiful place to work at i learn so much from this company the management team is wonderful my co workers are a blessings. the hard part about my job is chemical burns and the most enjoyable part of my job is getting to meet and see new faces everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very productive place to work
Production Associate (Former Employee), Litchfield, ILAugust 20, 2014
I enjoyed my co workers. It was usually always busy. Management was very confusing and never happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awefull place to work
Cook Monitor (Former Employee), Waco, TXAugust 19, 2014
Cons: everything
Worst experience of my life. That is, to include the near death experience I experienced in 2012.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company does the most good for people in need
Telemarketer - Outbound Call Center (Former Employee), Orlando FloridaAugust 18, 2014
Call center cold calling, good hours, great program.
Convenient location and good working enviroment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back and nice place
Volunteer (Former Employee), Opelika, ALAugust 17, 2014
Salvation Army is a laid back place to work. You take donations and sort them.You sort clothes, fold them or place them on hangers. Organize and re-merchandise various items throughout the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a volunteer opportunity during the holidays
Volunteer (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MIAugust 15, 2014
It was very fun and rewarding to collect money for the less fortunate, no compensation was held, just satisfaction of helping others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fulfilling enviorment
Social Services (Former Employee), Hayward, Tri-Cities, Oakland, CAAugust 15, 2014
Pros: many programs
Cons: not enough funds to support activities
Fell as if you were making a difference in peoples lives. Great place to work and hang out.

1 2 3 4 5

About The Salvation Army

The Salvation Army is a Christian church known for its thrift stores and charity work. It is an international movement that works – Read more

The Salvation Army Photos