The Salvation Army Employee Reviews in United States

Found 2,792 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and energetic team and environment
Site Director (Former Employee) –  Midland, MIMay 23, 2016
Working at Share was a great chance to get my feet wet in the work world. The position gave me a chance to experience a job and working with co workers but also progress to leadership and get experience leading a staff team and being in charge of a site of kids. The best part of this job was the relationships that developed with my coworkers but more importantly with the kids and the chance to be a part of strengthening their relationships with the Lord is irreplaceable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was very professional
Call Center Agent (Former Employee) –  Chicago, IL 60636May 22, 2016
A typical day would be everyone doing there job and very hard worker and I love the fact everyone gets alone and I learn that patients and great listening ears work.
Pros
lunch breaks were fun
Cons
Too Much stress
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational and supportive work environment
Warehouse Janitor (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CAMay 20, 2016
The Salvation Army is about second chances and opportunities. The dedication and support I have received as a beneficiary has been wonderful. The staff has allowed me to get my life back on track by providing me with a daily routine that includes work assignments, classes, counseling, fellowship, and most importantly chapel. It has helped me become more responsible for my actions, held me accountable for mistakes, and promoted team work. Everyday is challenging and a learning opportunity,
Pros
meals provided, several different work assignments, supportive staff.
Cons
Short term job opportunities, no wages
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place for volunteer work.
Can-Food Drive Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAMay 20, 2016
A very fun day, not hard work, and workers are very friendly and helpful. Easy work to do, gave me experince on working with kids and learning about them.
Pros
Free lunch, Have fun
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse workplace
Assist customers (Current Employee) –  Redondo Beach, CAMay 20, 2016
Sometimes understaffed. Work can be very stressful due to lack of manpower. Too much responsibilities on one employee.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with
Assistant Program Director (Current Employee) –  Tustin, CAMay 19, 2016
The preschool at TSA is excellent, with a fun, encouraging group of teachers to work with. Management is approachable, and will always support the teachers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People Person
Monitor (Current Employee) –  Daytona Beach, FLMay 18, 2016
All ways have been that person who wanted to help and make a change. I have high hopes and dreams that I I'm accomplishing everyday with, the help of the Salvation Army also Clients.
Pros
Availble hours. Free launch, cousiling, dancing, games, ect.
Cons
Overnight.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCMay 18, 2016
learn how to prepared a big amount of meals
to serve to more than 150 people daily
great teamwork
co-workers are always supportive and positive
great place to obtain some experience and help others
Pros
flexible hours and schedule
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good feeling in helping others.
Kettle Collector (Former Employee) –  Johnstown, PAMay 18, 2016
Serve food, clean, separate clothes, help clients recover from disasters, and kettle ringer.

But long hours at times...
Pros
Free lunch and transportation
Cons
Staying awake
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accountant
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Waukegan, ILMay 17, 2016
Working at The Salvation Army was very humbling. The center is set up to house 100 me going through rehabilitation for drugs and other addictions.
Pros
Enjoyed the work
Cons
Employees
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Want to know more about The Salvation Army?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cook Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMay 17, 2016
Typical day at work was in to come in and start preparing meals for the clients, I enjoyed planning the meals and cooking. I enjoyed some of my coworkers and the atmosphere was friendly. The hardest part of my job was leaving, but the most enjoyable part was working with clients who was/is less fortunate, helping them get their life back on track.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  East Orange, NJMay 17, 2016
I didnt stay at this place very long. I only did a lot of typing and data entry work. I also created flyers and sent letters to different counties and boroughs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its like i was getting pay for fun
Salvation Army worker (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMay 16, 2016
worked around children. i taught children how to draw and make comicbooks we went to the library and on trips we played all types of games and had a great time.
Pros
fun job
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job is very close knitted to the communtity when it comes to the children
Afterschool Aide (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIMay 16, 2016
Salvation Army has the best staff and the best management it is very active in the community. it is a very great safe haven for children afterschool program.
Pros
few breaks
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work, but alot of it.
PROCESSOR (Current Employee) –  5700 State St, Saginaw, MI 48603May 15, 2016
I like it its easy and simple, managers know what they are doing and keep us in check, and its for a good cause so that motivates me more to work hard.
Pros
Holiday pay, sick pay, breaks
Cons
Not much of anything.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People Doing Good Things
Facilities Assistant (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAMay 14, 2016
As a part of the Facilities Department I am fortunate enough to visit not only everyone within my office, but those in our other locations as well. All of the people I meet and work with are positive and hard working. Having that environment makes it all the easier to go about my day as efficiently as possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Labor Intensive and busy
Processor (Current Employee) –  Romeo, MIMay 12, 2016
Very labor intensive and dirty work. A typical day includes processing 200+ items, cleaning, pricing, and organizing them within the store. You also maintain your area (example, I maintained the Shoes and Accessories) and present your merchandise in a pleasant and easily accessible manner.

Occasionally you interact with customers to answer questions and do price checks.

The management is overall civil to nice. The co-workers are mostly friendly and helpful.
Pros
25% employee discount
Cons
short lunch (30m), dirty environment, hard labor
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
scam and money hungry
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Southfield, MIMay 10, 2016
The prices are to high.
I learn that they do not value their employees.
It is a high turn around rate in management.
The hardest part about the job is pretending that it is okay.
I enjoyed talking with the customer getting to know them by name and keeping hem smiling.
Pros
lunch
Cons
working pass your break
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment and makes you feel satstified at the end of the day
Leadership Team Member (Former Employee) –  Murrieta, CAMay 10, 2016
The organisation reports a worldwide membership of over 1.5 million people. Mostly recognized during the Christmas season with its volunteers and employees who stand outside of businesses and play/sing Christmas carols, or ring bells to inspire passers-by to place donations of cash and checks inside red kettles.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
cashier (Current Employee) –  Whitehall Township, PAMay 9, 2016
its ok not to bad could managed better but who am I to say the place it always a mess its crazy stressfull an exhausting to work here
Was this review helpful?YesNo2

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,611 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture