Find companies:
The Salvation Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,154 reviews

The Salvation Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional environment and good place to work.
Electronic Monitoring Coordinator (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHOctober 9, 2014
1. Working with the community in a pro-social environment.
2. Sometimes everyone needs help.
3. Up and down.
4. Worked together great as a team.
5. Sending someone back to prison.
6. Assisting the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and caring workplace
Kitchen Volunteer (Former Employee), Lexington, North CarolinaOctober 9, 2014
Pros: free lunch, seeing people thankful, meeting new people, being able to be a blessing to someone
Cons: sometimes not all co-workers/management get along
A typical day would be serving any where from 70 to 100+ less fortunate people plates of food. I learned a lot about people volunteering here for a year and saw all sorts of different personalities. Management wasn't the greatest, often times she (don't want to say the name) expected people to do far more than was reasonable while she did far less. – more... Co-workers were the best, working with people who you can talk and laugh with while remaining on top of your job is really priceless. Hardest part of the job would be seeing the faces of homeless children, knowing you'll be going home to a house and a bed while they sleep somewhere outside. Most enjoyable part would be the look on their faces when we give them food and bring in clothes from our own house so they can have more things to wear. No amount of money on this earth is worth that much. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Erie, PAOctober 9, 2014
good people to work with, good hours, sorted clothes, priced clothing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Faith based organization, helping people is first and foremost
Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Spokane, WAOctober 8, 2014
Loved working there, though all campuses and cities differ I would imagine. Helping people is the complete mission of the organization, help first then ask questions if possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work.
Staff (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIOctober 6, 2014
The people were great. My co-workers were friendly. I felt good about the work I did there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Substance alcohol abuse counsel
Counselor/Case Manager (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHOctober 6, 2014
Pros: the ability to know you are helping families
Cons: not enough time to meet with clients
A typical day would consist of meeting with various clients for hourly counseling sessions, we would discuss issues that lead them to substance or alcohol abuse, basic needs, relapse prevention, family interactions, and spiritual goals. Also conducted group sessions, focus groups, drug testing, and room searches for contraband.
I gained excellent time – more... management skills, and how to meet a client at their level. My co-workers would commend me on my professionalism and dedication to meet all goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding work
Officer (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 6, 2014
Pros: housing and furnishings were included, as well as a vehicle
Cons: being a wife and a woman, the practice of the salvation army back then was not to pay any social security in the woman's name.
Pros: Housing and furnishings were included, as well as a vehicle
Cons: Being a wife and a woman, the practice of the Salvation Army back then was not to pay any Social Security in the woman's name.
Spending the day at the office, answering phones, planning for the weekly children's and woman's programs. I also prepared for the weekly Sunday School – more... lesson, or an occasional sermon. I would help organize volunteers for the soup kitchen. My co worker included my husband and any volunteers who were available at the time

The most enjoyable part about the job was guiding men, women and children towards a relationship with God. I particularly loved cooking for the soup kitchen and then going out and sitting down with the people and chatting with them, sharing their joys and sorrows. I also loved doing the women's program. I got to use my creative talent by showing the women how to do crafts or to cook simple snacks

The challenge and hardest part of the job was only being assigned at a Salvation Army Church for 3 years or so and then being reassigned to a different one, the usual practice – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed co workers
Corps Accountant (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 6, 2014
Pros: i enjoyed doing accounting
Cons: my supervisor was judgemental and didn't give me a chance
Was only there a week, had an allergic reaction to mold which gave me a cough. The supervisor was a hypochondriac with a germ phobia that told Kforce employment agency they didn't want me back after working 8 days, even though I brought a Dr.'s note stating I was not contagious.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall summary
Bell Ringer (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLOctober 5, 2014
Pros: everything
A typical day at work was me ringing a bell while wishing people a happy holidays asking them to please donate money to help the needy people.
I learned a tremendous amount of things I learned that giving back to the community is a great way to help others.
I didnt have co workers I was alone while ringing the bell infront of windixie.
The hardest part – more... of the job, there was no hard part I loved every part of it,
The most enjoyable part of the job was everything! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisting Others
Bookkeeper (Former Employee), Nacogdoches, TXOctober 5, 2014
On a typical day at work I would answer phone calls, create and mail checks to pay bills for the office and clients. I would count and deposit large sums of money. I learned how to project and create financial budgets. Management was exceptional. They were very caring for the business as well as the employees. My co-workers were pleasant and we worked – more... great together. I would have liked to have more interaction with the customers, however I enjoyed knowing that I was doing a lot of good behind the scene. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with my other employees
Warehouse Sorter (Former Employee), Casper, WYOctober 2, 2014
Overall The Salvation Army is a great work place however they were not accommodating to my other work schedule and there for I left.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
voulunteer
Volunteer (Current Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 2, 2014
its a place were i i can go and give back to family that need help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Intake Specialist (Former Employee), Waukesha, WIOctober 2, 2014
Pros: management was great and supportive of ideas
Cons: mostly evening work.
Something new each day to learn...Clients were just everyday people with a story to tell
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great working environment.
Store Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee), IllinoisOctober 1, 2014
It is not a great working environment. Management was rude and had many rude customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good christian enviorment with good management.
Sales executive (Former Employee), Morganton, NCOctober 1, 2014
Pros: good atmosphere
Cons: minimal pay, expected to do more than possible
I would start the day at Salvation Army by opening the store and working the register, I would open dressing rooms for customers, clean the store, hang clothes, and also help in the back by taking in donations. I learned that there are a lot more people in the world out there than I realized that Salvation Army has helped not by only providing affordable – more... clothes and furnishings but also help many in need of food donations and help with free electrical support and rent to those in need. My co-workers were very hard workers and worked as a team. The hardest part of the job I would say would be bringing in the enormous loads of supplies some donated. And the most enjoyable part of this job would have to be seeing the happy faces of those donating helping others in need and talking with the many different people who would come into the store that I could help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Floor Clerk (Current Employee), Horn Lake, MSOctober 1, 2014
started out on the grill, and then moved to cash register and to shift manager.
providing customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good choice
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Reno, NVOctober 1, 2014
Pros: health benefits
Cons: no opportunities for any advancement
a terrible place to work.very low pay,abusive supervisors,dangerous working conditions etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay but not worth it
Bell Ringer (Former Employee), Midland, TXOctober 1, 2014
Pros: pay bonuses based on goals
Cons: long hours standing, constant ringing the bell sticks in your head, constantly exposed to the weather
First and foremost, you will NOT be able to sleep, because that bell's ring gets stuck in your head. Next, the pay is only good if your surpass certain goals. Third, while this company does extremely important work, being stuck out on a street corner for 10 hours in the cold, snow, and rain isn't worth the base pay rate. The management of the site i – more... worked at was less organized than Axel Rose's hotel behavior. The people, especially the kids, donating were fun and friendly. I'd only do this job out of dire desperation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BUILDING STRONG RELATIONSHIPS
Store Manager/Work Therapy Supervisor (Current Employee), Kannapolis, NCOctober 1, 2014
Pros: good benefits lots of vacation time earned
Cons: cant find good help
DAYS ARE INTENSE, NEVER THE SAME, I LEARNED CONSISTENCY, MANAGEMENT IS MY LIFE, CO-WORKERS ARE LOYAL DAYS ARE ALWAYS INTERESTING NEVER HARD,THE OVERALL REWARD OF CHANGING A MANS LIFE,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love It
Camp Counselor (Former Employee), Heber-Overgaard, AZSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: loving people
Cons: summer goes to fast
I have no complaints about the ministry at all! I love the Salvation Army.

About The Salvation Army

The Salvation Army is a Christian church known for its thrift stores and charity work. It is an international movement that works – Read more

The Salvation Army Photos