Find companies:
The Salvation Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,159 reviews

The Salvation Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay but not worth it
Bell Ringer (Former Employee), Midland, TXOctober 1, 2014
Pros: pay bonuses based on goals
Cons: long hours standing, constant ringing the bell sticks in your head, constantly exposed to the weather
First and foremost, you will NOT be able to sleep, because that bell's ring gets stuck in your head. Next, the pay is only good if your surpass certain goals. Third, while this company does extremely important work, being stuck out on a street corner for 10 hours in the cold, snow, and rain isn't worth the base pay rate. The management of the site i – more... worked at was less organized than Axel Rose's hotel behavior. The people, especially the kids, donating were fun and friendly. I'd only do this job out of dire desperation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BUILDING STRONG RELATIONSHIPS
Store Manager/Work Therapy Supervisor (Current Employee), Kannapolis, NCOctober 1, 2014
Pros: good benefits lots of vacation time earned
Cons: cant find good help
DAYS ARE INTENSE, NEVER THE SAME, I LEARNED CONSISTENCY, MANAGEMENT IS MY LIFE, CO-WORKERS ARE LOYAL DAYS ARE ALWAYS INTERESTING NEVER HARD,THE OVERALL REWARD OF CHANGING A MANS LIFE,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love It
Camp Counselor (Former Employee), Heber-Overgaard, AZSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: loving people
Cons: summer goes to fast
I have no complaints about the ministry at all! I love the Salvation Army.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
Key holder/ assistant manager (Former Employee), Lebanon, PASeptember 30, 2014
Pros: holding a position of power.
Cons: low health care lack of communication
as soon as i got to work i would see what change the cashiers needed, take a certain amount of money to the bank and get the change needed. when i would come back i would fill out different types of paperwork as well as work on an excel spreadsheet. after than i had normal working duties, i was in charge of the book department but helped wherever was – more... needed. by 4:00 pm i was the only manager on duty. i was in charge of all employee and customer problems. when it was time to close the store i had to close down all of the drawers, take all the money and paperwork back to the office. i would count the money and enter the paperwork making sure everything matched perfectly, then when it did i would take the money to the bank.
the most enjoyable part of my job was being the one in charge of the store holding that position of power. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work area
Call Center Representative (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: free lunch is always a plus, two fifteen minute break paid and also thirty minute lunch
Its a very quiet work space but my manager is a very cool person down to earth i love working with my co workers when we do talk
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and Fast working place
Volunteer (Former Employee), Ashwabenon, Wisconsin, USASeptember 29, 2014
I helped with sorting out toys and presents for children around the holidays. People were so nice there and loved volunteering for the ones who dont anything for christmas. I also loved it as well .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Variety of opportunities
Volunteer (Current Employee), Lynn, MASeptember 29, 2014
There are a lot of activities that are held at the Salvation Army, its always a fresh day and very fun. A lot of different experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer (Current Employee), ConnecticutSeptember 29, 2014
A great place to meet the needs of a struggling society. Volunteer opportunities can be found year round, not just for disasters and Christmas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace and was able to meet new people every day.
Server and Customer Service (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 28, 2014
-One of the most enjoyable part of the job was able to serve and help others.
-Co-workers were understandable with each other and was able to work with each others without no problems .
-Worked in a fast-passed setting attending customers with their needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doing the most good
House Monitor (Current Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: great environment, good people, and spirit filled place.
Cons: part time so no benifits
My jobs at The Salvation Army has been great. It has allowed me to understand addiction and the effects of addiction. Eventhough I have never been an addit my life will forever be changed with the experiences I have learned at The Salvation Army.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding place to work for.
Volunteer (Former Employee), San Bernardino, CASeptember 27, 2014
Pros: serving the homeless, those in need.
Cons: that we have to serve that sector of our society, in such a rich country and just seeing the need in that particular area of southern ca.
I enjoyed volunteering at Salvation army San Bernardino. It was worth the time. Helping people is more my style. It is a very nice place and was fun to help the poor and to feed them something that all humans need everyday with a smile and be able to greet them and say hello how are you. Salvation Army is a very respectable non-profit organization and – more... thats why so many people give to the bell ringers at Christmas time because they really do help people, and when I was in a time of great desperate need and needed food AND shelter, Salvation Army Ontario, CA came through with the food and Salvation Army San Bernardino, CA came through with the shelter. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place with exciting people.
Bell Ringer (Former Employee), Anderson, INSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: work envirionment is great.
Cons: standing on feet many hours.
It was a great job with interesting and exciting new people. I love to work here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eds Customer Service
Customer Service Greeted (Former Employee), Des Moines IowaSeptember 26, 2014
team member performing cashier duties, product assistance and cleaning
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to server your community
Bell Ringer (Former Employee), Modesto, CASeptember 25, 2014
Pros: great customer interaction
Cons: not punctual
The Salvation Army was very considerate of what hours you were available to volunteer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job
Customer Service/Sales Rep. /Stock (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 25, 2014
Pros: first job
Cons: little hours, little pay
Good summer job for my first employment opportunity. Learning experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the company and the people that work here
Lodge Manager (Current Employee), Waukesha, WISeptember 24, 2014
its a nice open place to work at with hours that fits youur needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Salvation Army Miami Area Command Social services Dept.
Case Manager (Former Employee), Miami, FLSeptember 24, 2014
Working with the clients is a plus as they seek assistance and to better themselves and the shelter is pretty good compared to others but beware of Social services management makes your role very difficult. The overall environment is unprofessional and cruel as if you don't follow exactly daily demands you get targeted by management. the work load is – more... heavy as most case managers are fired or quit, Management belittles the staff and providers making it hard to have good communication with them. no promotions, stimulus no room to grow only write ups. its a shame as you come in with a good vibe. I would recommend be careful save all documents and do everything ethically. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very face paced job
CCC Attendant (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 24, 2014
This job requires muscle, you have to load outgoing donation truck and unload the ones coming in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relaxed
Materials Processor (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 23, 2014
Pros: dinner after work
A very demanding boss who made sure that you got the job done at all times. She was very aggressive but was also very nice but the work definetely had to get done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice place
laborer (Former Employee), Trenton, NJSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: met a few people
Cons: the pay wasn't good
Very l ittle pay. People were nice. Not hard work. Worked in warehouse and store

About The Salvation Army

The Salvation Army is a Christian church known for its thrift stores and charity work. It is an international movement that works – Read more

The Salvation Army Photos