Find companies:
The Salvation Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,019 reviews

The Salvation Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
-
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Centerville, OHJuly 30, 2014
I enjoyed dealing with customers and accepting donations from people. There was a higher turnover rate with managers than anywhere I have ever been employed. Considering Salvation Army is a charity organization they did not treat any of their employees very well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a temporary position.
Data Entry Specialist (Former Employee), Peoria, IL. 61603July 30, 2014
Pros: coats, scarfs, gloves available most of the time. agency had other programs.
Cons: can't think of any additional.
Enter data received once application taken for food/toy basket. Provide coats if available/requested. Sent out cards regarding appointment date/time. Once applicant came in verified this was actual person that requested basket; update information in computer that basket was received. Other duties as assigned. What I learned is there are lots of people – more... in need. Hardest part of job was
if the agency ran out of coats they would need to come back when there were more donations. Being able to provide a service that was needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open door to ANYONE regardless of (race, origin, wealth, etc...)
Store Assistant (Former Employee), Jacksonville, NCJuly 30, 2014
Pros: knowing that you can make a difference
Cons: have to close @4:30pm
There is a feeling unlike any other when you can help a person in need, and this is the place to do so. The store front has a variety of items for nearly any budget as well as a friendly and passionate staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Truck Driver, Warehouse manager (Former Employee), Natchez. MSJuly 29, 2014
Pros: my first job
Cons: less hours
I assisted with customers loading and unloading their donations. Baled clothes and ran the cash register
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Marketing Manager (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 29, 2014
I enjoyed every moment that I worked at the Salvation Army. The environment was great, co-workers and company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistent work
Case Manager (Current Employee), Winston-Salem, NCJuly 29, 2014
Pros: promotions, benefits
Cons: weather conditions, late trucks
I was responsible for unloading the packages from the trucks and also direct them to the right belt for delivery.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent low stress organization with a great work atmosphere.
Dock Woker and Forklift Driver (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJuly 28, 2014
Pros: excellent work atmosphere.
Cons: benefits could be better.
A typical day involved the loading and unloading of trucks. I learned the importance of teamwork and good management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun the customers were fun
Floor Clerk (Former Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLJuly 28, 2014
Pros: free lunch in cafeteria
Cons: pay no benefits and work you like a slave
Hard working company that wants to put more responsiblities on you not give you any raise to speak of. only pays 8.00 an hour wont give you full time and wont give you benefits.. sorry but true Then when you speak your mind they fire you. Who vacuums for an hour a day? It was ludacrous.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review summary is in review
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Rapid City, SDJuly 28, 2014
Pros: now and then we would get lunch
Cons: no health care
a typical day at work always started with getting the store ready to open. count our register that we were going to be on to make sure it balanced.greet customers as they come in the door answer the phone use the paging system to direct phone calls. while at register process clothes and hang on the floor. solve customer complaints the best i could. – more... if a customer needed upper management i directed the customer to them – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Downers Grove, ILJuly 25, 2014
Very friendly, perfect place to work if you like helping others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJuly 23, 2014
Pros: to help people
Cons: hard to make a living
To many chiefs, not enough Indians. A lot of stupid rules, because of the employees not knowing how to act.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Donation Trailer Attendant
Donation Trailer Attendant (Former Employee), Perris, CAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: free meals on days off
Cons: part-time
Communicate status at location,accept customer donations. Give curtioues service. Offer receipt. Sort,pack to maximize use of space. Better understanding of management aspects. Communicate with co-workers , share current information as helpful to tranSition shift change. The hardest part of the job, would be when there is nothing to do , or to much – more... to sort and pack as well as I'd prefer. the most enjoyable part , would be the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pricer
customer Service (Current Employee), taylor MichiganJuly 22, 2014
my co-workers and manager love me . I take work as a work . its my 1st pripority .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Receptionist (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 21, 2014
This was the best experience in the world. The staff at the Salvation Army were very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and dynamic place to work
Floor Assistant (Former Employee), Saint Clair Shores, MIJuly 21, 2014
Pros: opportunity to advance
Cons: frequent management turnover
A typical day at work included; checking displays, dressing rooms, and merchandise. I learned the inner workings of production from the donation drop off to the floor, customer negotiations, and sales. Management was helpful and supportive. My co-workers were helpful and informative. The hardest part of the job was categorizing, and stocking the inventory. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job was providing excellent customer satisfaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding
Case Aide (Current Employee), Savannah, GAJuly 19, 2014
Pros: ministry
Cons: i am part-time
A typical day at work , completing intakes, passing out mail, handling complaints, crisis management, referrals, counseling, disciplinarian, corressponding with other agencies, saftey and security, data entry, collecting shelter fees, etc. I have learned to be humble and patient with others. I have great co-workers, we all are very supportive of each – more... other. The hardest part of my job is not being able to help everyone. The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to help and make a difference in someone's life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace and great co-workers
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Liverpool, NYJuly 18, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: short break
I loved working with my co-workers. We all got along very well and we were a great team and got things done very efficiently. I learned not to let myself be overwhelmed by seemingly daunting tasks and I was very happy with the work I did working on the sales floor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was not really impressed with the way they handled situations between emoployees
Store clerk/production (Former Employee), Fresno, CAJuly 17, 2014
Pros: full time
Cons: no stability or moving up
i was responsible for performing my job as well as other jobs when the other employees are not there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place for recovery
Volunteer (Former Employee), Perris caJuly 17, 2014
Pros: 3 meals a day, exercise equipment and bible study daily
Cons: attended classes daily short down time
I learned how to work well with others and become a team player.
How to follow oral and or written instructions. The most enjoyable part about Volunteering was me stepping outside myself my life and being of service for those who are in need. It made me feel good about myself as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding job, knowing that you've assisted in helping others.
Volunteer Worker (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIJuly 17, 2014
Pros: it's personally rewarding to help the less fortunate.
I am not qualified to give a complete review. I did not work as an employee. I merely, volunteered for a couple of weeks.
>I helped out with sorting merchandise, shifting and reorganizing stock, and cleaning.
>It wasn't a very difficult job. It was more like large scale chore work.

About The Salvation Army

The Salvation Army is a Christian church known for its thrift stores and charity work. It is an international movement that works – Read more

The Salvation Army Photos