Find companies:
The Salvation Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,752 reviews

The Salvation Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We had to drive around downtown in Washington, DC and serve the homeless.
Assist staff (Former Employee), Washington, DCMarch 25, 2014
• Assist staff with preparing meals for the homeless
• Serve food
• Distribute blankets, clothing and hygiene products to over 300 hundred people throughout the Washington, DC downtown area.
• Maintain and restock inventory
• Provide Customer Service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service and communication enhancement
Store Clerk (Former Employee), Hesperia, CAMarch 25, 2014
Pros: trips away from bussy envirnment to make company deposits.
Cons: complaints and uncompliance
Obtained a great desire to succeed in complying to company goals the willingness and determination to complete any and all requirements needed to fulfill and accomplish goals as needed each and every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work overall.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Parkersburg, WVMarch 25, 2014
Pros: free lunches, good insurance.
Cons: low pay.
It's a great place to work. Most of the year you are quite busy but there is a period of about 3 months there's almost nothing to do. The coworkers weren't that bad and easy to get along with. Plus you never knew what you would see come through as a donated item.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome and Interesting
Receptionist (Current Employee), Hutchinson, KSMarch 25, 2014
Pros: the office manager feeds us and we get our birthdays off with pay
Cons: funding is low so in turn we cant help as many people as needed in our community
I love my job. I have met so many new people here. I love the people i work with and for. Everyday is an adventure here. You never know who you will meet or how you will touch their lives and make it better with just a smile and a friendly hello. I know i will miss working here. A typical day at work may be 25 phone calls and getting caught up on everything, – more... or All five lines may be lit up and twenty people standing at the desk. but I love it. I learned how to do data entry and Use a spread sheet. My Co workers are awesome we work so well together we truly are a Team here.
The Hardest part of my job would be having to tell someone the are not eligible for assistance when they really do need the help.
The most enjoyable part is all the people i interact with on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the people
Volunteer as Front Desk (Former Employee), Wausau, WIMarch 25, 2014
Working with the staff and clients was fantastic. I love working with people and making them smile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere & helpful place to work
Caseworker (Current Employee), Ottumwa, IAMarch 25, 2014
I have learned so many new skills for working with people. It has given me a chance to meet so many people in the community and work along side of them to help the folks coming in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very appropiate place to work and discover many things about life ,work and family
material handler (Former Employee), Escondido, CAMarch 24, 2014
Pros: nice work environment and godly people
Cons: n/a
Would always volunteer my time, resources and treasure to this outstanding charity
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of people to work with.
assistant manager (Former Employee), dekalb ILMarch 24, 2014
Day to day operations include but not limited to:
- Counting in registers in the morning and out at night
- Picking up bank deposit bag in the morning and drop off at night
- Stocking floor with merchandise and pricing
- Sorting and tagging clothes
- Taking customer complaints and questions
- Making sure production numbers are being met
- Keeping the – more... store neat and clean
- Scheduling for all employees

I really enjoyed working with my staff, they worked hard for me because i worked hard for them. In the last year i spent there the store went threw many store mangers witch thought they could just sit in the office and watched there employees via camera, that really effected the way people worked. What they needed was a working manager, thats why i had such a good rep-or with my staff. I was a hard working manager that knew what it took to have a successful day. I was there to listen to my staff and problem solve on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative about different agencies that help families in need
Administrative Asst (Current Employee), Plainfield, NJMarch 24, 2014
Pros: food pantry
Cons: not paid employee
Help families who need food or assistance with paying rent, security deposits, or utilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with familes and donations to help our local commnutity.
cashier (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAMarch 23, 2014
Greeting familys helping them with food clothing and resouce guides for support or help and homelessness.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Experience
Volunteer (Former Employee), Bronx, NYMarch 22, 2014
-Life changing experience
- worked in the soup kitchens and met amazing people.
- worked with young children in the after school program and helped them with their homework.
- supervised young children while they had free time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
make customer satified
Processor (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INMarch 22, 2014
making customer food to order,keeping a clean and safe work space
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee), Wabash, INMarch 21, 2014
I dealt with customers and helped them meet their needs. I helped price, hang, sort, put out, and display all kinds of various items.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I believe this company is giveing the opportunity to anyone that really needs a job and is looking forward to working with people.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Middletown, OHMarch 20, 2014
Pros: meeting new friends, learning the business of retailing, customers service is rewarding.
Cons: long hours if someone calls off.
A typical day sometimes could be overwhelming because you must meet the needs of the customers and your employers . But over all I enjoyed the staff and the work unfortunately I couldn't stay there long my mother passed away and I was the only one to take care of my father-in -law who was unable to care for his self. Some of my co-workers were just – more... here until finding different positions but they were likeable and easy to get along with. The hardest part of the job you have is to constantly stay busy the Management really likes to see you making progress while you are there. The easiest part is that if you know how to run the cash register it is easy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment with basketball court
Volunteer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 19, 2014
Pros: free use of gym equipment
Mentoring a large group to children in how to have a healthy lifestyle such as fitness and nutritional information. From this experience I've learned that i have a great deal of patience when it comes to dealing with others problems,I'm a great listener. Management was great with communicating between staff as well as parents.Co-workers were great always – more... offering a hand, everyone felt like one huge family. The hardest part of the volunteering was the fact i didn't get a chance to reach everyone some still went back into old habits which are hard to break, back into bad nutrition,which starts at home some parents weren't very supportive. I enjoyed the looks on the children faces which made me feel great by making an impact on the lives of our future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern/receptionist who is seeking perminate employment
Intern/ receptionist (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAMarch 19, 2014
Pros: working in a wonderful, but sometimes challenging environment.
Cons: feeling bad when i can't find the answer.
A typical day at the Tacoma Salvation Army is rewarding because It give me an opportunity to serve the community and give them hope and customer satisfaction. If our organization don't have resources, I try to find them before the customer walk away from the front office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace enviroment
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAMarch 19, 2014
A day at work is filled with smiles while you greet parents and their children. I have learned that you can not rely on anyone else and what work is given that you need to finish. I grew stronger as a person a leader learning how to use proper desk management. Co-workers are amazing to work with but I can say that everybody has there days. Most enjoyable – more... is when everyone has smiles and so positive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still currently employed
Benefits Coordinator/HR Clerk (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDMarch 19, 2014
Love having a job with the army I am still currently employed. Great opportunities to advance your career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Camp Counselor (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 19, 2014
Pros: lively, energetic, and fun atmosphere, full length lunch breaks
Cons: schedule was occasionally thrown off
*A typical day at work consists of the following: I would arrive at work at around 8 am. I would clock in and sit at the front desk to answer phone calls made to the community center. Meanwhile, the children would be in the gymnasium playing various games such as basketball, jump rope, etc. At about 9:00, I would go to the gymnasium to help the other – more... counselors to get the children settled. Once the children are seated, the children would exercise on certain days immediately after, and on other days they would break off into different age groups and classrooms. One age group would go to the gymnasium, another would go to to the arts and crafts class in which I taught, and the other would go to the bible study room. The students would rotate to different classes every 45 minutes before and after lunch. Lunch time was around 12pm. On specific days, the half the age groups went on field trips after lunch, while the other stayed at the center with a couple counselors. Children had snack time in the evening at around 4 pm and played games until there parents picked them up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A rewarding job when we helped people in need.
Cashier (Current Employee), Troy, OHMarch 18, 2014
Pros: people and friendships
Cons: no insurance, always working on saturdays.
I really enjoy working here, the rewards of helping people with utilities, prescriptions, clothing, and sometimes furniture or household goods. The comradity of employees, caring for each other and our customers is incomparable to any other place i have worked.
I learned to listen to peoples' problems and to tell them things will get better if they – more... keep trying and don't give up.
I also learned that it is very hard to tell someone that they didn't qualify for help or it was not time for them to get help. – less

About The Salvation Army

Battling to provide social services, The Salvation Army is more than 4 million strong -- including some 3.4 million registered – Read more

The Salvation Army Photos