Find companies:
The Salvation Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,079 reviews

The Salvation Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where kids came for the summer
Kids counsoller (Former Employee), newark ohioAugust 13, 2014
Pros: free lunches, work with children, administrative experience, fun work enviroment
Cons: low pay. no benefits
Hectic but rewarding work days, such are the days I experienced there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and great place to work at.
Floor Associate (Current Employee), Southfield, MIAugust 12, 2014
Its a great place to work at the people are very nice. The management is very understanding and care about your needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social Agency -- Assisting needy individuals & families
Sr. Case Manager, Job Developer, Resident Advisor (Former Employee), Wilmington, DEAugust 11, 2014
Pros: enjoyment of seeing & helping people change their lives.
Cons: employment was ended due to lack of funds.
Enjoyed helping needy families with any of their crisis intervention needs, such as shelter, food & clothing needs Followed through with assessing longer term needs and goal planning. The hardest part of this job occurred at the end of 2013 when The Salvation Army told me my job was being eliminated due to a lack of funds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace lounge room
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Current Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 11, 2014
Pros: making people happy
Cons: hour for lunch
I have a customer that like to complaint , all you have to say how came I help you or offer him or her a free lunch and they .fine

I learn at end of the day customer always right.
Management is just communication and listen to everybody
The hardest part of the job tying to through the day
That I have accomplished what i need to do for that day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun group of people
Intake Specialist and Receptionist (Current Employee), North Charleston, SCAugust 10, 2014
A fun group of people to work with, always something needing to be done, excellent customer service!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding work place
Arts & Education / Child Care Worker (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 9, 2014
I work with under served youth in the Pittsburgh Atlanta Community. I teach children ages 5-13. Over the last few years we've had some changes in management, but each leader more eager than the last. We have a small staff, but for the most part we share the same vision on one accord. The hardest part of my job is lack of resources. We constantly base – more... our programs off of the supplies donated to us which can sometimes be hard with the constant change in resources. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
salvation army is a great place to call home.
Volunteer (Current Employee), Akron, OHAugust 8, 2014
I love how the salvation army helps out people in need of food and they why we all work with each other it make me think how we are all family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping my community.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Beckley, WVAugust 8, 2014
Pros: great insurance.
Cons: working outside in the cold, snow and ice.
Fast paced work. Dealing with contributers on a daily basis. Must be team players to get work done. Enjoyed my co-workers and clients. Being able to help families in need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meaningful, pleasant and interesting work.
Data-Entry Specialist & Receptionist (Former Employee), Peoria, ILAugust 7, 2014
Pros: working environment
Cons: tedious work for the two months i did data entry
Greeting the public and officers and answered a multi-lined telephone. For two months, I did data entry. I learned about the church - its mission, structure, procedures for receiving aid, and nearby locations. Also, as a data-entry specialist, I learned how to enter confidential information on a spreadsheet. The management was wonderful. Co-workers – more... were patient in teaching me, very upstanding people, and easy to work with. The data entry was the hardest part of the job. The most enjoyable part was greeting others. This was a part-time position which I am also seeking now. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great to be part of a giving organization.
Volunteer Work (Former Employee), Fremont, CAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: helping rescue lives.
Cons: sometimes short staffed.
The assistance we were able to give gave you hope that their are people who care. From the staff to the Administrator.Respect was always a top priority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a place that was very exciting and fun to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brandon, FLAugust 7, 2014
Pros: great management
Cons: na
This place was a stepping stone for me. I met a lot of different people and a great opportunity to have my own business one day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very clean working enviroment with very kind staff
Kitchen Volunteer (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 6, 2014
Pros: flexible hours and kind staff
Cons: short hours
The Salvation Army has given me the opportunity to keep busy and focused on my goals. I enjoy volunteering my time while I seek employment. A typical work day involves daily house chores, helping in the kitchen: plate food and serve. I have learned time management, structure and gratitude. My co-workers have an excellent work ethic, full and purposeful. – more... There is not any part of the job I consider to be "hard" to do. What I most enjoy is the many smiles given through out the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was the volunteer coordinator
Volunteer Coordinator (Former Employee), La Crosse, WIAugust 6, 2014
Pros: great staff, awesome volunteers!
Cons: hard place to work with so many sad stories and so many homeless families!
• Recruitment of volunteers to fulfill the needs of those living in the emergency homeless shelter and local Corp needs.
• Assist staff to locate volunteers with the right skills to help residents find jobs, write resumes, get haircuts, learn interviewing skills, find volunteers to mentor residents, provide counseling, graphic design, etc
• Worked with – more... those in need of court ordered community service and literally hundreds of students from Viterbo, UWL and WTC – worked with Sheryl Jacobson, teacher in the nursing program at Viterbo to make her service learning program highly effective for her students.
• Administrator for two large databases to keep stats on volunteer hours and service.
• Developed and lead summer “Feed the Kids” program, “Back to school” program.
• Developed, during Christmas season, “Angel Tree” program, “Coats for Kids” program, recruited bell ringers for the Red Kettle campaign (nearly 3000 this past season)
• Strong multi-tasking skills.
• Kept databases to evaluate programs for improvement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Environment
Kitchen - Lead Cook (Former Employee), Reno, NVAugust 5, 2014
Forklift Operator when in the ware house, Tedious work, Lead Cook when in the kitchen,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place to Work
Dispatcher (Former Employee), Poughkeepsie, NYAugust 5, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: n/a
The day always starts off GREAT. Everyone talks and says hello. I have learned so much. How to multitask between phone lines. Data entry. Was also able to train others as they joined our team. Major Banardi was a wonderful person to work for. Had exceptional skills at what he does as far as management goes. Every last co-worker was a pleasure to be – more... around. The hardest part was trying to please all the donors. The best part of this job was going to work knowing that I was part of a team that was Outstanding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The organization is dedicated to assisting the homeless population.
Case Manager (Former Employee), Detroit, MIAugust 5, 2014
The job provides a rewarding experience personally and professionally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive,Fun workplace.
Assistant Supervisor (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 4, 2014
Pros: vending machines.
Cons: short breaks.
Helping others,And learning from others, There is no hard part about a job,Just be courteous, And be yourself, Greet with a friendly smile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall wonderful work experience
Warehouse leader/Compactor (Former Employee), Flint, MIAugust 4, 2014
Great people and co workers, i fulled enjoyed this position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Second-hand retail operation with ties to rehabilitation program.
Inbound Operator/Front Desk (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXAugust 4, 2014
Pros: comfortable office setting and bountiful meals.
Cons: short breaks, network issues.
An operator in the Salvation Army dispatch office receives calls all day from private citizens and businesses who have matériel they would like to donate. Operators compile a listing of all the items to be donated, then schedule a date and time which is workable for the donor and the dispatcher. Calls are received 8 hours a day, six days a week. In – more... that position I learned the value of accuracy and the importance of following directions. The managers were helpful and did their best to handle the stress of servicing an entire city with 8 trucks. My coworkers were hardworking and pleasant. The hardest part of the job was communicating clearly to customers the vital importance of an accurate "pick-up" listing. The drivers would not pick up anything not on that list. The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing that all those donated items would then be sold to people who could not afford new items, and the profits would go to men and women in need of rehabilitative support. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was over qualified for this position when I accepted it. I was able to implement some new policies and best practices that needed to be in place.
Social Services Case Manager (Current Employee), Dalton, GAAugust 3, 2014
Pros: awesome, supportive management team and staff members, exceptional organization
Cons: low salary with little or now advancement potential
Overall I love working for The Salvation Army. There simply is no opportunity for upward mobility in the local office. Unfortunately that also means that there is no opportunity for significant salary increase. The job in itself was very enjoyable and was second nature to me. The co-workers are very dedicated and knowledgeable people. I am the only – more... social service worker. The most enjoyable aspect of my job is life coaching. I enjoy teaching and observing how clients adopt new positive ways of overcoming things that were obstacles in the past. The most difficult part of the job is leaving each day. In this field, there is always so much to do. The work is never ending. I honestly love this position but I have outgrown it and must move forward; even if that means using my talents and skill base elsewhere. – less

About The Salvation Army

The Salvation Army is a Christian church known for its thrift stores and charity work. It is an international movement that works – Read more

The Salvation Army Photos