The Salvation Army

3.0K reviews

The Salvation Army Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work very flexible through out the years.
Sales (Current Employee), Canton, OHJuly 21, 2015
Pros: flexibility
Cons: no job advancement
Everyday at work is busy and fast paced. I learned great customer service skills through the years. Management is very understanding and helpful with the job. I enjoy my co workers, team work gets the job done everyday. I enjoy helping people in need and being able to provide service for the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work very good opportunity
Accounting Clerk (Current Employee), Long Beach, CAJuly 21, 2015
Pros: Good benefits, very stable company
Cons: Short lunches, expensive medical for family members
The Salvation Army does many positive things. They help thousands of people on a daily basis. The Salvation Army has locations all over the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Orlando, FLJuly 21, 2015
Great place to volunteer and work.. My job involves talking to people wishing to donate items of use to others, that they no longer need or just wish to donate for the benefit of others. My duties also include data entry into the truck routing system in the computer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very sustainable as a career choice
Store Manager (Former Employee), Wenatchee, WAJuly 21, 2015
Pros: Can feel good about making a difference.
Cons: Never going to make enough to live well.
It can be a great place to work if you are really committed to the work they do. They do not appear in my experience to be as committed to that work as they picture themselves to be as a whole entity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Bell Ringer (Former Employee), Lima,OHJuly 21, 2015
The salvation army was a very nice place to work. It gave me time to do other things besides work. It was convenient and helpful to earn a little bit of money when I needed it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
voluntary work
Receiving Clerk (Former Employee), Chico, CAJuly 21, 2015
it was an alright job sorting cloths and rearranging them stocking cleaning helping customers with finding what they are looking for and helping them take their items to their car.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast-paced work environment with fewer opportunities for advancement in my field of work
BUDGET ANALYST / COORDINATOR (Current Employee), 120 West 14th Street, NY, NY 10010July 20, 2015
Pros: Well-known organization to work for with good health benefits
Cons: Low Pay and advancement limited
On any given day at work, I may be involved in Budgets Preparation and variances interpretation, Monthly Billings, G/L and AR Analyses, programs' reviews and assessments, Drafting contracts, Expression of Interest (EOI) and Request for Proposals (RFPs) related to Social Services programs. I may need to meet with either the Contracts Manager, Controller or Director of Financial Operations to strategize and revise methodologies. I am one of the senior accountants on a Finance Team of Accounting Clerks, Bookkeepers, Staff Accountants and Contracts Specialists. The hardest part of the job is that there is no off peak time of the year. The most enjoyable part of the job is the daily challenges for which innovative solutions must be found. Just like in a firefighter's world, there are always fires to be extinguished.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must love helping others.
Case Aide (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 20, 2015
Pros: The memories you bulid with the clients
Cons: Pay is horrible
A typical day is helping grown men cope with horrible life decisions. I learned that being in a position to help others is the best job satisfaction in the world. Management could be a lot better. If you don't like serving the community this isn't for you. The hardest part of the job is working with people who don't share the necessary passion for the job. The best part of the job is seeing someone rebuild their life and not giving up on there dreams.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
caretaker (Current Employee), waterloo iowaJuly 20, 2015
Pros: being able to learn and teach at the same time
Cons: only last for two hours
Aways fun working with kids with lots of joy and always made you laugh from when the program start to when it ends. I got to work with kids where growing up they didnt get to have everything they ask for but error to learn more about this world they live in and what they can do to make it better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
one person department (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 20, 2015
Pros: Lunch
Cons: n/a
Fast work environment. While at TSA I learned how to manage multiple projects; with like deadlines.The staff works well together. The organization is ever changing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved doing this job.
HOME HEALTH CARE WORKER (Former Employee), Milton DEJuly 20, 2015
Pros: good work environment
Cons: none
This was a job well worth it, and i love working in this environment my patients were very loving and kind.. But overall this is a place to work and well worth it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place and People
Computer Support Analyst (Current Employee), Norcross, GAJuly 19, 2015
Great Place and People, very nice !!!
Great Place and People, very nice !!!
Great Place and People, very nice !!!
Great Place and People, very nice !!!
Great Place and People, very nice !!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun raising money for a great cause
Bellringer (Former Employee), Boone, NCJuly 18, 2015
Pros: Meeting people, morning meetings with coffee and snacks and inspirational message
Cons: Standing for long hours
This is only a 5-6 week per year assignment, but it's fun meeting and greeting customers and being outside. Although weather may be cold and you stand for long hours, if you dress appropriately and have good shoes, the time goes by quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Place to Work
PC Support, Job Counselor (Former Employee), Kemah, TexasJuly 18, 2015
Cons: Working with alcoholics and mental health patients
Working with emotional, recovering alcoholics provided a challenging environment but very rewarding.
Community very supportive of the free training and pc repair
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This giving community helps enrich lives of under-resourced families by giving aid where possible.
Volunteer (Former Employee), Evanston, ILJuly 17, 2015
Pros: Hands-on company with solid religious background, aiding families in need.
Cons: There are so many families and oftentimes few resources to help the needy.
In the short time that I was volunteering for the Salvation Army, I saw several lives impacted in a very positive way. People were helping people, not through hand-outs but through providing assistance to struggling families, working their way through tough situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Warehouse Shipping/Planning Coordinator (Former Employee), Anaheim, CAJuly 16, 2015
Great Place to start a foundation and get your life back on track for new begingings and for someone who had a bump in the raod gets you back on track and focused
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Bell ringer (Former Employee), Glen Burnie, MDJuly 16, 2015
cold days at work but it was worth it so that i could help the less fortunate receive blessings for the holiday season and throughout the year
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place to work, Helps the community and is a christian based organization
Floor Supervisor (Current Employee), Northport, ALJuly 16, 2015
Pros: Flexible schedules, off holidays, good vacation time
Cons: Work every Sat., Hot and dirty, pay rate
Busy place with no down time, learned how to communicate with public better here, great group of people to work with, the hardest part of the job is finding time to do it all and the most enjoyable part is actually doing it all everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Feel good job
Employee (Former Employee), Denver, COJuly 16, 2015
Pros: Work life balance
Cons: pay
Great job to get in touch with what matters.
Great non profit to work for
Pay is typical for a non profit
Great people
Very rewarding work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced and requires alot of physical effort
Warehouse (Former Employee), Hempstead, NYJuly 14, 2015
On a daily basis I would be loading and unloading trucks,working a forklift, making pallets and constantly moving things
Claim this company page
Headquarters
Alexandria Virginia, United States
Employees
10,000+
Industry
    Links
    The Salvation Army website