Find companies:
The Salvation Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,080 reviews

The Salvation Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get to help people in need
Receptionist (Current Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 1, 2014
Its nice to know you made a difference to someone at the end of the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greeter/Housekeeping
Greeter (Former Employee), Peoria, ILAugust 1, 2014
Pros: services of drop in center, help with what i need
Cons: i have no actual cons to doing what i do at this time
A typical day of work is I sit at the front desk from 8-10am. Greeting people as they come in the door and answering questions or directing them to where they need to go and who they need to speak with. and after that I help keep the drop in center clean and presentable. I enjoy meeting new people and getting to know those who I see regularly. the hardest – more... part is learning how to do the best I can and to be nice with those who aren't so nice to me but I am learning and have gotten better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, family enviroment
Floor Person (Former Employee), Concord, NCAugust 1, 2014
Pros: very understanding management
Cons: lots of donations
I rate this an excellent place to work. Family environment with flexible hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Processor (Current Employee), Waukegan, ILAugust 1, 2014
Pros: free lunch in the center if you are on shift
You go to work and sort clothes or hang clothes in a fast pace warehouse. It has great people to work for and is very respectable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 31, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: negative
It was okay. Most coworkers are real to be around. Just a typical work day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Kitchen Helper (Former Employee), Peoria, ILJuly 31, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: voluntary
Great Staff made this job more meaningful. I gained great experience and meet a lot of great people in bad situations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Food Service Supervisor (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 31, 2014
Pros: a
Cons: b
We strive to "Do The Most Good" everyday!

We have two break sessions during the day that allow employees to take a break from work and to be able to socialize and enjoy complimentary coffee and soda.

Fellow employess are pleseant to work with and everyone has a good attitude.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
-
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Centerville, OHJuly 30, 2014
I enjoyed dealing with customers and accepting donations from people. There was a higher turnover rate with managers than anywhere I have ever been employed. Considering Salvation Army is a charity organization they did not treat any of their employees very well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a temporary position.
Data Entry Specialist (Former Employee), Peoria, IL. 61603July 30, 2014
Pros: coats, scarfs, gloves available most of the time. agency had other programs.
Cons: can't think of any additional.
Enter data received once application taken for food/toy basket. Provide coats if available/requested. Sent out cards regarding appointment date/time. Once applicant came in verified this was actual person that requested basket; update information in computer that basket was received. Other duties as assigned. What I learned is there are lots of people – more... in need. Hardest part of job was
if the agency ran out of coats they would need to come back when there were more donations. Being able to provide a service that was needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open door to ANYONE regardless of (race, origin, wealth, etc...)
Store Assistant (Former Employee), Jacksonville, NCJuly 30, 2014
Pros: knowing that you can make a difference
Cons: have to close @4:30pm
There is a feeling unlike any other when you can help a person in need, and this is the place to do so. The store front has a variety of items for nearly any budget as well as a friendly and passionate staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Truck Driver, Warehouse manager (Former Employee), Natchez. MSJuly 29, 2014
Pros: my first job
Cons: less hours
I assisted with customers loading and unloading their donations. Baled clothes and ran the cash register
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Marketing Manager (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 29, 2014
I enjoyed every moment that I worked at the Salvation Army. The environment was great, co-workers and company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistent work
Case Manager (Current Employee), Winston-Salem, NCJuly 29, 2014
Pros: promotions, benefits
Cons: weather conditions, late trucks
I was responsible for unloading the packages from the trucks and also direct them to the right belt for delivery.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent low stress organization with a great work atmosphere.
Dock Woker and Forklift Driver (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJuly 28, 2014
Pros: excellent work atmosphere.
Cons: benefits could be better.
A typical day involved the loading and unloading of trucks. I learned the importance of teamwork and good management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun the customers were fun
Floor Clerk (Former Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLJuly 28, 2014
Pros: free lunch in cafeteria
Cons: pay no benefits and work you like a slave
Hard working company that wants to put more responsiblities on you not give you any raise to speak of. only pays 8.00 an hour wont give you full time and wont give you benefits.. sorry but true Then when you speak your mind they fire you. Who vacuums for an hour a day? It was ludacrous.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review summary is in review
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Rapid City, SDJuly 28, 2014
Pros: now and then we would get lunch
Cons: no health care
a typical day at work always started with getting the store ready to open. count our register that we were going to be on to make sure it balanced.greet customers as they come in the door answer the phone use the paging system to direct phone calls. while at register process clothes and hang on the floor. solve customer complaints the best i could. – more... if a customer needed upper management i directed the customer to them – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Downers Grove, ILJuly 25, 2014
Very friendly, perfect place to work if you like helping others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJuly 23, 2014
Pros: to help people
Cons: hard to make a living
To many chiefs, not enough Indians. A lot of stupid rules, because of the employees not knowing how to act.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Donation Trailer Attendant
Donation Trailer Attendant (Former Employee), Perris, CAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: free meals on days off
Cons: part-time
Communicate status at location,accept customer donations. Give curtioues service. Offer receipt. Sort,pack to maximize use of space. Better understanding of management aspects. Communicate with co-workers , share current information as helpful to tranSition shift change. The hardest part of the job, would be when there is nothing to do , or to much – more... to sort and pack as well as I'd prefer. the most enjoyable part , would be the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pricer
customer Service (Current Employee), taylor MichiganJuly 22, 2014
my co-workers and manager love me . I take work as a work . its my 1st pripority .

About The Salvation Army

The Salvation Army is a Christian church known for its thrift stores and charity work. It is an international movement that works – Read more

The Salvation Army Photos