Find companies:
The Schwan Food Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
202 reviews

The Schwan Food Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, but you get out what you put in!
Sales Supervisor (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: great customers/friends made.
Cons: very hard on a family.
A typical day as a Route Sales Manager was running your assigned sales route to achieve the maximum sales possible as well as adding as many new customers to your route. As a Trainer you were responsible for running your route as usual, and show a new hire the correct way per company policies and procedures how to manage a route day and use all applicable – more... equipment. As a Sales Supervisor you were responsible for assisting the Sales Manager in setting sales goals for all route drivers, operating within budget for all departments of the depot i.e...Training, food cost, vehicle maintenance and warehouse labor, etc...You were also responsible for riding with Route Sales Managers to evaluate their day as well as help them grow their business. I learned how to multi-task much better during my time with The Schwan Food Company. With route trucks having problems, Route Managers getting sick/hurt on route and the many other potential problems that could rear their ugly head each day along with getting your day to day tacks accomplished you learn very quickly how to juggle many tasks at once. Co-workers came and went through out my time at The Schwan Food Company. The job is very demanding on a person’s life. With 12-14 hour days 5-6 days a week it can be very difficult for people to find a way to balance work and family. So over the years I worked with many talented people that unfortunately came and went because they could not find balance. The hardest part of my job was devoting so much time to work, and sacrificing home for the better good of home. The most enjoyable part of my job was all the amazing people that I got to meet and become part of their lives as well as them becoming a part of mine on a daily basis!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Warehouse Material Handler (Former Employee), owatonna,MnSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: free food
Cons: pay is horrible, very cold work wnvironment
Load trucks for delivery day, fuel trucks for next delivery day

how to load and straighten delivery trucks and running load sheets from the computer for each delivery truck

Management is ok they have issues as far as communication and playing favoritism

Working is the extreme cold of the product freezer

Co-workers were fun to work with we all got – more... along very well

Leaning the warehouse material handling ins and outs – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, 12 16 hours a day to be successful
Local General Manager (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKSeptember 18, 2013
Company requires long hours to generate income and/or manage the business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't think about a career
Territory Sales Leader (Former Employee), Jessup,paSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: good group of team mates
Cons: no effective leadership above district leader
As a Manager it really didn't matter how you felt or believed in your Team, You were expected to ride there backs for as long as you could. If you didn't believe in there way of doing things then you are out the door. It doesn't matter even if you go to the next level of management, all the way to the top, you will not get a complete and honest answer – more... to your question. You better becareful as to who you ask the question too also. The District Managers are the worst bunch of clowns you will ever meet, If you not part of there good old boy system, you haven't got a chance, doesn't matter if you are profitable or making sales plan. If you don't believe me ask other managers who have either left on their own or if they were run out, like I was. My Depot was one of the most profitable in the region, But because the District manager wanted his High School Buddy in my position I was out the door. And if you bring it up to the senior VP or even the President they will never respond, only because they are like a jelly fish, No back bone. The job was very rewarding and I really didn't mind the long hours or being out late with my team members, I felt a sense of accomplishment, until they stuck the knife in my back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty sweet job
Warehouse Team Lead (Former Employee), rocklin, californiaSeptember 13, 2013
this job was relaxed. my crew was great. company just didn't offer enough advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good company pay was not the best
Customer Service Driver (Former Employee), Marshall, MNSeptember 3, 2013
I was a driver loved it started work early and got done early my job was to delivery frozen food products to local grocery stores throughout CT, and parts of New York. I have learned a lot of the retail part of being a vendor my coworkers were great and the hardest part of my job was getting up early and the most enjoyable part was meeting new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours good pay
Route Sales Representative (Current Employee), Hettinger, NDAugust 27, 2013
Pros: pay, ability to manage your own business.
Cons: very long hours, bad equipment.
Very long hours, bad equipment. Able to make good money when the trucks run. You are able to manage your own business here to make yourself profitable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy and fast paced
District Sales Leader (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 19, 2013
busy days and early mornings. safety is a big issue. had a great manager and co-workers. competitive wages
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not family oriented nor do this company care about the well being of their employee's
Supervisor Sales Distribution Support (Former Employee), Pueblo ColoradoAugust 18, 2013
Overall just not a general outstanding company to pursue a career in if your very family oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great college Job
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Marshall, MNAugust 11, 2013
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: sales goals are unrealistic
This position is great for a person trying to work through college. You can gain experience and there is several areas you can move into with in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours
Customer Server Manager (Former Employee), St. Cloud, MNAugust 8, 2013
Pros: everyone works hard.
Cons: long hours
It's a great place to work, but the hours are long. Expect to work 12-14 hour days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Schwan Home Service
Route Sales Representative (Current Employee), Wausau, WIAugust 6, 2013
Pros: employee discount
Cons: time away from family.
In my time with Schwan's Home Service, I was a Route Sales Representative. I would typically work from 9am to 8pm unless required to stay overnight in a hotel provided by the company. High pressure to build new customers on a daily basis and exceed expectations. The hardest part for me was the time spent away from home. Every other week I was required – more... to spend most nights away from my family in a hotel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours little pay and get yanked around alot.
Route Sales (Current Employee), Owanntona, MNJuly 22, 2013
Pros: cant think of any
Cons: over worked, over priced, bad management.
This is not a family friendly job. If you have no life and want to yourself into a job this would be the one for you.The worse customer serve i have ever seen from a company.your truck breaks down, you have to come in on your day off to finish your route without no pay, your HHC breaks down same thing, anything happens where you cant finish your route – more... you come in and finish it without pay. I'm very happy to be gone from under this company.They expect you to use your personal phone for the job without no phone alliance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have developed a family type atmosphere. Employees perform at their peak capabilities
Maintenance manager (Current Employee), Salina, KSJuly 19, 2013
I have been employed by the schwans food company for 27 years and have advanced through the years. I have enjoyed the company enough to encourage my two sons to work there also. In order to be closer to my family, is the only reason I am seeking to look for employment somewhere else. My job duties is to guide my maintenance planning team in a direction – more... dictated by data collected by SAP reports generated monitoring downtime, work loads and plant production schedules. I enjoy my job to a point where as there is no answer for the "hardest part of my day", because I really enjoy working with all of the maintenance and production departments to try and meet everyone's needs. I cannot say enough about not what I would consider my co-workers but more in the order of our family. I have had an opportunity to learn a wide variety of skills, from various maintenance practices ie. lean manufacturing etc. and various management practices, that are aimed at meeting everyone's wants and needs by having employees feel that they are a part of the solution, thus leaving their personal mark with the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours low pay
Route Sales Representative (Current Employee), CAJuly 19, 2013
Unless you get an established route be prepared for 14 hour days making less than $110.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun if you like talking to the public
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Loveland,CoJuly 18, 2013
Really long hours but fun environment meeting new people every day.
Long hours result in less than optimal family time.Paycheck is inconsistent as the salary is commission.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun helping others to succeed
Location General Manager (Former Employee), Conroe, TXJuly 14, 2013
Pros: the bonus program
Cons: one manager that did not care about employees
A typical day was leading a sales and operation teams to success. My co-workers were very enjoyable to work with. Management was great for the most part. The most enjoyable part was helping my employees to be successful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace, but long hours
Driver (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 14, 2013
Made sure that the truck was fully stocked, and clean. To sell frozen groceries on mobile truck
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay if you're willing to put in the hours
Route Manager (Current Employee), Three Rivers, MIJuly 1, 2013
I've met and gotten to know a lot of families over the past 7 years, become part of their lives and a familiar face for the north half of Kalamazoo. But it takes a lot of patience, self-discipline, and tolerance to deal with the struggles of up and down sales, vehicle issues, and the long hours (8:30 am to 10:30 pm).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment, because they don't give you any time to find it.
Customer Service Representative DSD Route (Current Employee), Rosenberg, TXJune 12, 2013
Pros: great product
Cons: no leadership
The atmosphere at Schwans is at best chaotic and at worst a wasted endeavor into a business model that is never stable, or functional. the commission is always changing, the bonuses are rarely followed through with, corporate communication has bee withered down to. "we tell the sales force and they tell the customer" with no true direction for either.

About The Schwan Food Company

We Make Food. It's what we do and we do it well. From home to stores, restaurants and more, our products are everywhere you – Read more

The Schwan Food Company Photos