Find companies:
The Sports Authority
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
710 reviews

The Sports Authority Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leadership
Area Asset Protection Investigator (Former Employee), San Juan , Puerto RicoSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: excellent associates
Cons: poor management
Lack of leadership and direction , focus on shoplifting. Little or no communication from upper managegement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Customer
Senior Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Anchorage AlaskaSeptember 12, 2014
The customers were very enjoyable and I love the fast pace. The company was not competive in wages and training for the market.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place for kids with a school life
Apparel Sales Associate (Current Employee), Gainesville, FLSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: nonflexibility on scheduling
If you are not looking to work many hours a week or if you have a flexible schedule this is an okay place to work for college kids. I have worked here for eight months now and the turn over rate is ridiculous. They are not willing to work around family life or anything other than a printed and verified school schedule. And forget about any religious – more... beliefs you have on going to church because they do not allow for your schedule to be worked around that. One of the managers are sexist and down grades all women. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Norwalk, CTSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: n/a
Great people, great company everything was smooth it was a job that was rewarding and great diverse culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere!
Apparel Associate (Former Employee), Estero, FLSeptember 9, 2014
I enjoyed working for Sports Authority. One of my favorite hobbies is playing sports, what better place to be than an environment surrounding myself with sports supplies!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun to work at
Retail Associate (Former Employee), Ocala, FLSeptember 5, 2014
This job was always busy and if it wasnt there was always somthing to do. The staff was awesome to work with and Ive never worked retail before so learing something new was great. Managment was very easy to talk to and work with. The hardest part would have to be not having a consistent schedule. The most enjoyable would be interacting with all the – more... customers and helping them with what they need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
early morning trucks and purging frieght
Receiving Lead (Former Employee), Palm Beach Gardens, FLSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: working early mornings
Arrive at work around 3-4a.m offload big truck load and put out freight. I would learn new items in the store I didn't know we had and I would learn new techniques on putting freight out faster. Our management gives us a list of everything they wanted done or the previous day. My co-workers was always cheerful and happy even early mornings. The hardest – more... part of working there was probably around the holidays we would get at least 3-4 trucks a week tons of product we have to put out or store in the back room. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Irish Pubs are fun.....
Sr. Merchandiser of Visualizations - Soft Lines (Former Employee), La Mesa, CASeptember 4, 2014
Pros: free lunches, bar
Cons: ovewrworked, underpaid, little room for advancement
Busy days, longer nights.
kitchen staff is diverse and opinionative
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Warehouse lead (Former Employee), La Habra, Ca.September 3, 2014
receiving shipment process stock to sales floor price and label as needed service customers add on sales and close deal with warranty specials
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Under the right leadership TSA can be a great place to work!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Clay, NYSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: dealing with sports, sporting goods, and related products
Cons: bad management, poor leadership
The worl is fairly easy, and can be fun. Management is not the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with great coworkers/managers.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 2, 2014
Greeting customers, helping with their wants and needs. Providing information about our products and services. Perform tasks given. Keep sales floor clean. I learned to be more patient and gain more knowledge about our store. Our managers are amazing, they're very strict about policies but we do well enough to keep everything in a good place. My co-workers – more... and I get along very well, we all give and show each other the same respect. The hardest part about my job is trying to give a difficult customer their every want and need when either we don't have it in stock or they're just trying to give us a hard time. The most enjoyable part about my job is that we all get along and have fun no matter what. We know what we need to do to engage our customers and keep them as happy as possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult
Part time Sales Associate (Former Employee), Gainesville, VAAugust 29, 2014
Employees were great. Hours were long and not all that busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY OVER WHEMING
sales Associate/Cashier/Customer service (Former Employee), Gaithersburg, MDAugust 28, 2014
Cons: not enough pay/hours
CASHIER MOSTLY/ CUSTOMER SERVICE DESK, STOCK, INVENTORY, FITTING ROOMS, PUT BACKS.

BIG MESSY STORE NOT ENOUGH EMPLOYEES.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work place Environment, Fun staff
Senior Sales Associate (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 27, 2014
Pros: co-workers, discount, people
Cons: pay, some customers
What a great company to work for! All the way from your discount to the people you work with you will have a good experience. Learned a lot about building relationships with customers so they can always come back and speak to you, how to use time management skills, how to use organization skills, how to fill out proper paper work. The hardest part of – more... the job was dealing with little kids messing up your area because I was in a mall. The most enjoyable was just being there with employees having a great time working. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
TEAM SPORTS FLOOR LEADER (Former Employee), lenexa ksAugust 27, 2014
Great helpful managers and team members, always willing to help. Very chill work enviornment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an easy place to work.
Fitness department (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 26, 2014
Pros: no pros
Cons: short breaks
I hated it, they expect too much from you and the pay sucks. They also want you to force people to buy their horrible warranties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Cashier-Stocker (Former Employee), Oracle Rd Oro ValleyAugust 23, 2014
I loved staying busy and being able to help people, everyone I worked with was really fun and always happy. Management was there to help you if you needed help or to answer any questions you may have. There really wasn't a hard part of my job because I like staying busy and doing things all the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lead cashier, cash office
CASH OFFICE/LEAD CASHIER (Former Employee), Nottingham, MDAugust 20, 2014
I started working at Sports Authority after the birth of my second child. It was a part-time job that enabled me to provide health benefits for my family while working less hours so I could stay at home more with my children. Against the seemingly popular opinion, working with the public was something that I truly enjoyed. Being a lead cashier I was – more... able to train new employees and work in the cash office balancing tills and the safe. While the pay was not substantial, the schedule was exactly what I needed at the time that my dauther was born. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for a younger college student
Cashier (Current Employee), Omaha, NEAugust 19, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: low pay, few hours, and very high turnover rate
The job is always changing and new things are learned about products and a daily basis. If you don't know or cant find out something quick about a product chances are the sale is not going to happen. Days for me consisted of 6-8 hour shifts depending on school schedules. During my time at Sports Authority I have seen numerous employees come through – more... that has given be both promotions from one position to another, and unfortunately back to that old position many times due to high turnover. I have also seen and entirely new management change during my time at Sports Authority. The hardest part about the job has been changing with the management and the hectic and sometimes chaotic pace with all new employee's, the under trained, and under appreciative new employees sometimes got to be stressful. The most enjoyable part of my job is making friends with all the people that have come through the store as well as helping a customer out and having them tell you what great help I have been and seeing them come back and myself remembering them and asking how the product worked out for them. The shocked look on their face of me remembering them and what they bought is priceless. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
STOCK CLERK/SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Laurel, MDAugust 18, 2014
poor hours, new management, company changes rules constantly

About The Sports Authority

Sports Authority, headquartered in Denver, CO, is the one of the leading full-line sporting goods retailer in the United States, – Read more

The Sports Authority Photos