Find companies:
The TJX Companies, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,609 reviews

The TJX Companies, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front Line Supervisor
Front Line Supervisor (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 28, 2014
-trained and supervised over 40 cashiers on store policies, procedures and P.O.S. equipment.
-responsible for supervising breaks and lunch schedules for cashiers, sales floor personnel and stock room employees.
-supervised the Jewelry Dept., which was a separate entity from the main store.
-reduced wait time on purchases by assisting with any customer – more... related issues.
-assisted the backroom inventory and markdown team by designating pricing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good , company
Lead Sales Coordinator (Former Employee), Brunswick, GAJuly 28, 2014
nice place to work for ,,,,, my first job, staff was nice store was a clean environment and would work again if needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Merchandise Associate (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCJuly 26, 2014
diversity increased through interactions w/ various individuals throughout your work day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool calm collective
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 25, 2014
Cons: hard on feet a lot of organizing
great work place
fun environment
great opportunity
easy going
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TJ Maxx, This is the best store. You can always find the perfect gift!
Cash Office Associate, sales floor (Current Employee), Plymouth, MNJuly 25, 2014
Pros: amazing product. loyal customers.
Cons: low pay, retail mentality, you can always be replaced.
I arrive at work at 7 am. Work in the cash office for 2 to 3 hours. Get on the floor to help our guests. My co-workers are fantastic, there is never a day that goes by that I do not learn something new.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent opportunity, unmatched experience
National Task Force Investigator (Former Employee), Boston, MA and my region of Georgia and FloridaJuly 24, 2014
Pros: the excellent experience and knowledge
Cons: at the time it was the travel needed to accomplish goals
I was so proud of being hired into this investigative team;investigators were great to work with and brought so much input due to each of us bringing our own experiences and backgrounds to the table.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
liberal company with and open door policy
Cashier/ Sales floor (Former Employee), Columbia, SCJuly 23, 2014
Pros: ten percent discount
Cons: boring work
I did many different things at TJ Maxx including cashier, jewelry counter, credit card sales, stocking, and lay away. I learned how to inform people about our credit card and persuade them into signing up. Also how to lay out new products so they would be appealing to the customers eye. Management was very friendly and easy to talk to as well as the – more... co workers. It was like one big family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly all around
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Germantown, WIJuly 22, 2014
being friendly with the customers and coworkers. Always keeping a positive attitude.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a fun and fast pace environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Saint Davids, PAJuly 22, 2014
Pros: working with people
a typical day at work for me was fun
i learned everything about retail and how it was worked
the managers wasn't uptight, they were not only friendly with customers but the was friendly with the sales associates too
my coworkers was great
the hardest part about the job was rush hour, when everyone came to shop on they break and get back to their jobs – more... on time
the enjoyable part of the job was greeting the customers and satisfying the customers by helping them when they need it and putting a smile on their face. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly associates who work very hard
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Beaverton, ORJuly 21, 2014
Pros: 45 min lunches, 15 min breaks. friendly co-workers. flexible hours.
Cons: management is not there for you.
Co-workers are great.
Wide variety of customers, from high end to straight off the MAX, and from angry to extremely nice.
Not much room to be noticed for advancement. Very biased and management plays favorites sometimes.
Hours are very flexible though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun get to see what coming in everyday off truck
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Aiken, SCJuly 21, 2014
Pros: getting to see what the truck brings in on truck days.
Cons: not enough hours if you are not fulltime
A typical day at work can vary. Because if you work at every angle in the store it can be fun.You don't do the samething everyday. you will work the truck,fitting room backroom.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
back room helper and cashier (Current Employee), Placerville, CAJuly 21, 2014
4 stars, fun place to work, management works with there employs, job is really easy, working with others as a teem
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Providing excellent customer service, handling money, inventory
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Duluth, GAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: paid weekly, hours are flexible
Cons: rude customers
Typical day consists of working the sales floor, putting out merchandise,inventory, minor maintenance and cleaning, working a register, handling money, providing excellent customer service. Most of my co workers are easy to get along with, and I do enjoy getting paid every week. Hardest part of the job is dealing with rude customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stock/customer service
Customer Service, Stock (Former Employee), Saginaw, MIJuly 21, 2014
Atmosphere was different than use to. Learned quite a bit about retail. Hardest part was dealing with the slow days, most enjoyable part was when we were busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working place of business
Cashier/floater (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCJuly 21, 2014
Pros: weekly compensation
Cons: n/a
I really like working in the TJX company, lots of friendly people, and work to be completed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great retail company
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Franklin, MAJuly 19, 2014
Pros: flexibility
very large company, great management, very flexible and understanding
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
Cashier/Jewelry Associate (Current Employee), Boston, MAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: short breaks, cut hours unexpectedly
a typical day at work consists of greeting customers and helping them with questions they may have. I
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun!
Merchandise Associate (Current Employee), Uniontown PAJuly 16, 2014
A typical day at Tj Maxx would start with returning items back to your department from the register lines. Then it continues with cleaning and organizing your department back in tip-top shape. Occasionally you will get called up to the register lines to check out customers. Depending on how many workers we have, you may get called by the jewerly, cashier, – more... or fitting room attendent to cover their breaks, since that area cant be unattended. The managers usually do the office work, such as paperwork, early in the morning or late in the evening, so they can help us during rush hour. My co workers are nice, and sometimes dependable. The hardest part of the job would be around Christmas and Black Friday time. We usually get so many items that we have to backstock and ever few hours were constantly pushing items onto the sales floor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
merchandise associate (Current Employee), Petaluma CAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: 10 percent off assoicate when buying merchandising
learned how to ring people up.. Working alone, communicating with people and helping people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High-paced, demanding retail environment
Customer Experience Coordinator (Former Employee), Newark, CAJuly 15, 2014
Required leadership skills and broad scoped coordination skills. Relatively low-payoff in terms of compensation vs. increased responsibilities when promoted from sales associate.

1 2 3 4 5

About The TJX Companies, Inc.

Rifling through the racks is an art at TJX stores. The TJX Companies operates¬†about a half a dozen retail chains, including the – Read more