Find companies:
The TJX Companies, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,412 reviews

The TJX Companies, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome management team
IT), Windows 7 Deployment Team Lead (Current Employee), Framingham, MAMarch 11, 2014
TJX is an amazing company to work for and in my case to contract for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good summer job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Irving, TXMarch 11, 2014
It was an okay place to work but they wouldn't take the time to teach me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable work place
part time cashier (Former Employee), PlymouthMarch 10, 2014
Pros: discount on clothing
Cons: short breaks, no benefits
At TJ Maxx typical work day would be comprised of running several sections throughout the store. Initially, I would check if any clothing need relocation and if yes, then place it all in correct section. Besides that, I had to manage telephone calls and pick up whenever cutomer would call and ask specific questions in regards to certain products. Whenever – more... customer lanes becomes too long my duty was to drop everything and run a cash register so that customers wouldn't wait too long to purchase their items.
I learned how to work with employees, and customers. How to satisfy and make my manager happy with quick performance and correctly following orders. Management at TJ Maxx was amazing, I loved my supervisor, she was very clear in specifying what needed to be accomplished and always verbally rewarded me for great performance. My co-workers were also friendly and efficient. I loved the atmosphere there because whenever someone needed an evening off, there would always be someone that would cover the shift for that employee. The hardest part of the job was to manage tough customers. Most enjoyable part was to make sure all sections are completely organized and I had the time to go the extra mile and organize man's section also. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Stockroom Coordinator (Former Employee), Gulfport, MSMarch 9, 2014
stockroom coordinator
~unload trucks
~process merchandise
-Laid Off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new management
Store Manager (Current Employee), Centerville, OHMarch 9, 2014
Pros: hourly associates get recognized and rewarded, good environment for minors and college students looking to work and go to school
Cons: management is not as well cared for.
TJMaxx lost it's president and they took Marshalls and promoted a new President. There are the normal changes that take place but the atmosphere is rapidly changing. Not in a good way, it is time to move on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but serious place to work.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Canyon Country, CAMarch 6, 2014
Good place to work. Very busy especially on the holidays. Always non stop and always have something to do. Sometimes hard to get everything done with returns, ringing up customers and putting out new items all at once. Co workers are great I get along with everyone and don't have a problem.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Workplace
Stocker (Former Employee), Snellville, GAMarch 5, 2014
Very nice workplace, love the staff and the other employees that i worked with. Overall great place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive job with hard working, team playing, co-workers
Unloader/Processor (Former Employee), Harrisonburg, VAMarch 5, 2014
Pros: breaks
At Tj Maxx, each day was pretty enjoyable. Show up, have some laughs, get your jobs done, then go back home. I learned a lot about merchandising and how the sales floor worked in retail. The management was the best, they were always there to compensate any needs of the workers and just very helpful. There was never really a hard part to the job, it – more... was all pretty enjoyable. The best part of the job was having co-workers that could keep a smile on your face throughout the day no matter the situation, good or bad. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail sales
Receiving department supervisor (Former Employee), Columbia, TNMarch 4, 2014
Selling and promoting of merchandise, customer service, pricing merchandise, processing merchandise. Unloading truck, bringing merchandise out to sales floor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Oxford, OHMarch 3, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: minimum wage and hard to advance to a full time position
• Engage in high-quality customer service assisting customers
around the store.
• Train new hires to operate cash register and other sales associate
tasks.
• Collaborate with co-workers to create a warm and pleasant
atmosphere for customers.
• Ensure store cleanliness by cleaning and organizing store items.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
key carrier, manager (Former Employee), Spartanburg, SCMarch 3, 2014
fun company to learn every angle of retail from recieving to frontlie customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for tj maxx
Merchandise coordinator, (Former Employee), PittsfieldMarch 3, 2014
Pros: discounts and benefits
Cons: getting layed off and not getting called back
A typical day at work was taking in a truck and processing it to go to the sales floor. I also did cash office and set displays
.I also ran a register and did inventory. I found nothing hard about this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice new store with lots of great accosiates
Team Associate (Current Employee), Davis, CAMarch 3, 2014
Typically I work as a cashier but have learned and have worked in all other departments. TJX Davis has the best co-workers who really make the work more enjoyable. They are definitely the best part of working at TJ Maxx. Also, the customers! Generally, very nice and kind people and the regulars are always good to see. The hardest part of my job is pushing – more... things out of the back room to the sales floor. It requires time, but sometimes you get distracted with recovery of helping out customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Customer Service (Former Employee), Melrose Park, ILMarch 3, 2014
developed my job experience with customer service, great management, friendly co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Customer Service Coordinator (Current Employee), Springfield, ILMarch 2, 2014
Excellent place to work if your are a people person which i definitely am, i love the fact that i am able to meet at least a hundred new faces on a daily basis. Managers and co-workers were very easy and comfortable to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
(Former Employee) Overall this is a very good place to work
Sales/Layaway Associate (Former Employee), Homewood, ILMarch 1, 2014
Pros: employee discounts, paychecks were cashed there, long breaks
Cons: breaks for part-time employees were to short
Typically when I entered the building I was met by a group of people whose goals were the same as mine. While working there I learned a little about record keeping because I was working in the layaway department. The management team was a group of very easy going people. They were very hands on when it came to training an employee. There wasn't anything – more... hard about the job that I can think of. The most enjoyable part was the people I worked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent but stressful
Manager (Current Employee), Cape Girardeau, MOMarch 1, 2014
Pros: good place to advance in positions
Cons: people there
good overall but stressful. good place to advance in a career, but sometimes people are rude
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, on your feet environment.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Virginia Beach, VAFebruary 28, 2014
TJMaxx is a fast paced environment that offers flexibility and a diverse group of people to work with. This job is a great opportunity for college students in the area who are searching for part time jobs. There are opportunities to learn many different departments of the store and add more to your resume. You can also always feel free to communicate – more... with management seeing as they are available when needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Palm Desert, CAFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: pay and hours
Managers were very friendly. Although, it's best for a part-time job while going to school for the pay and hours were pretty low.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very strict and not such a fun place to work
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Cambridge, MassachusettsFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: co-workers, breaks and going home
Cons: no enjoyment, no talking and having to go in
My day consisted of either opening or closing the store, learned policies and procedures and also how to train new employees. Co-workers I enjoyed working with. The hardest part of the job was trying not to have much fun and enjoy what I was doing, was not acceptable.

About The TJX Companies, Inc.

Rifling through the racks is an art at TJX stores. The TJX Companies operates about a half a dozen retail chains, including the – Read more