The Tile Shop Employee Reviews

Found 125 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's fun
Senior design associate (Former Employee) –  Florence, KYMarch 27, 2017
When busy very enjoyable, but location I was at did not get enough foot traffic. I obtained a lot of information and met 2 life long friends here but difficult to make money. Subsidy system is absolutely awful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, professional fun place
Sales Associate/Design Consultant (Current Employee) –  Castleton, INMarch 21, 2017
The most enjoyable part of the job is creating repot with customers and creating new relationships. The toughest part about the job is learning all the different types of products. Management is great, professional and understanding.
Pros
Creating contacts
Cons
Working certain hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what they say it is
Design Consultant (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXMarch 19, 2017
This is purely a commission based position. If that is ok with you than more power to you. Your pay is based off of a gross profit percentage of what you sold then you get a percentage of that total to comprise your paycheck. If you don't get over the 1000 dollar threshold then you will be in subsidy and owe the company money. There is no base pay or hourly rate. The hours are very long. Management is knowledgable but Im not a fan of how they run business. This place will consume your life. I would not recommend it to anyone without knowing fully what they are getting into.
Pros
401k and health insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job!
Design Consultant (Current Employee) –  Buford, GAMarch 9, 2017
I absolutely love my job here. However, the pay is awful. Subsidy really does put a lot of stress on you. We don't always get the gist of it right away. Next thing you know you're working to pay the company back $3000.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Company business model,
Showroom Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Matthews, NCMarch 4, 2017
Poor business model allows for employees to steal from each other and the company. 100% commission showroom allows for employees to bully and steal from each other.
Pros
Nice Tile displays to sell from
Cons
100% commission
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked and very under paid
Design Consultant / Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Vienna, VAMarch 3, 2017
Not a great experience with this company. They offer the moon and the stars during the hiring process- but the reality is just the opposite.
Training was very minimal.
The executives seem to care very little for their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 21, 2017
Horrible company to work for -- Beware. Commission pay plan changes all the time -- no consistency. Upper Management is horrible and only calls when they want to yell at you for not being able to advertise to increase traffic because they won't allocate any funds for it
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To get experience and exposure
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDFebruary 20, 2017
Typical day is attending to clients with design options. placing orders. keeping store clean and keeping aisles neat and tidy. i learnt the designing for clients. Management is good.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work.
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNFebruary 17, 2017
Hardest part of the job was unloading and breaking down up to 43,000 lbs of tile by hand during a weekly truck delivery. Best part of the job was the interaction with so many people.
Pros
Learnig about various types of tile and the instalation there of.
Cons
Very heavy work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional Design/Consultant Experience, Full Commission
Design and Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Centerville, OHFebruary 15, 2017
At The Tile Shop you must be very positive, outgoing, and persuasive in sales. I loved the design aspect while working with clients and contractors. It is 100% commission based. If you do not make quota you will receive a base pay, however, if you exceed your quota on your next check you do have to pay back the difference from the check prior. I was new to the commission world and did very well during the summer season. Once fall hit people get busy and projects tend to slow down. I would not recommend this position for anyone who has not had experience in full commission.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but Time consuming
Sales Associate/ Design Consultant (Former Employee) –  Lombard, ILJanuary 25, 2017
A good place for beginner salesman. Much to learn about the tile industry but very much time consuming. Little to no life outside of work, if you want to make a decent living.
Pros
good money, health benfits, breaks
Cons
time consuming, unorganized, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work in Commissioned Sales
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Marietta, GAJanuary 25, 2017
Excellent job for anyone who has experience in commissioned sales.
Regional Management in the southeast is terrible. Stay below the store manager/market manager level and you will be fine.
Company cares first and foremost about numbers. If you can sell, go for it. If you cannot sell, you will not last.
Terrible medical coverage other benefits are excellent.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great start to a retail career
Sales/Design Consultant (Former Employee) –  Livingston, NJJanuary 25, 2017
Great place to get an education into the tile industry.Tech savy, easy to convert shoppers into buyers, with beautiful showrooms.Down side is coming prepared to design beautiful bathrooms and may end up cleaning the bathrooms,literally.
Pros
beautiful showroom/tech savy
Cons
not willing to listen to the staff or customer suggestions
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 25, 2017
Good Company to work for if you are starting out in Sales. Great Managers and training. The pay scale is not good. Ask questions to understand the draw and subsidy commission.
Pros
Managment, design and product
Cons
Bad Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work if you like to design. Business model could be better
Design/Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Moorestown, NJJanuary 24, 2017
Fun place to work if you like to design. Business model could be better. Commission structure needs to be adjusted. Hours can be long. Company needs to advertise more to bring in the customers for you to make the commission. Company should not be a secret.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High School like atmosphere
Senior Design Associate (Former Employee) –  Robinson, PAJanuary 14, 2017
Going to work everyday was like being back in high school. Different rules for different people. No recognition for achievements. No across the board training. No care if you were having medical issues.

I umderstand that it is normal, but I felt like I was at risk of losing my job every day due to petty jealousy and back stabbing.

All in all it was a very rewarding job, I love working with clients to decide on design solutions, but I just could not deal with the high school mentality of the management.
Pros
Beautiful Showroom
Cons
No breaks, long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
knowledge knowledge knowledge
Sales/ Interior Design (Former Employee) –  Colonie, NYJanuary 10, 2017
the tile shop is a great place to start out but it definitely is not the easiest job to do with no previous sales experience. you have to be very knowledgeable about tile and all the products involved as well as the current products in the market currently. if you have been involved with tile before and you are a very personable employee then this job will be great for you.
Pros
plenty of room to grow
Cons
management, hours, pay could be better for whats involved.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cutthroat environment with disadvantaged pay system
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sharonville, OHJanuary 7, 2017
It was a cutthroat sales position with no hope for advancement and no job security whatsoever. The Commission draw pay scale is a scam and sometimes you will end up owing the company money when you work 6 days a week all day. The management was lackluster at best, within 3 months they cycled in and out 3 managers and they were all decent at best. The coworkers are nice, but the senior sales associates shark the newer employees and take their sales, and because your paycheck is based upon sales they will make all of the money and newer employees will end up owing the company money.
Pros
Already did
Cons
already did
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of training
Sales and Design Consultant (Former Employee) –  Centreville, VADecember 22, 2016
Lack of training to help you succeed. The management I worked for was very poor and didn't provide much guidance to help you grow your knowledge of the product. I was simply given a few videos to watch and then put on the sales floor.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the place
Sales Associate & Design Consultant (Former Employee) –  Coon Rapids, MNDecember 6, 2016
I loved working for the company, and when a serious situation arose with the management they took me seriously and handled it like they should've.

The people I worked with became a sort of family to me and I still keep in contact with them about 4-5 months after quitting. The best crew out there.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Tile Shop. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 126 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.4
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.5
Management
2.6
Culture
2.6