Find companies:
The Tile Shop
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
47 reviews

The Tile Shop Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, low-pay, 50-70 hours a week
Sales (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSDecember 16, 2014
I was constantly in the top 3 (if not the highest) in sales in the store. I led our entire region in sales twice. I was very good at my job, knew what I was talking about and effectively used closing techniques provided by the company. I made $28,000 in almost a full calendar year working 50-70 hours a week. If this sounds good to you, by all means.

There – more... are two major problems with this employer: one is its return policy. I just had a big pay period, but since the company allows customers to return basically anything if they pitch a fit, everyone brought back all of their extras on me over the course of 4 days. I took $6,000 in returns in one pay period and because of this, my numbers weren't very good for that one pay period. I got demoted halfway through it and fired two days later after a year of working there.

The other problem is that there is a culture (at least in the KC area) where all of the veterans are offering potential customers 25% off + just so that they don't work with another salesperson. So, if I didn't do the same thing, those customers would just go to whomever would give them the biggest discount. This means that instead of selling roughly $11,000 in Net Sales to meet your numbers, you have to sell around $15,000 in Net to meet your numbers because of the discount that you are basically required to give. You make the equivalent of $9 an hour if you just hit your numbers, which is cool if you like Ramen noodles and walking everywhere.

Basically, if you are looking to be brainwashed into manipulating every person that you talk to into swiping their credit card, having to check every order that happens on your day off to see if it was yours, constantly losing customers to other stores in your area and carrying boxes of tile that can range around 80 lbs while in ridiculously over-dressed attire, you're going to love this place! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One mind set
Sales Representative /Designer (Former Employee), Austin, TXDecember 11, 2014
The company has expanded to fast. Yes selling Tile is an art and great fun helping customer with improvement in their homes.

The pressure to keep one type of sales module, (aka sell the first time they come into the store, it's aways realistic). Some customers need time to get comfortable with making a large money decision.

The tile shop wants the – more... sales team to sale to all customers in 30 to 45 minutes no matter if one room or a whole house.

They do have a great training to understand what you sell and how to maintain the products. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job
Sales Consultant/Interior Designer (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXNovember 4, 2014
Cons: no job security at all
It help me grow as a person and thought me a lot about patience, That's all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job, bad hours
Assistant Manager/Design Consultant (Current Employee), Albuquerque, NMOctober 28, 2014
Pros: fairly comprehensive training, decent health benefits; enjoyed my coworkers
Cons: long work hours, limited morale/employee recognition efforts
This company expects it's employees to work a MINIMUM of 50 hours a week, every week. Most weeks, 6 days. Upper management is not honest about their expectations before they hire you, so you end up working long hours. Income potential is good, if you can afford to wait for your sales to pick up. Enjoyable meeting new people every day, but rough on family – more... life, or any life outside of work for that matter. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very disorganized and not willing to listen to associates suggestions
Design/Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Belleview and WadsworthOctober 27, 2014
Cons: tons
I would not recommend working here to ANYONE. The corporation in general has some big issues that need to be dealt with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company
Store Manager (Current Employee), Brookfield, CTOctober 10, 2014
Growing company with excellent possibilities for rapid advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commission plan against employee favor company
Sales Designer (Current Employee), North Plainfield, NJSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: free time
Cons: no money, draws
The Tile Shop is the Kmart of all tile places. Don't go!!!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Columbia, SCSeptember 20, 2014
Cons: everything
This is the worst experience I have ever had. They lie from the beginning about what you will make. Work 70+ hours per week and constant pressure to sell. I would not recommend this company to anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Professional Sales/Design Consultant (Former Employee), Rockville, MDSeptember 16, 2014
You will work long hours. The management sometime seem to care only about their own personal goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interesting workplace with a lot of opportunity to network.
Sales Representative Retailer (Former Employee), Columbia, MDAugust 19, 2014
Pros: networking, design, human resource practice, advancement opportunities, benefits
Cons: commission based pay, scheduling with team size, bipolar customer activity
Not often are there mid-day shifts, so either employees will come in for an opening or closing eight hour shift. Within that period of time, there are many logistic duties appointed to each individual. These include, but are not limited to: Confirming Daily Sales Objectives, Inventory Look-up and Availability, Customer Pipeline Follow-ups, Customer – more... Order Follow-ups, and Store Cleaning. You will be able to learn a wide variety of operation information such as the use of the P.O.S. (Point of Sale) system and communicating directly with contracting and remodeling agencies to work on customer projects. Working with the contractors, handymen/women, and interior designers that are associated with the Tile Shop allows you to network and connect with a much larger customer profile than you would be able to obtain only through walk-in customers. The hardest part of the job is that it is commission based and your pay will vary based on sales and additional pieces to those sales (ej. tools, grout, sealer). And there is a "draw" component for the position in the sales team in which you, of course have expected goals for how much product you as an individual should sell. Should you not be able to sell the necessary amount, the company takes the percentage of the sales missing out of the next paycheck in which you earn enough to cover your losses. Loss is based on past monthly/yearly earnings, as well as hours worked. The best thing about the job is getting to work with great customers and co workers. Management was amazing there and teach you to be as coachable as possible. They are willing to work with and coach you on how to follow the set processes that lead to success in the work place. The most important thing about the job, moreover, is seeing the finished product of what your customers were able to do with their order and have those customers come back in to have more work done! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No potential for the advancement in the original job description.
Sales/Design Associate (Former Employee), Warwick, RIJuly 4, 2014
Pros: you can earn good money if you independently research contractor leads
Cons: company expects you to clean bathrooms and other maintinence work without compensation, no media advertising
Erratic application of company policies regarding clients and commissions. Lack of print media exposure creates huge gaps in foot traffic. 100% commission based, which is fine, but you are expected to do maintenance normally assigned to an outside contractor, i.e. cleaning toilets. Caught a co-worker stealing leads. "Wham, bang, thank you ma'am" corporate – more... sales mentality. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for Quick money if your not shy
Interior Design/Sales Consultant Commissioned (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MIJune 16, 2014
Pros: easy quick pay, nice people, can be fun
Cons: hours, expectations
Great place to make money if your not scared of commission. Its easier then most places to make money you just can not be shy. There is a good amount of oppurtunity to move around the country and to move up in the company. The major down side is you WILL be working a lot of hours. Its not a company where you can just call in sick or switch shifts with – more... someone, so if your a person with a family, like to travel, or have health concerns do not work here. You will be working all day 6 days a week. Typical week was 55 to 70 hours a week and you will work all holidays including Christmas eve, July 4th ex. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
salesman
Salesman (Former Employee), Rockville, MDMay 23, 2014
helping customer if they are coming to buy tiles answer all the question they have
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly colleagues
Manager (Former Employee), Plymouth, MNMay 22, 2014
Refer to public information.
Great expansion of the store chain.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, engerinic place to work
Assistant Manager, Sales/Design (Former Employee), Edison, NJApril 29, 2014
Implemented my highest level of customer service satisfaction. The overall experience was very hands-on and competitive, to say the least.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate
Marketing/Social Media Manager (Current Employee), Plymouth, MNMarch 24, 2014
Based on a request for detailed Marketing management of current position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dishonest, cut throat business
Manager trainee, business marketing, sales (Former Employee), Shrewsbury, MAMarch 16, 2014
Cons: dishonest, greed based business, typical lack of moral standards, hypocritic management
First of all you will never make the kind of money they say you would. Why would there be such a big sales people rotation and new hires all the time? Secondly, they did not pay me a commission from the pay period I made over $13800 in sales for them in so called grace period (no draw) with 13% commission out of that. (and this was the orders that went – more... out the door)
If they do it all the time and then let people go, imagine how much they make of naive people who work 54 hours a week for them.
Sales people are supposed to compete with each other, but there are too many of them in the door like "grizzly bears" waiting for customers who are described by corporate office as "salmon" by the way in a letter to employees, so you are supposed to treat people as meat. A guy who came to work after me from car business had such an attitude.He was actually talking BS to people not knowing a thing about tiles, and worse yet he was literally grabbing my customers even when they asked for me, making one time $4000 on a customer I worked with. He was just a total AH. The customer came with a complaint to the manager that he sent his customer to me not to Mark, and then I got fired.
I was told that this customer will be dismissed as customer of the Tile Shop. Nice ethics, congrats! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy the job very much.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Manassas, VAFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: making clients happy.
Cons: the lack of inventory on some items.
I enjoy the job very much. Helping people out with design and simple information makes me feel good. My co-workers are great. The hardest part of the job is the long hours with little compensation to show for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I have ever had!
Design / sales consultant (Current Employee), Wilmington, DelawareFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: no ceiling to income, benefits, 401k matching
Cons: i didn't find this job sooner.
Ideal for someone with customer service work history.

This job isn't for you if you settle for mediocracy. The Tile Shop gives you the tools to succeed. I have been with the company for 6 months and it has been the best choice that I've ever made accepting this position. You have no ceiling to the possible income. The company's product is A+ And priced – more... to sell. That being said the key to this job is product knowledge and an eye for design. Every day is an opportunity. My particular store we look out for one another, however I can understand how from store to store it could be very competitive. I have never worked in commission sales before this job and my managers have really helped me succeed. I have read the horror stories people have been reviewing and I have seen these types come and go. If you want to make an average hourly rate and punch a 9-5 clock this job is not for you. If you believe in your skills in sales and customer service and want to determine how much you want to make... APPLY.

YOU REALLY WILL MAKE 50k+ YOUR FIRST YEAR ... THOUGH YOU HAVE TO TAKE THE TOOLS GIVEN TO MAKE IT HAPPEN.

The tile shop has literally saved my life. I have had so many jobs that I wake up dreading going to work for. The tile shop is the exact opposite. I am so thankful that I found the tile shop. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Roseville, MNJanuary 8, 2014
You get maybe a week of training on everything in the store then they stop helping completely,. You also need to compete with your boss for sales which is the reason they stop helping you

1 2 3

About The Tile Shop

The Tile Shop is a leading specialty retailer of manufactured and natural stone tiles, setting and maintenance materials, and – Read more