Find companies:
The University of Akron
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
48 reviews

The University of Akron Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and supportive enviroment
Grounds Crew Member (Former Employee), Akron, OHJune 18, 2014
My time there was great the staff was encouaging and supportive. As a student employee they made me feel as part of the team
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to enhance engineering skill set
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Akron, OHApril 26, 2014
I can review only the Electrical and Computer Engineering department of UofA. The department has many experienced professors and assistant professors with huge potential for research. It has almost all the required electronic equipment to improve your hands on experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable place to work at The University of Akron
Student Assistant, Department of Development (Current Employee), Akron, OHApril 26, 2014
Working at The University of Akron has benefited me in many ways. A typical day for me at The University of Akron involves me updating and correcting information with our systems. I work on may different projects for my advisors and are required to pay a great amount of attention to detail. Some typical tasks involve me updating individuals information – more... in our system from their work experience to their address and personal information, I always have to make sure the information is correct and up to date. I have learned what expectations are required of me including my work performance and attitude. I know what kind of work is expected of me and know what I need to have finished, I have learned more about completing jobs within their time frame and learning how to multi-task in order to complete them on time. A hard part of my job is not getting too overwhelmed about the work I'm doing and to continue to remember what I enjoy most about my job. I enjoy working with other people and receiving the chance to excel at my job by volunteering for more projects and learning more about the department at The University of Akron. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place!
Ph.D. Candidate in Geotechnical Engineering (Current Employee), Akron, OHApril 22, 2014
A great place to research and work!
Professors are nice! The student union and dinning room are perfect, as well as the gym.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, but with rewarding results.
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Akron, OHApril 21, 2014
Other than the long hours spent grading, this position was enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job
Programming Leader (Current Employee), RAApril 17, 2014
I love to work here with my professor.

I have learned a lot of new things
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am a graduate assistant in the computer science department and the work is great
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee), Akron, OHApril 4, 2014
Pros: fee waiver, nice salary
Cons: no growth
I'm a teaching assistant to the C++ course.
I take the lab sessions for the students and I love getting to know new things from some of my students
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to get a degree in Chemical Engineering.
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Akron, OHApril 1, 2014
At The University of Akron I honestly feel that you have a better chance of meeting whatever goals that you have. Professors generally know what they are doing. Other students care about their classes/grades. Good mix of lectures, group work, individual work, etc. No unreasonable amount of homework/projects. Challenging course work. They work really – more... hard to help students get a job after graduation. All of the classes I took here were useful. Lots of clubs, events, activities, etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mail and Delivery Services
Delivery Worker (Former Employee), Akron, OHMarch 30, 2014
Pros: job security, free secondary education, benefits
Cons: no advancement, no raises, no ot
Great environment to work in. Being on campus around new exciting cultures and education are very intriguing. Managers are great in this department, and coworkers are a great team in Mail Service. Lacking in Compensation for work done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Biomedical Engineering Student
Akron Softball Team Manager (Current Employee), Akron OhioMarch 14, 2014
first year in the biomedical engineering program, I am in the emerging leader program and usually the leader of all of my engineering projects such as the brick powered car we just completed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unforgettable experience at The University of akron
Graduate Student Researcher (Former Employee), Akron, OHFebruary 13, 2014
Being in a top notch school in its field, the Univeristy of Akron provide a great setting for doing research work, such as the availablity and accessiblity of state of art and expensive instrumentations, and the ease of getting material. Being a graduate student, there is no regular of working but work around the clock if necessary. And in graduate – more... school, I learned that one cannot be always in his/her own field but to venture into other professors specialty as I observed some professor had done it, inter-disciplinary. But that seen to be lack of focus for some people. It is in the later part of my graduate studies that make me aware of the meaning of research. The know -how of getting to know that I have got something real, the accuracy of data, the parameters and their numbers. And I conclude that I did not waste any time going to graduate school, an unforgettable experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Akron, OHFebruary 5, 2014
The Univerisity of Akron is well-known for polymer programs. Here I gained knowledges, skills and research experiences that will benefit me for my future career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HMMMM
Certified Building service Worker (Current Employee), Akron, OHFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: employees and family get 6 credit hours a semister
Cons: no growth potential for custodians
WELL IT IS THE UNIVERSITY OF Akron I HAVE WORKED HERE FOR OVER 8 YRS SO IT IS NOT A BAD PLACE TO WORK
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take my time to present statistics to basic statistics students
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Akron, OHJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: as a teaching assistant, i'm debt free
Because most basic statistics and Statistics for every day life students have weak background in statistics, I take my to explain the basic concepts in the field of statistics to them. I also encourage students who come to me for tutoring and have given up on the course and at the end of the semester most of them come back and thank me because they – more... become better students. Since i'm a team player, if I have difficulty in understanding something ask for assistance from my colleagues and help the students seeking such help afterwards. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool oppourtunity to grow
Student Office Assistant (Current Employee), Akron, OHDecember 19, 2013
Pros: motivational enviorment, health care, and paid tuition for full time employees
Cons: politics, under paid students
In general the University of Akron is a great place for both students and employees, however as with any job you have to deal with the politics
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
lifeguard (Former Employee), akronOctober 16, 2013
good job for college students who don't have much availability to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Campus and employer
Team Coordinator (Former Employee), Akron, OHSeptember 22, 2013
Great company. A little hard to advance. Takes a while for things to get done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable work place, since my clients were mostly students with the same age and interests.
Learning Assistant (Former Employee), Akron, OhioSeptember 17, 2013
A typical da at work included holding study sessions for students to help them go through the struggles they're having with a specifc subject.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UA is a fun place to work
Payroll Department Office Assistant (Current Employee), Akron, OhioSeptember 11, 2013
Pros: i work with a great team!
Cons: i'm only a temp. and my time here is coming to a close
I would recommend the University of Akron to all work force and students alike. Everyone is very nice and willing to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Budget Assistant (Former Employee), Akron, OHJune 26, 2013
Pros: the benefits, campus activities and places to eat.
Cons: the pay isn't too great.
Working for The University of Akron allowed me to be present as a mom while having a career. During the warm months, it is great to walk across campus and enjoy a meal with co-workers or spend some quiet time reading under a tree during breaks. The benefits are great, and it is rewarding to know that my job is helping people change their lives through – more... education. – less

1 2 3