Find companies:
The University of California
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
406 reviews

The University of California Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging but rewarding environment
Catering Manager (Current Employee), Berkeley, CADecember 23, 2014
Pros: allows for unlimited creativity, excellent benefits, free food
Cons: long hours, phyisically demanding
As the catering manager at Cal there is no set daily routine, but a convergence of finding and making time in a very high paced environment to create an excellent experience for a client. After our sales team makes initial contact and creates a plan for what the client wants we discuss the possibility and feasibility of an event in relation to the needs – more... of an event, the budget of the client, and our ability to maintain excellent service if we have other events going on at the same time. Once an event is in motion my job is to be the face of Cal Catering as the sales team hands it completely to me once an event starts. On the day of an event I must set to work the temporary workers that I schedule as I do not have full-time or part-time workers directly reporting to me. As I am using a temp agencies to fill my workforce I have become very adept at scheduling and making sure they arrive at a reasonable time before or during an event. I must factor in many things when scheduling workers including their limited to 8 hour work schedules and the needs of an event along with the possibility for these workers to not show up, and also making sure labor costs are within the budget parameters. As sometimes the budget and event needs do not match and that as the sole UC Berkeley employee I am very comfortable with stepping in and staying as long as needed to finish a job. In addition I employee temporary workers who might be on their first catering event I am also very good at training and getting a gauge for the strength and weakness of my workforce and doling out responsibilities accordingly. For an event I sometimes have little to no communication with a client. This requires that I must create a good rapport with the client and be able to anticipate their needs and desires and execute in a timely and professional matter. Also, when dealing with events I have the ability to sense the mood of the event or the stress level of a client and with this I do my best to create a memorable experience or to have my services be invisible, but efficiently making the event run smoothly. In any spare time I get I must be able to handle inventory and purchasing as well as helping others within the general residential dining services. The thing I love most about my job is helping others to create an amazing memorable event and helping reduce their stress levels. I also love problem solving and creating novel solutions to issues that randomly arise. This job allows me to be creative with sometimes very limited supplies to do that and it stretches me to be better in all aspects of working with others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University
Thesis Master student in Biochemistry (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 17, 2014
Great research-oriented university, with great research experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
California Dreaming
Research Associate II (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 16, 2014
Pros: people, atmosphere and compensation
Cons: none really
Excellent place to have a job and excellent state to be in. The people are all good and always willing to help and teach.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balanced and multidisciplinary job as a graduate student
Graduate Student Researcher (Current Employee), Davis, CADecember 12, 2014
Pros: free coffee bagel donut day on fridays, health insurance, strong sense of community
Cons: irregular work hours
Working as a graduate student in the Animal Biology graduate group has been ideal for my growth as a researcher. A typical day will consist of taking courses, working in the laboratory, and holding office hours and teaching. The staff and faculty are all very knowledgeable and approachable for advice and mentor-ship. The most difficult part of the job – more... is balancing work, class, teaching, and your personal life as a grad student. I definitely learned how to prioritize and manage deadlines as a student with many responsibilities. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to keep up with the increasing scientific advancements through executing research projects for publications. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good management of acquiring and cataloging books promotes production greatly
Library Technician (Former Employee), Irvine, CANovember 21, 2014
It is usually smooth in ordering mass books from domestic vendors by following the order vouchers and vendors' software usage. Performing special orders are sometimes challenge, for the requested items mostly rare books or out-of-print books need to be searched world-wide and thus consuming time. However, our manager based on her 20+ years working experience – more... had already set up practical rules for her subordinates to follow and thus to meet the professors and researchers needs by acquiring the needed items in reasonable time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay doesn't align with performance
Administrative Specialist, Human Resources (Current Employee), Oakland, CANovember 20, 2014
Pros:

Flexibility/work-life balance (depending on your department)
Feel good contributing to a worthy mission
The majority of the staff are quality humans

Cons:

Workload has doubled (in some cases, tripled) under the new President with no proportional increase in compensation.

Across the board increases go to poor performers and top performers alike. – more... Work is assigned according to competence leading to the "curse of competence". Poor performers fly beneath the radar while good employees break their back doing other people's work.

No accountability for poor people managers

Antiquated technology which slows everyone down

Support staff are not encouraged to take on stretch assignments because managers are afraid to lose them

Professional development activities are given lip service, but managers don't provide the flexibility needed to participate

We are losing talented staff and succession planning is poor

Work is assigned to existing staff members and stipends are not proportionate to the amount of extra work and responsibility. There is very little recognition of staff who are loyal throughout multiple transitions.

At some point, the mission just isn't enough

Advice to Management:

Match pay with performance. Staff appreciation events and one time STAR awards aren't enough. If workload, responsibility, performance and pay don't line up, the best and the brightest will keep leaving.

Hire from within: help employees understand the path to advancement in the organization.

Stop treating support staff like chattle – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life
Tutor (Current Employee), Santa Cruz, CANovember 19, 2014
I like this job because I get the largest amount of flexibility by setting my own hours. I enjoy teaching out students things that i feel passionate about, which is mathematics and econometrics. My bosses have been in my same position in the past so they understand the struggles of teaching but the reward you feel afterwards. I think this job has made – more... me overall more patient. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reader position
Reader (Former Employee), Davis, CANovember 18, 2014
Graded homework and held office hours. May need to attend lectures taught by your boss.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee), Irvine, CANovember 16, 2014
Pros: benefits
UC employees benefits package is outstanding. I'm also able to telecommute, which is an advantage since I live 8 hrs away.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding place to work
Program Evaluator (Current Employee), Davis, CANovember 14, 2014
Depends on where you work. Certain department are more rewarding to work for than others. Certain UC Schools compensate more than others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Assistant
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Irvine, CANovember 12, 2014
Pros: learn new skills
Cons: no pay
Researching Stem cells in the brain, creating tests for Biological Sciences 93 students, and researching education.
Learn to work well with others. i work directly with the professor and four other students at UCI.
So much to do in so little time but that makes it enjoyable for me and most likely stressful for others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Riverside, CANovember 9, 2014
I stayed here for more than four years and learnt a lot of techniques. UCR provides a good environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It varies in different departments and with different bosses.
Financial Analyst (Contract), AP/HR (Former Employee), San Francisco, CANovember 7, 2014
The quality of the job heavily depends on the work style of your manager's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic and exciting work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 5, 2014
On a typical day, we would scan student IDs and hand out bus tickets for their trip back from sporting event. I learned how to manage money, organization, order, and consistency. Environment was always festive making it easy to work with both students and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ever
Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Orange, CANovember 5, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere
I am a proud Contracted Employee at UCI. Looking for a full time PERMANENT Position, because I am a 'Quest' Employee, my duty is to float to different clinics and help them 'Go Live' from paper to electronic. I learned how to be adaptable, flexible and great with teamwork. The hardest part of this job is getting comfortable in one clinic and having – more... to leave to another. Overall this job is enjoyable. Ive floated to different sites and Orange is my favorite. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Change and Growth
UCSF Analyst II, Office Manager (Former Employee), San Francisco, CANovember 2, 2014
Pros: you learn something new always
Working for UCSF is great for making a difference in the community as well as making a career for life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A comfortable environment to learn and conduct research
Undergraduate Researcher (Current Employee), Santa Barbara, CAOctober 31, 2014
A typical day at work: As a part time employee, most days are relaxed with no impending stressors, only positive reinforcement of getting research done for the project to progress.

What was learned: Some skills dealing with Raman spectroscopy and building microfluidic devices were learned.

Management: Truly a pleasure to be around and like to collaborate – more... and conduct team efforts to complete tasks.

Co-workers: All nice people open to collaboration or help if it is needed, yet do not invade your work without permission.

The hardest part of the job: Overcoming obstacles present in all scientific research as well as more specific obstacles due to collaborations.

The most enjoyable part of the job: Being able to conduct work at my own pace yet enjoying it at the same time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UC Merced was a great learning experience
Analyst (Former Employee), Merced, CAOctober 30, 2014
Pros: amazing experience
Cons: demanding work schedule, typically 60+ hours per week
At UC Merced, I helped run the governmental affairs department. This was a temporary position that I hoped would become permanent. I enjoyed my role, which included acting as a liaison between local, state, and federal politicians, event coordination, and presentation of information to said political offices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work learn different cultures
Building Facilities Coordinator (Current Employee), 54 Mulford hall Berkeley, CAOctober 27, 2014
Pros: holiday pay
Cons: no overtime pay
A typical work day includes making sure all equipment is operating at capacity and provide necessary security and access to individuals. I have learned how to share interest in researchers work so I can provide them with the best service they need. Working well together with my co-workers to provide a team positive atmosphere. The hardest part of my – more... job is getting the maintenance to perform more efficient. I like most about job is meeting new people and being of service – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Community, wonderful experience
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Santa Cruz, CAOctober 26, 2014
Great Community, wonderful experience
Great Community, wonderful experience
Great Community, wonderful experience

1 2 3 4 5

About The University of California

The University of California was founded in 1868. Today it is widely considered the pre-eminent public research university system – Read more

The University of California Photos