Find companies:
THE UNIVERSITY OF KANSAS HOSPITAL
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
42 reviews

THE UNIVERSITY OF KANSAS HOSPITAL Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
PATIENT CARE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Kansas cityAugust 13, 2014
Take vitals
Assist with daily living
Report any changes to health to RN
Assure that their stay or healing process is a good one
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Healthcare Technician (Former Employee), Kansas City, KSAugust 8, 2014
Great place, great people, great experience. Great place to work. I learned a lot in the 9 years i was employed. Left with great memories.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Patient Care Assistant-Pediatric Department (Current Employee), Kansas City, KSJuly 20, 2014
I enjoyed working at KUMed. Team environment. 12 hour shifts. Great management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hospital for Experience and Learning!!
Respiratory Therapy Student Employee (Former Employee), Kansas City, KSJuly 16, 2014
More Hospitals needed as magnet status and this is one place to take with you forever!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nationally recognized by US News and World Report as one of the best
Clinical Nurse II (Former Employee), Kansas City, KSJuly 14, 2014
Pros: top 50 us news and world report
Cons: salary and benefits?
My summary concept still stands as true. The University of Kansas Hospital remains one of the top institutions in the country. That said, I left KU Hospital because of the upper managements mistreatment of its nursing staff. They cut our pay and our benefits this year and they tried to spin it like a raise. 3-2 does not equal 10. It was absolutely insulting – more... for CEO Bob Page to treat the nurses who brought KU up to its high standards in the first place like second rate property. I think hundreds must have left the hospital because the nurses union sent me an email, after I had left, saying that the top brass had conceded the need to give KU nurses adequate compensation. How much of a raise they got, I do not know. Given the circumstances at KU, I would honestly have stayed there had other factors not lead me to move across country. KU is the best hospital in the state of Kansas and the KCMO metro area. You wont find better support and resources for the nursing staff, outside of the top brass, or better nurse to patient ratios anywhere else. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVE TO WORK
Customer Service Coordinator (Current Employee), KANSAS CITY KSJune 26, 2014
* Interacting with customers, providing information in answer to inquires about products, accounts, and services.
* Taking service inquiry calls from customers or clients and dispatching the suitable customer service associate to address questions.
* Answering the questions of customers regarding the organization’s products or services and its operation – more... or maintenance.
* Handling and resolving customer complaints, or special orders via mail or phone.
* Receiving and processing orders, providing information concerning changes, pricing in service, and shipping.
* Investigating and correcting errors, following company and customer records.
* Interviewing customers to acquire information and explaining available services.
* Adjusting complaints concerning services or billing rendered.
* Coordinating customers’ service requirements with other appropriate departments as necessary to ensure effective customer service.
* Referring complaints of service or product failure or errors to appropriate personnel for investigation.
* Communicating solutions, successes, and opportunities to the Manager of customer service.
* Coordinates production of printed materials and prepress or printing services with customer's requirements.
* Confers with customers throughout production to keep them informed of status of job, to solicit and resolve inquiries and complaints, to
obtain approval of materials, such as artwork, color separations (film for each primary color), ink samples, and proofs, and to procure
information and materials needed by establishment personnel to process order.
* Determines supplies, materials, and equipment needed for job order, plans and draws layout of job, and routes supplies and
materials, such as pasteups, artwork, copy, film, or prints, to work areas to put job order into production.
* Monitors progress of job order throughout production, confers with establishment personnel, orders supplies, contracts services with
outside vendors, and alters production schedule and job order to expedite timely processing of job in accordance with customer's
requirements and company standards. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Kansas City, KSJune 23, 2014
Pros: employees; scheduling; health benefits; industry education
I loved this job. Great employees, great management. Overall a great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hospital
Nursing Associate (Former Employee), Kansas City, KSJune 7, 2014
Magnet hospital so you have to be more involved than I like but it is a great environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i like the equipment we use
floor tec (Current Employee), 3901rainbow kansas city kansasApril 15, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
a typical day i do the work detells and the things i learned or things as i go aloan. managegmement ther ok. my co workers are the best.ther no hardest part. and the most enjoyable part makeing the work day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day in the life of a Life Saver
Surgical Technologist (Former Employee), Kansas City, KansasMarch 14, 2014
Everyday at my second home, I felt confident and accomplished to be a part of such a great team that saves lives every day. I worked on every team in the OR and enjoyed learning in all areas. I worked a lot on the Gynocology team as well as the General. I learned that anxiety can not over take you and you have to be fully attentive to every second in – more... the operating room. I worked well with everyone in the Operating Room. If a surgeon got stressed or nervous, I knew exactly what to do to ease and assist him. Letting him know that he was being assisted by a confident and knowledgable scrub made each surgery go by as smoothly as possible. The hardest parts of being in the medical field is the loss of a patient and sad results from tests such as finding out someone has malignant cancer in any way. Every patient is a human being with feelings and a heart. I love being a part of saving lives, changing lives, and making people comfortable given the situation. I wouldn't change my career for any reason unless it was to continue on to Medical school! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly Managed Maintenance Department
Maintenance Office Specialist - Dispatcher (Former Employee), Kansas City, KSMarch 11, 2014
Under-qualified Director in charge. Staff was very unproductive and spend majority of day socializing and shopping on-line.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Chaplain Intern (Current Employee), Kansas City, KSMarch 5, 2014
I provided care for patients. I also helped families of the patients get through hard times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very diverse, education facility that was very hands on.
Clinical Student (Former Employee), Kansas City, KSFebruary 17, 2014
I learned an unimaginable amount of information from being a clincal student at the University of Kansas Medical Center. I rotated through a lot of different modalities and by the end of my year there I could do almost anything without asking for help from the Technologist that was supervising me. I loved being in surgery as well as the orthopedic clinic. – more... There was so much to learn and so many great people to teach me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once a great place to work where patient care and employee satisfaction were the two main goals of everyone in the organization.
Professional (Current Employee), Kansas City, KSFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: great benefits.
Cons: employees and employee satisfaction are not a high priority.
The culture and management styles have changed sine I started with the hospital. The focus used to be patients and employees but has slowly become patients and awards. Unnecessary employee stress, (office drama, politics, favoritism etc.) has become the new cultural norm and when actual necessary stress,(deadlines, work load, etc.) are added on then – more... employees and managers become burned out very quickly. Job work/life balance continues to be spoken of but is still non-existent for most employees. Job security and advancement opportunities depend on the department you work in. The benefits are still extremely good even with the new healthcare act issues but fair compensation again depends on the department you work in and the manager you work under. Overall assessment is that if you are looking for somewhere to work for a few years that looks good on your resume you've found it. If you are looking for an employer you can be proud of working for, where you believe in what they are doing, trust the management you work under and retire after 30 or 40 years best keep looking because you will burn out long before reaching retirement age. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive place with good coworkers
Technician (Former Employee), Kansas City, KSJanuary 26, 2014
I enjoyed working in KU. I learned to work with a variety of people in different positions in the hospital. I worked well with my co-workers; and, we often brain-stormed to make the department more efficient. The downfall to this job was there was no area for growth and advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work~
Outpatient Admissions Representative (Current Employee), Kansas City, KSJanuary 23, 2014
Great employees and great managers create the perfect laid back environment, in the hospital of all places!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract Position - Exec Asst to CMIO
Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Kansas City, KSDecember 19, 2013
Learned alot about medical informatics
Extremely difficult to get 30+ Chief level Physicians and Health Informatics Management together for complex meetings for decisions regarding medical information technology to implement in KU Med Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, friendly, caring, helpful environment
Human Resources Assistant (Former Employee), Westwood, KSOctober 27, 2013
Pros: great work environment
Cons: having to shuttle to work.
Alternating weekly between Hospital HR and Compensation and Benefits.. While working for HHR I audited both charts and data input of employee records for accuracy.
I further learned the importance of accurate record/chart keeping. While I already knew this having worked in Medical Records and Graduate Academic Services, It was a new aspect to audit – more... charts and data entry for accuracy of fellow co workers.
While working for Compensation and Benefits I scanned employee charts.. I also mapped new job descriptions.
I enjoyed many aspects of my work and time with University of Kansas Hospital some of which was being treated as a fellow employee and not just a contract employee. the manager was very helpful, always caring to ask how I was doing, and did I need anything and not just once. The hardest part of my job besides leaving, was being patient to be taught the necessary procedures, I was so eager to learn. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very humble environment, patients and coworkers fun to be around
Unit Secretary (Former Employee), Kansas City, KSOctober 19, 2013
Pros: enjoyable place to work
Cons: can be hectic at times
My job was very satisfying in a good way. To come to work and be able to express a happy outlook in a very stressful workplace on a daily basis was a very worthy experience for me. I loved to make patients and coworkers smile and have something to be happy about when things weren't going right. I feel as though I made a significant
impression on everyone – more... I met. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to grow
Telemetry Monitor Technician (Current Employee), Kansas City, KSOctober 1, 2013
The University of Kansas Hospital gave me the opportunity to grow through many different positions giving me continuing education and tuition reimbursement along the way. I have grown exponentially professionally because of the values and culture I have experienced. I am thankful for working at this wonderful establishment.

1 2 3