The University of Manchester Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good salary but poor future perspectives
Postdoctoral Research Associate (Current Employee), Manchester, ENGApril 14, 2015
Good salary and social benefits. Unfortunately most positions are only temporary so it makes the future perspectives very poor...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Manchester, ENGMarch 5, 2015
I learnt to be a good team player to achieve the company set goals. To also lead by example and accommodate other people's opinion.
That a good time manager will reduce unnecessary pressure at work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Teaching Asstistant (Former Employee), Manchester, ENGOctober 14, 2014
I was worked in the University of Manchester as a teaching assistant of (BlockSim 9) ReliaSoft software.

I was responsible for MSc Mechanical Engineering Students during the ReliaSoft demonstartion which took place in the University of Manchester in the Reliability & Maintainability course. I also helped students who cope with some difficulties in the exercises and coursework.

I realised how important is when one has a responsibility to complete a task. I lerned that being patient, kalm and positive are vital characteristics to work with others and understood that teaching is not as simple as it seems.

In my team there was harmony and all the members were friendly and pleased to help each other if it was asked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of Manchester
Domestic Assistant (Former Employee), Manchester, ENGSeptember 11, 2014
The company was an excellent company to work for.
co- workers and management were great.
the job was enjoyable friendly place to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and inspiring working place
China-link Liaison (Current Employee), Manchester, ENGApril 13, 2014
A clear target is set to achieve and the leadership is efficient. The leadership is effective with explicit guidances and monitoring as well as support with quick and constructive comments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experince
Car park attendant (Former Employee), Manchester, ENGJanuary 23, 2014
it was very good experience as i gained some essential skills when dealing with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Mixed Review
Business Development Manager (Former Employee), Manchester, ENGJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: a regulated university environment
Cons: lack of direction and resulting mis-management
I worked there at the time of the merger between Manchester University & UMIST. This was handled badly and there was a lot of confusion about job roles and structures, massively wasted budgets and a lack of direction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the biggest university in UK/ World
Gradute Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Manchester, ENGNovember 21, 2012
-Taught about 3 or 4 lecture depending on semester to about 100+ students.
- My co-workers were either Phd students or Phd's Professors
- The hardest part of the job was standing in front of 100+ very bright students and teaching them Mathematical economics, Macro economics. They were 1st, 2nd , 3rd and final year students. so most of them were very bright and intelligent. You had to be well prepared for the tutorials you were teaching. I had no prior experience of teaching, and it was a challenging job paying about 85/90 Dollar per hour.
I did that for about two years and loved it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poductive
Installation Electrician (Former Employee), ManchesterNovember 13, 2012
Pros: interesting and professional
Cons: long comute home in rush hour
enjoyable environment, long hours made more barable by pleasent co-workers