Find companies:
THE UNIVERSITY OF MEMPHIS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

THE UNIVERSITY OF MEMPHIS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Desk Assistant (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 20, 2014
Loved the experience and the people. Not hard at all & very laid back. Worth the pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Student Financial Program Specialist (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 18, 2014
Decent place to work!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment to work in. Great staff and management that cares about all workers.
Event Technician (Current Employee), Memphis, TNMay 19, 2014
Typical days include but are not limited to coordinating and tracking the progress of any advertising and promotional campaigns aimed at generating sales or the launching of new products in existing markets.Deliver lights and furnishings to all events taking place at The University and Rose Theater.Also handle and resolve customer complaints and issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The University was very professional and had excellent training
Administrative Assistant I (Former Employee), Memphis, TNApril 28, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: n/a
I was the Administrative Assistant to the Department of Journalism, responsible in assisting the Chair.

Everyone across campus worked as a team, training would occur quite often during the semester.

Networking with the Dean's office and business representatives was top notch. I am a fan of their benefits and the relationship with the faculty, students – more... and management was very close. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place
Graduate Research/Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJanuary 16, 2014
Very good place Very good place Very good place Very good place Very good place Very good place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Technical Assistant Mentor (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: n/a
Its a good place to work I help clients with technical isssues I train new employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supportive
Adjunct Instructor - Zumba Fitness 1932 (Current Employee), Memphis, TNDecember 4, 2013
Pros: flexible
Cons: pay
Management was supportive of family responsibilities. Co-workers shared responsibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Experiential Learning Credit Specialist (Current Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 21, 2013
Great company to work for with many opportunities to develop your knowledge and skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive tutoring sessions
Tutor for MAPS (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 16, 2013
Pros: one on one intereaction with students
Cons: not enough time in the day
I would enter schools and help tutor students who were in need of extra help. I learned that students had different learning styles. I worked with a team of workers who aspired to be teachers just as I did and so we worked together to make sure we were successful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and Abundant Place for Learning
Research Assistant (Volunteer) (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 29, 2013
Everyday that I came in, I had the privilege of working with a wonderful team on a research project titled The Effects of PCB. During my tenure in the lab, I learned how to administer the anticoagulant heparin as well as the antibiotic baytril, to rodents. After filling their syringes with cocaine solution, our team ran the rats for a certain amount – more... of time, gave them a line of baytril and a line of heparin, and then fed them. Based off of their weight, we calculated the amount of food that they needed to have for that day. Normally, my day would end with me cleaning the research facility and vacuuming out the cages for the rats. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rsearch assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 1, 2013
Pros: great enviroment
Delivered contracts, researched policies on education and drugs for the Selby county area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work! Co-workers are incredible!
Student Leadership (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJune 20, 2013
Pros: students make it fun!
Cons: it can be extremely busy at times because there are so many students.
I love the U of M, but my husband is wanting to relocate. I have a paralegal bachelors degree and would like to pursue that career now.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a researcher and instructor
Instructor (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJune 6, 2013
As a doctoral student at The University of Memphis my responsibilities as a university employee and student intertwined. I was the primary instructor for General Chemistry I & II labs. I also worked as a researcher. As a researcher, I worked in an interdisciplinary area crossing chemistry, material science and biology. My research interests were primarily – more... in the development of novel inorganic nanomaterials and their bioconjugates for applications in biology and medicine. My particular focuses were colloidal metallic nanoparticles such as iron oxide-gold core-shell nanorods for cancer detection and treatment, including molecular imaging, spectroscopic detection, photo-mediated therapy, targeted delivery, and mRNA imaging and regulation. Working in an interdisciplinary field such as nanotechnology helped me build team-working skills that I did not have prior. Because nanotechnology utilizes many areas of science I constantly had to collaborate with and trust experts from other areas. After working in industry for three years and being the go to person for many tasks, I was suddenly having to go to others for advice and to seek new insight on issues. This helped me network as well as become a more well rounded chemist. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok work place
Desk Assistant (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJune 3, 2013
a day at work you sat at desk and checked people in. learned how to work in a constructive work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full leadership and management of facility
Printing and Business Services Manager (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMarch 29, 2013
Pros: satified customers
Cons: there were none
Full leadership of staff and all financial responsibility of 2 locations. Opened both locations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Instructor (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMarch 25, 2013
Great work place with caring people. The school offers many connections and chances for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Centered
Counselor - Student Support Services-TRIO program (Current Employee), Memphis, TNMarch 5, 2013
Pros: free education up to 9 credit hours per semester for full-time employees
Cons: some salaries not as competitive
Upper management is very involved with student development and student opportunities. This is an overall friendly place to work. Employees are encouraged to take advantage of educational opportunities. The downfall is the salary is some positions is not as competitive as other locations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn new skills and meet new people
Administrative Associate I (Former Employee), Memphis, TNNovember 18, 2012
Pros: great pay and benefits.
Cons: was a state funded, program ended when funding was cut.
Performed general administrative-related tasks.
Learned software applications such as MS Word and Excel.
Management was great, let you work independently.
Co-workers was great, very professional and knowledgeable of clients needs.
The hardest part of the job would be laying off staff when funds were cut.
The most enjoyable part of the job was working – more... with a diverse group of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational environment
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Memphis, TNNovember 14, 2012
Pros: educational environment
Cons: location
The work environment was rewarding and there were lots of opportunities to grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Two mater degree in Finance, and almost 10 years experience in business of car manufactory
IT assistant (Former Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 22, 2012
Pros: work hard and work smart, meet the deadline.
Cons: jump two fast from one topic to another.
My background includes nine years serving as an accountant and purchaser with in both IT and car manufactory environments. Most recently, I worked as an IT assistant for the University of Memphis, where my responsibilities included administering a Maintenance Management System and providing IT services and analysis for Physical Plant.