Find companies:
The University of Tennessee
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

The University of Tennessee Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work. Loved my 30+ years there.
Accounting Specialist (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNDecember 3, 2014
Pros: free education, discounts for my kids, holidays, leave time, great insurance
Cons: none...all is good. love the university. pay could be better, but oh well...
I loved working at the University. There is so much opportunity to improve and to learn for FREE. Loved the people, the benefits and all that the university has done for me the past 30+ years. I could not have ask for a better place to work. I have retired here but work part time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNNovember 11, 2014
It was great working here. It has very good infrastructure, facilities and people. I loved working with people from all around the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive time
University Center Activity Room Supervisor (Former Employee), Martin, TNJune 3, 2014
Flexible hours to work around college schedule
Great working envirornment
Learned how to react to different situations people bring to a facility
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent polymer division with access to numerous instrumentation
Post-Doctoral Research Associate (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNMay 14, 2014
UT has a very strong polymer program with access to almost any characterization or instrumentation available. Collaborations with Oak Ridge National Lab, allow for a unique experience in a nation lab setting. Distinguish faculty provide guidance of research groups allowing for the growth of novel ideas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
TVC studio Audio/Video Operator (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNMay 11, 2014
Great place to work. Everyone is easy going and fun to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work study
Work Study Student (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNApril 16, 2014
Pros: extremely flexible
Cons: only min. wage
I love being a work study student because it allows you to be able to complete your studies with a flexible schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grad student, Teaching assistant, worked for the departsments of Chemical & Nuclear Engineering
teaching assistant (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: very informal and never knew what to expect
Cons: not much pay and lots of hours, parking!!!!!
Very interesting work. Built some interesting research porjects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace, but lacking in some areas.
Lecture Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNNovember 20, 2013
It's hard to say, considering I worked here part time as a graduate student, but UTK seems like a nice place to work. My supervisors have been mostly competent, my coworkers are generally in good spirits, and I don't have many complaints. The only thing I know is that graduate students working in the sciences here may get paid differently based on their – more... department. How the departments rank, however, I am not sure. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with a good culture and all-around dedication to the school
Adjunct Faculty; Graduate Teaching Associate (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNNovember 17, 2013
Pros: use of equipment, gym and weight room. office and computer/printer access. insurance, monthly stipend, extra $ for teaching additional classes
Cons: bugs/drippy pipes in the basement office
Teaching classes in the Physical Education Activity Program (i.e. conditioning, exercise and weight control, jogging, weight training, etc). Learned organizational and leadership skills, as well as principles of leadership and instruction. Coworkers were generally easy to work with; group work minimal. The hardest part of the job is dealing with student – more... issues and complaints, especially concerning grades and attendance. Very fun classes to teach and good relationships formed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Graduate Program
GraduateTeaching Associate (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNMay 29, 2013
Great place to go to graduate school and to be funded for my MA and PhD. Great Department with a lot of support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Student Assistant (Former Employee), Martin, TNMay 14, 2013
great learning experience at the University of Tennessee at Martin
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place and learning
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNMarch 21, 2013
Good people around
Learning experience
Good work life balance
Challenging
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School for college of Communication
Student (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNAugust 30, 2012
great school that taught me what I need to know in the communications field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fantastic research and teaching institution
Teaching/Research Assistant (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNAugust 28, 2012
Pros: unique intellectual experience
Cons: low pay
Working as a teaching and research assistant at the University of Tennessee was a rewarding intellectual experience. Sociology offers unique perspectives and frameworks for understanding ones place in this rapidly changing world. The benefits of working in this environment are immeasurable. Teaching students, grading papers, organizing class room activities, – more... collecting research, analyzing data, theorizing change, interacting with professors and students from around the world with diverse backgrounds and variety of interests is an enriching and privileged experience. There is no separation of work and life in this context because your life is the work. An opportunity of a lifetime. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive, Challenging Workplace
Research Project Coordinator (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNAugust 10, 2012
A typical day involved a couple of hours out in the field doing research and the rest of the time was spent indoors in labs or libraries doing research. The hardest part of the job was making yourself stay focused to read through countless amounts of information. The most enjoyable part was getting to see the results of your hard work and determination.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It depends who you work for.
R.A. /Computer Lab Manager (Former Employee), Knoxville,TNJune 6, 2012
Overall, it is good. But the faculty there focus on funding itself not eduction. Living cost is low.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working here
Down Under Recreational Employee (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNMay 30, 2012
As a college student this is a great Job.
Management is great and I loved my Co workers too
I liked the fact that we were not micromanaged and were recognized for our achievements
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), Martin, TNDecember 3, 2011
Pros: small town atmosphere, great people to work with.
I only worked with the University of Tennessee on a short-term basis prior to going to law school. For the few months I worked with the University, I learned a lot about working with students and different aspects of higher education. I would have continued with the school if I hadn't began school.