The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 28 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are pros and cons to every situation.
Financial Clearance Associate (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 1, 2015
I enjoy working at MDACC. I feel that we have the opportunity to touch the lives of so many individuals. However, I feel that the management and culture of the organization needs improvement.
Pros
Benefits are wonderful!
Cons
The organization is top heavy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and sucessful medical team
Clinical Observer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 21, 2016
Did observer ship in diagnosis, management and follow-up visits of outpatient care
Shadowed associate professor in making assessment plans of admitted patients
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees are valued
Health Education Specialist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 19, 2015
Supportive working environment with incentives to meet and exceed goals.Training and educational opportunities with potential to advance your career. Co-workers are high achieving yet pleasant. Seeing cancer patients everyday can be difficult, but it is also rewarding. Working here is inspiring. Overall, a great place to work.
Pros
Supportive environment. Onsite training and educational opportunties
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful learning experience
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 8, 2015
MD Anderson is a phenomenal place to work, especially if you're looking for an environment that fosters personal development and professional learning.
Pros
Free health insurance; industry leader
Cons
Inconsistent management
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee and patient centered service institution
Coordinator, Clinical Studies (Current Employee) –  Texas, MDNovember 4, 2014
MD Anderson is a wonderful place to work. The management really cares about every individual employee. Everyone is treated with caring and respect.
Pros
excellent benefits, flexible scheduling, wellness centers, work-life balance
Cons
commute
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work at
Senior Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 18, 2012
It is a very rewarding place to work. It is very busy place. i've learned many things here. how to put together grants and how to submit. I learned about the healthcare system. The department where I work is a research department that does work out in the community. Therefore, my ability to speak another language besides English really helped me. I enjoy my job and who I work with. The only problem I see is that most of the research appointments depend on grants from the federal government and other institution, so if that money finishes your job goes with it.
Pros
benefits are wonderful
Cons
too far from my home
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too big now the MD Anderson
Research Investigator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 1, 2015
Too big will be bureaucracy. To run such a huge hospital to be in a very good effective way almost is impossible. The patent service part is fine, the research part now so many areas they planned to be big , but actually is not so .
Pros
Good for patient and research update
Cons
Bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Clinical Studies Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 13, 2015
Great place to work with a supportive management team. Amazing employees who literally becomes part of you. Lots of room for advancement if you have the skills and will power to work your best.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Intern
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 20, 2015
It is very rewarding knowing that I work for a company where so much research and first time procedures have taken place. This place is amazing and has many amazing doctors, nurses, and staff working for them.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding but well worth it
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 13, 2013
Working for the #1 cancer center has its demands, but that comes with being #1. Managers ask you give your all at work, follow your scheduled work shift, and respect your co-workers. MD Anderson gives you the tools to exceed at your job, grow professionally, and continue to grow. This is a wonderful institution to work for.
Great benefits, room to move up in the company and find your 'place'.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working place
Assistant Professor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 25, 2015
Worked in MD Anderson Cancer Center for 5 years. I am quite satisfied with this institute for its facility, and the training received.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture promotes growth and education
Sr. Occupational Health Nurse (Former Employee) –  Texas, MDJune 24, 2015
MD Anderson promotes excellence in patient care and a healthy, happy work environment with good work life balance. Leadership encourages education for em[ployees to become experts in their respective content areas.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Caring Environment! Greater Management Team Builders!!
Sterile Processing Liasion (Former Employee) –  Houston,TexasMay 13, 2014
Fast Pace Environment, Caring & Integrity throughout the Facility!
Pros
great benefits & incenitives, i learned to give beyond measure!
Cons
not enough time in the day!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best cancer care in the country
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 10, 2015
This cancer research institution cares of patients from around the community, Texas and across the country.
Doctors, nurses, researchers and administrators share in the goal of providing best of cancer care. There is a strong work ethic amoung many employees,
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work but undergoing a lot of changes
Informatics Analyst (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 13, 2014
This great cancer research, treatment and training center has undergone a lot of changes in recent years. Under the new President, there has been a number of work force reductions, loss of faculty and administrators, and a degradation of worker's morale. However, it is still quite a good place to work if you are in a good team with good management. Mentoring is definitely something one should look for when working at this institution. Beware of soft-funded positions since they may dry up at any point.
Pros
working to help people facing one of their greatest battles in their life is very rewarding.
Cons
bureaucracy! i often felt undervalued.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my department and the people that I work with
Department Administrator, ICT (Current Employee) –  Texas, MDJune 14, 2015
I believe in the Mission of MD Anderson and have a great deal of pride working here. People are very helpful and everone has a sense of great pride working at Anderson.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Place Experience
Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Texas, MDNovember 6, 2014
Great people to work with. Work-life balance and diversity.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with a solid mission
WEB CONTENT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 9, 2014
It is easy to support the company's mission and goals. There is so much going on and it is such a huge company that it makes it exciting to work there.
Pros
brilliant staff, wonderful patients, solid mission
Cons
budget cuts since new president started in late 2012
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong team base
Building Attendant I (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 21, 2012
Work assignments were easy and understandable. I learned how to clean with state appropriate chemicals. My managers were very understanding and helped in any way they could. The hardest part was seeing sick patients all the time. The most enjoyable was having a family feeling there where everyone looked out for one another.
Pros
stability when it came down to personal matters
Cons
not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Place to Work!
Senior Business Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 18, 2013
As a Clinical Nurse, MDACC provided me opportunities to achieve excellence in caring for patients stricken by cancer and other health related issues. They foster professional growth & development; and definitely made my transition to become a clinician with IT expertise.
Pros
great retirement package.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture