Find companies:
The University of Texas
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
31 reviews

The University of Texas Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
LAB ASSISTANT (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJuly 14, 2014
Pros: flexible working hours
Cons: solve problems between students involved in the same project
Part-time job while being an undergrad student.
The job consisted to lead freshmen mechanical engineer students in a mechanical engineering related project throughout their semester.The students were arranged in teams of four and we were required to keep track every week of the progress of each team's project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to expand knowledge
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJune 24, 2014
There are lots of people around that you can bounce ideas off of
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Staff.
Scheduling Student Assistant (Former Employee), El Paso, TXMay 27, 2014
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: no cons.
I answered phones, and emails, made event reservations, and created sections for the school schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Research Associate Scientist (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXMay 6, 2014
The environment is really good. However, the compensation and benefits are below average.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Master degree (Former Employee), Austin, TXApril 20, 2014
I received the M.S degrees in Dept. of Electrical & Computer Engineering from The University of Texas at Austin.
I studied Computer Architecture design algorithm in UT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Former Employee), Austin, TXApril 3, 2014
good place for a postdoc position
well supported
good co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A friendly environment
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Edinburg, TXMarch 24, 2014
 Contributed to UTPA and to the discipline of management through academic research
 Provided assistance to professor by collecting data and by revising published literature relevant to current projects
 Assisted in the classroom by preparing class materials and grading papers of students
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, always interacting with students.
Counseling, Management, Team Leader (Current Employee), Austin, TXMarch 12, 2014
This outreach program I work for in the summers is a program that gives students an opportunity to experience a new career path of geology. I love this program which at one point I was a student of it, but now work with it. I interact with students and make sure they understand the concept of geology and about college if they have any questions of. – more... I am a guidance to them and I help them with anything that I can with. I become a role model to them and make sure they are well hydrated and fed throughout the weeks adventures. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at and to learn new things.
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), El Paso, TXFebruary 13, 2014
It is very flexible.
I learn alot about my degree that i am pursuing in.
The best part about this job is that i get to work while enhancing my skills in the field that I am getting my degree in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Place to work and gain experience
Lab Technologist (Current Employee), Austin, TXJanuary 30, 2014
A very rewarding work environment. Friendly and helpful staff. Opportunity to gain a lot of experience on the job. Flexible hours and very convenient location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State Workers
Administrative Associate (Former Employee), Austin, TXJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: security
Cons: red tape
Very much 20% does the work as 80% does not. It is state employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Other than the traffic I would recommend a friend to work there.
Equipment Repair Technician (Current Employee), Austin TxDecember 4, 2013
Pros: job security
Cons: simply the traffic to and from work
Respond to work request for repairs to custodial equipment.
A two man operation myself and a coworker.
Hardest part about the job is getting there...Traffic
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Fellowship
Bridge to the Doctorate Fellow (Current Employee), El Paso, TXOctober 8, 2013
This fellowship has allowed e to continue with my graduate studies and focus on my research to find novel tools to combat future influenza pandemics
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and helpful MBA program
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXOctober 6, 2013
The Marketing Department at UTSA is committed to providing a stimulating and enlightening education for students committed to learning. Composed of world renowned scholars and award-winning teachers, students learn both the latest in marketing research and the latest in marketing practice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my time working here
Intern - Department of Athletics, Specialty Events (Former Employee), Austin, TXSeptember 16, 2013
Really enjoyed my time employed here. Was given lots of opportunities to learn and gain responsibility. I didn't enjoy the sheer quantity of people on staff, but that can't be avoided at a huge university.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience and less stressful environment.
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TexasAugust 31, 2013
Excellent 360 degree support.
Great opportunity for personal advancement and intellectually stimulating environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the top universities in the country
Information Analyst (Former Employee), Austin, TXAugust 26, 2013
One of the top universities in the country, I attend and worked for the university as a student.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day at work
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), El Paso, TXJuly 1, 2013
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Beneficial Tutoring Center
Grader, Cockrell School of Engineering (Former Employee), Austin, TXJune 21, 2013
Pros: flexible hours, able to learn while teaching others
Cons: not very many hours
UT Austin always provided available and beneficial part time jobs for students. The jobs never got in the way of classes, and the time spent working for UT Austin was often my best spent time of the day. Everyone was very cooperative and helpful when needed, and the students were quick to learn. Tutoring did get frustrating at times when students took – more... longer to grasp the material, although that was expected. The jobs I had at UT Austin was enjoyable, as I was able to learn myself while helping fellow students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Learn & Work
Intern at MALCS (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJune 11, 2013
Pros: insight into the academy as an employee and as a faculty member.
Cons: low wages
A typical day at work meant interacting with other faculty, staff, and students in order to help continue building our department program. I learned how to take on various roles and responsibilities that prepared me for future employment. I was given self-management authority and working with co-workers was a delight because of the mutual respect for – more... all co-workers. The hardest part of my job was leaving it, and the most enjoyable part was working with the professors. – less