The Vitamin Shoppe Employee Reviews

Found 277 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware: Micromanagement!
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Niles, OhioJanuary 15, 2012
I worked at the Vitamin Shoppe for a little over a year. In the beginning, it was a great environment. We set up our own, new store, and we were all learning on the floor in another store close by. The training through Vitamin Shoppe University is helpful at first, but if you learn at anything past a normal rate, meaning you read an absorb information quickly, it becomes useless after about five months, when you can't go any further because you have finished it before the allotted time period. Store manager was responsible for store operations, inventory accuracy, sales, market activation, recruitment and hiring, and a plethora of other, sometimes menial, tasks. In my particular store, we went through about half a dozen people in a year, most of which were forced to give their resignation (like myself,) for reasons not made clear, or they were threats in the guise of 'not being a motivational fit.' The Vitamin Shoppe is all about the 'Vitamin Shoppe speak'. If you don't speak it, you are doomed to exist at a low level forever. Company sponsored events are only for store managers and above. Nothing is done to educate lower level employees past VSU, though they practically demand you have working knowledge of everything they sell. The dress code is termed business casual, which in VS speak, means khakis (though I got asked not to wear them, because they don't look professional enough,) black slacks, and button down shirts in royal or sky blue (heaven forbid you wear a different shade of blue... they WILL send you home if you even remotely break dress code,) black, or white. They  more... also profess their makeup and jewelry policy is 'minimal,' but I was told I don't wear enough makeup (because I don't like to look like a hooker whilst trying to remain professional.) They are willing to look past things like makeup, jewelry, knowledge, personability, ability to do the job, etc., if you are either a spineless jellyfish who doesn't know too much so they can feel safe with you knowing their secrets, or you are an over-done Pamela Anderson type who teaches hula-hoop classes and you have a degree in Community Fitness, and those are your only qualifying traits. Seriously, that is who they hired at my store, and upon voicing my professional opinion, I was threatened with termination if I continued to be negative. District managers will call you several times a day, sometimes, just to pass off some ridiculous new initiative or task to keep you busy. If you are not selling, you are restocking, moving top-stock around, blocking and facing, rotating, cleaning, etc. If you are in a slow store on a slow day, they assume you will literally FIND things to do. Even if paperwork is caught up, cleaning is done, everything is going according to schedule, and there are no customers. They will always find a way to make you work, even if you just want to take a well-deserved hour break and just read up on some nutritional journals. Again, I cannot stress this enough: NOT the place to work if you wish to advance yourself. They would rather hire someone new than promote from within, regardless of skill, ability, and performance. I cannot speak from the part-time side, but they will refuse to work around your schedule, and force you to decide between school and the job.  less
Pros
benefits packages are amazing, company reimburses all travel expenses, associate discount, training program is fairly effective
Cons
micromanagement, no job security, they force people to quit rather than fire them, no one in upper management is ever fully honest, dress code policy is far too stringent, store managers have to do too much work
Was this review helpful?Yes43No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does not value it employee's. Underpayed, undervalued and treated as replacements.
Health Enthusiast (Former Employee) –  Mentor OhioDecember 4, 2013
Working with the Vitamin Shoppe has to be one of the worst experiences of my life. I worked in the Woodmere Ohio location from Feb 2013 to August 2013. They made rash and over ambitious promotions within the store without properly interviewing. I personally watched my assistant manager steal products along side the Store Manager. I moved stores to the Mentor Ohio where it was a major difference. Once I settled in, I made the decision to make a HR complaint about the stolen products. Not only did it take months for the company to only tell me they did not find the proper information to charge to terminate the employee's, it showed the lack of follow through within the company. 3 months is not acceptable for an HR investigation for any company.

Room to Grow?? Forget about it. I can't speak on other stores and district, but I can tell you in that district, it is almost nearly impossible. After speaking with fellow employees who have invested years of employment with the Vitamin shoppe, it was a commonality. Most were concerned that friendships were valued more than talent and growth. Many store managers have personal relationships that borderline inappropriate for the workplace. Many, are relationships outside the workplace.

Health Enthusiast position is a joke. They speak highly on the value of the position to the company but they almost allow nothing to be done by the Health enthusiasts except help customers and put stock away. For instance, the company has a lot of internal theft problems and they insist on making acquisitions only on those people in those positions. For instance,
  more... the emails that are sent to each store are labeled with "Make sure you bag check every health enthusiast before leaving the store". It's blasphemy. they do not trust health enthusiasts and pretty much deem them replaceable. They will fire Health Enthusiasts for anything, but will not properly hold management accountable for anything.

Hours, that is another joke. You will be promised the hours you will get and then without notice you will be dropped. No discussion, nothing. Many Health enthusiasts fight for hours which creates a riff between employees. Management has no problem with this because they are guaranteed full time as Health Enthusiasts are not. DO NOT EXPECT to receive hours for good work, many if not all Health enthusiasts will tell you this.

Pay...oh goodness. You are expected to know so much information with very little incentive. its just barely above minimum wage. Pair that with the 'hours" fiasco and you have a recipe to 'hate your job".

Product knowledge is another rough topic. They like to hire only gym related "men" as health enthusiasts for the simple fact of the highest income per items, which is protein based items. which would seem like a good idea business wise to relate information to customers, but, with over 10,000 products in store and with an ever changing supplement world, its terrible. they have a program that allows you to learn about each section in the store. However some stores only have one computer. When you have multiple managers using the computer all day for emails, sales goals and other management resources....it's an honest to god pain.

So with that being said, I would advise anyone to reconsider working with company as it is not a place for people to progress within, enjoy or take serious. I will also state that this specific district in this specific area is one of the worst. that is also another commonality, other districts frequently talk about how they do not wish to be in that district. Mainly because of the District manager. Expect to be held accountable for any mistakes for months if not years. nothing gets resolved at said time but it will be used against you down the road and prevent you from enjoying your job and growing within the company.

you have a better shot at working in Fast Food.
  less
Pros
product knowledge you can take to further jobs/careers post vitamin shoppe
Cons
lack of management, lack of trust, lack of hours, underpayed, overworked
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micromanagement At Its Best!!!
Former Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Mesquite, TexasMay 13, 2013
Typical Day: You get to work with your friends and people you sincerely being around, you help customers with their health and wellness needs, you rotate product, and you do various other operational tasks throughout the day.

What I Learned: That you can be promoted to store manager, and take the store from the worst in the district to the best - and then get fired for providing Military, Police and Fire Discounts (evidently it's against company policy, yet I've still not gotten a response from the HR department on my request to review the company policy on discounts. Oh, by the way GNC makes it well known that they provide a 15% military discount). In addition, if you are in favor of "double standards" you will love working for THEEEE Vitamin Shoppe. The District Manger (Dallas) has such a blatant "double standard" policy (ex: Hey lets make the store manager of the WORST performing store in the district - the field training manager. Hey, why don't we fire the store manager of the BEST performing store for giving Military, Police and Fire discounts.) HMMMM. Not a good business move.

Management: District Manager and above.....kind of a combination of jellyfish (no spine) and a rodent (sneeky and does things behind your back). You have your executive management team that has zero background in health and wellness, left a major toy distributor to wreak havoc on a previously well-run, culturally-strong company. It seems that the Dallas, Tx district has a major turnover rate - probably one of the highest in the company for store managers. So if you are considering applying to be
  more... a store manager - look out, watch your back!!

Co-Workers: Some of the best people I've ever worked with. I have created some great long-term friendships with my former co-workers. I talk to a great deal of them several times per week - that aspect was well worth the investment of my 2.5 years with THEEEE Vitamin Shoppe.

Hardest Part of The Job: Lack of Leadership above the store level. Nothing you ever do is ever good enough. I can count on one hand how many times in almost a year of store management I ever received a positive comment about our team's accomplishments (From anyone). I have had the luxury of learning a great deal from numerous leadership styles. I have learned just as much from poor leaders as I have great leaders, and I truly applied lessons from both. The District Manager that so-called "leads" the Dallas, Tx district is an example of "what not to do" especially with your team members.

The Best Part of The Job: Getting to work with people you consider to be your close friends. And for the most part, getting the opportunity to help customers is a rewarding aspect, especially when a customer returns and specifically tells you they they are feeling so much better due to the suggestion that you made for them. That's a great feeling!!!!
  less
Pros
you get to work with great friends
Cons
district manager, micromanagement, spineless executive management
Was this review helpful?Yes15No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOT a good place for store managers at all
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, INFebruary 12, 2014
Your typical day is spent working usually a 8-13 hour shift stocking shelves, working with customers (when you can), and doing a lot of unnecessary (if not redundant) paperwork. You are also responsible for making sure that inventory is spot on, constantly.
What I learned about managing a store for Vitamin Shoppe was that it's just a surprisingly unhealthy work environment overall. This surprised me, because they sell 'health'. In my case I had a district manager who was probably the most unqualified person to be a DM I have ever run across. She clearly had no understanding of what it meant to be a manager let alone of how to treat people. Even with a decade of management experience, my experience didn't matter at all. It was her way or nothing and VS is not the least interested in your opinions (unless they are ideas that clearly don't build a business). If you needed help or support from your DM, forget about it, you weren't getting it and then to make things worse, it was sometimes spinned that the problem you're having was your fault. VS was to put it simply, a snake pit. Co-workers were okay for the most part. SM's seem to see a lot of turnover for some reason. Hardest part of the job I think was just dealing with my DM because she had like two personalities and you never knew which one you were getting and even then her communication was horrible (again, your fault not hers). Most enjoyable part of the job I would say would've been working with the customers, which I wish I had more time for. Overall, I thought VS was a company that survived by practicing like they were
  more... running a actual company. There was no sense of how to do business or of how to treat their staff. I thought they hired seriously unqualified people for certain positions and the people that were qualified either don't last long or aren't hired (probably because they threaten the others because they actually make sensible recommendations). If you're going in as a SM, don't plan on being there long and start looking for a job right away. You're more likely to quit from the dumb stress or get fired. Not a great company at all and it's sad, because they really could be better than their competitors if they just made better business decisions and had better communication with their employees.  less
Pros
pay and benefits, on-going education
Cons
very poor communication and decision making from upper management, too much redundant paperwork, high turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes14No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company to work for. Expand, Greed, Money, Poor pay to the worker.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Auburn Hills, MISeptember 8, 2011
The corporation is interested in becoming a starbucks corporate monster. It only cares about expanding and money. The hard working sales associates that have to know so much about natural health and do most of the work get paid hardly anything. People are hired for higher positions that have never even worked in the health industry and know hardly anything about health. The company seems to just like to show disrespect to the hard workers who do all the work. Its better than slave labor, but for all the money the company has you would think that they would want to pay their workers more. Alot of turnover. It makes me sick to think that this company is so corporate and hardly practices the values and decent human relations that are associated with natural lifestyles. Just another corporate company that overlooks the hard working under paid worker. I have worked there among other health retail stores and attended meetings so I am not just some previous employer who got the short end of the stick and is bitter. Other people will say the same thing about it. The company needs to treat the person who makes the money for it and with more respect and also needs to increase the pay. Fix the computers that take forever to load. It also needs to learn about human relations skills. Quality and happy employess would bring in more sales then expanding and paying minimum wage. The corporates dont seem to get the fact that an unhappy employee is a not a good thing. Unfortuantly there are not many companies that have morals and decent respect for the worker. Their main concern is expanding  more... and becoming a corporate leader in the industry and dont care about whether the associates are educated or happy. A sales associate is responsible for processing shipment from many totes on shipment days, pricing the products, special orders, learning on the computer through the companies training programs, selling to customers and moping or vacuming sweeping cleaning bathrooms and counters and windows and even made me go outside and clean up trash around the paking lot. When a higher up comes into the store you have to be all fake and sell sell sell. Would you like this flyer and vitamin shoppe brand product and how about this that you dont need also? Good just as long as we make a profit. What ever happend to helping others for the sake of helping, and having the money from sales just be the icing on the cake not the main focus.  less
Pros
natural supplements
Cons
disrespect and poor pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Potential to learn a lot - if your tasks don't get in the way!
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FLFebruary 6, 2014
Was hired on as an ASM and of course, brought in at a higher pay rate. A recent key holder was promoted to the other ASM role and boy was she short changed! Overall, not a bad gig. They train you through online courses; you learn from coworkers; and you take in information from customers as well! All can be applied to helping and assisting others.

My gripes - the SM (who is a great person) in my opinion is not an ideal SM (never ordering supplies properly; does not pull his share of closing shifts; leaves early and justifies it due to working 6 days or pulling a double; not holding staff accountable for shifts; not being a working manager by taking on tasks as well); when trying to adjust personal schedule for a last minute need it's like the end of the world. I personally worked a double so the SM could spend Halloween with their kid due to the PT employee calling out and I get no thanks or nothing.
Pay? Coming in from the outside is the way to go.
Benefits? Your typical run of the mill. Wasn't too bad.
Raises? Didn't stick around to get one due to leaving.
Perks? You get tons of samples to try! Oh and a free tshirt here and there too from vendors.
Tasks? Way too many at times. Whether rotating product; pushing to get Vitamin Shop brand products sold and missing sales goals; to the recovery. It's often stressful because not everyone pulls their weight.
Due to poor pay, it's impossible to hold another job due to the schedule rotating every week and the DM wanted it that way. So if you're not looking for a lot of money, this job may be right up your alley.
Pros
see in write up
Cons
see in write up
Was this review helpful?Yes32No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to Day Operations
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Garden CityNovember 2, 2013
Oversee all store operations, enforce all store merchandising
procedures
· Recruit, train, schedule and coach a high performance
sales team
· Play a leadership role in customer service
· Understand the financial improvement of the company and initiate
actions to improve results at the district
· Understand and apply complex product knowledge
· Receive and process shipments and maintain inventory control
· Establishes, models and reinforces outstanding customer service and hand selling.
· Fosters a health, fitness and nutrition culture. Fosters a positive work and shopping environment that embraces diversity and promotes sales.
· Builds and develops a team of qualified assistant store managers and sales associates who can achieve established goals and objectives
through recruitment, training and development.
· Executes and maintains operational, promotional, and visual/merchandise standards and initiatives, ensuring that the Vitamin Shoppe Brand
and company are well represented.
· performance reviews; creates goals and implements learning plans to develop Assistant Store Managers and Associates, building a talent
bench ready for promotion.
· Coaches and counsels all team members on performance issues, taking appropriate corrective action in partnership with District Manager and
following human resources and operational guidelines to recognize and anticipate issues.
· Creates appropriate schedules based on workload planning strategic and tactical standards.
· Protects and maintains company assets and resources to include inventory accuracy.
· Manages expense within budget.
· Maintains
  more... effective communication and partners with District Manager and Customer Service Center.
· Effectively communicates and brings to life the company vision, values and expectations in the store, and provides timely feedback on these
goals to each member of the store staff.
· Achieves or exceeds all financial goals established for the store; meets and or exceeds sales plan.
· To Interview and Hire possible Store Managers, Assistant Managers and Sale Associates for employment at the Vitamin Shoppe for District
Manager.
· Helps DM Corrdinate the Successful Completion of a New stores opening process
· Models and reinforces outstanding customer service through leadership and example.
  less
Pros
great discount, easy job and life style
Cons
does not pay well for what u need to know
Was this review helpful?Yes26No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunities, fun work environment
Key Holder/ Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Mentor, OhOctober 4, 2015
Establish, model, and reinforce the Branded Customer Experience (customer service) and hand selling technique. Use product information, sampling and available resources to educate customers and assist them in making product selections that are right for them. Promptly serve customers, minimizing wait time. Coach and direct staff regarding model service, selling, and customer engagement behaviors. Lead and participate in learning and development activities (daily store meetings and product/online education) in order to provide optimal customer service. Complete Learning Path and Vitamin Shoppe University training activities in established timelines. Protect and maintain company assets and resources to include cash control, inventory, fixtures and physical facility to prevent theft, ensuring Loss Prevention standards. Maintain the confidentiality and security of sales records and operational reports. Ensure work environment is safe for both customers and Health Enthusiasts. Oversee and perform regular maintenance; Clean shelves, baskets, backrooms, windows, front sidewalks, bathrooms, and floors according to company policy as directed by the management team. Receive shipments, assist in unloading stock, checking products against invoice, sorting and distributing stock, stocking shelves, pricing merchandise, cleaning fixtures and displaying products. Aid the management team in the
implementation of merchandising, promotional and operational standards. Perform category maintenance by rotating products according to the company’s product rotation policy. Identify and document the
  more... return of damaged, discontinued or expired product. Aid in new store initiatives.  less
Pros
Minimal stress, has opportunity to advance if you put forth the effort
Cons
Must be flexible with schedule in order to hit 40 hrs, never a consistent work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job, but very poor management.
Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAFebruary 8, 2016
The Vitamin Shoppe is a very easy place to work. They do not require any knowledge of products when starting, you'll learn on-th-job. I really enjoy working full-time here, unfortunately the management and upper management are horrible. They don't value their health enthusiasts/ employees. They're all very good at dancing around questions and not giving anyone the raises that were promised to them (Which are only 10 cents by the way! Talk about cheap!) It's very difficult to move up in the company. Since my employment began early last year, I've seen two women passed up for both the store manager, and assistant store manager positions even though though they expressed interest and have been with the company for years. They were not even given interviews before 2 men were brought in, one just hired from outside the company. Unfortunately, because of this disregard for their employees desires to move up in the company, I've seen a very high turn over rate with ASM's, and Key Holders. My hours have recently been cut from 40 to 30, and I am looking for a new job because the manager just doesn't care that I'm not making enough now to pay my bills. The managers do not care about their employees at all! I do not recommend this job. If you value yourself, you should look for a job where your co-workers and managers value you as well. They will not value you at The Vitamin Shoppe.
Pros
Easy, train on-the-job, health benefits, merch discount.
Cons
Poor management, do not value their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started out great then it went downhill fast!
Sales (Former Employee) –  IllinoisApril 29, 2013
Company is very inconsistent when it comes to what policies and procedures they decide to follow on that particular day! SM did whatever they wanted and made things up and they went along. DM was horrible, had no idea how to be professional but always stressed how professional we were supposed to be. AM had absolutely no idea how to do their job and everyone else was expected to accommodate for them and to make up for their work they couldn't do. AM was also a horrible person, lied, never took accountability for their actions and was a manipulative human being! There were many issue with the AM but upper management would rather protect them than act like they care about any other employees. Loved to retaliate against you if you had any complaints that might make them look bad! Are not flexible when it comes to sick time, sick kids, etc. They'd rather punish you for being late or calling in then understand your situation and care about you as a person. Seemed like they only cared about making the company money and not you as a person. SM and AM never did their job, and thought everyone else would do it for them! Keyholder and other employees were held to a higher standard then the two people int he store that should have been help responsible and accountable. Not a fair company at all, don't recommend going to work for them, at least not in my specific district.
Pros
employee discounts
Cons
horrible horrible managment
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great customers looking to improve there health through alternative medicine.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAAugust 9, 2013
The Vitamin Shoppe is one of the top leading Health and Nutritional Supplemental retail companies leading the industry. I am very proud to have worked with such a great company and team as well as the helping and planning with the opening of the store in August of 2006. The company focused on highly educating the employees on health and supplementation so that the customer and employee would be able to build a close relationship and understanding to achieve each individual customer needs. The company did so through means of online classes and schooling, as well as keeping in close contact with the local retail companies that we did business with. My home store location achieved great success by being a 1.2 million dollar store by the end of 2007. This was a great accomplishment. My team and I focused on building strong relationships with customers and local businesses to build a high clientele which lead to our success. I helped to lead a team of employees that were trained and educated in customer service, health, nutrition and supplementation. Along with training a staff, my other duties while at the Vitamin Shoppe included inventory accuracy, loss prevention, running a cash register and computer center, multi-tasking, market activation, store planning and setting up promotions and events.
Pros
the wonderful customers and employees, and education through the store made the place a great place to work.
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, where everyone works with one another as a team
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYAugust 19, 2014
A typical day at work would be ringing out customers in the cashier, picking up phone calls, and providing customers with information on a product or whether we have the product in our store. I also handle special orders, in which we would order a product for a customer from our company and give them a call as soon as the product has arrived.
I have learned more about time management, and found that I am excellent in dealing with multiple task at once, in which I would finish my task quickly. I also learned to handle any problem that a customer might have, and resolving it in a reasonable manner while also showing empathy for their situation.
Management, as well as co-workers are good, everyone gets along with one another, and are treated fairly. Everyone works together as a team, and provides help when needed.
The hardest part of the job would be rush over, where we have many customers in the store. At times it could be a little overwhelming, but I handle to situation very calmly and I do a good job handling multiple customers. The most enjoyable part of my job would be helping a customer with either finding a product or giving them information on a vitamin, and how it can benefit their health.
Pros
work environment
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes13No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deceptive hiring practices, poor pay, backstabbing culture
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  San Francisco bay areaAugust 3, 2012
Everyone is told during the interview that the company promotes from within. Three years experience has shown that only the most basic positions get promoted to a slightly higher position. They string assistant store managers along with the promise of getting their own store; what the company really does is make a pool of on-call store manager relief personnel called "managers in reserve." The odds of actually getting promoted to manager are slim to none. Excellent staff had to quit first and then re-apply. Very high turnover.
The district managers smile to your face all the while looking for an opening to make themselves look productive by writing you up: e,g,: a health enthusiast's cuff-button popped while the dm was there and he and the store got dinged for not being in uniform.
Pay depends on the area, and is incredibly poor considering all the requirements.
Pros
the opportunity to educate the public in nutrition and find adjuncts to the medical system
Cons
horrible pay, horrible hours, no opportunity for promotion, micromanagement by remote upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most enjoyable part of the job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 15, 2015
Worked at The Vitamin Shoppe for many years and became very familiar with several locations within Manhattan. Some of the best moments came from customer interactions. I really enjoyed helping and learning from the customers. Interacting with the customers was a great way to learn about new trends within the health and wellness industry. It is a very rewarding job if you want to a have an impact on customers' lives. Besides this, TVS pays too little attention to its store managers. Store Managers are often not held accountable for their lack of organization. Many stores do not have appropriate facilities such as restrooms and meeting areas. This would lead to managers having "on the spot coaching" or berating on a sales floor. TVS would greatly improve its service to the public by keeping its prices moderate and hiring more educated employees. Overall, retail is a thankless job and VS corporate office helps to solidify this by underpaying and cutting benefits to its retail employees.
Cons
Retail burnout. Not enough days off
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and educational work environment.
Health Enthusiast (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 21, 2015
One of the most important duties as a Health Enthusiast is to educate your customers in the way of a healthier lifestyle. Everyday (working at the busiest store in the manhattan area) whether it be a regular customer or a tourist from another country whose never taken a health supplement before everyone is going to have questions on what would suit them and their specific needs. So it is the responsibility of each and every health enthusiast to provide this information and make sure every customer leaves satisfied. At my store i always felt that my management team and coworkers worked very well together and had good communication. I would say one of the hardest things about working at this location was learning about each individual product being that there were over 3000 supplements. My favorite part of my job would definitely be the customer interaction. Being able to help customers and knowing that i have personally made a difference in their health life makes me feel outstanding!
Pros
free health supplement samples
Cons
no set schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cheap Company, you're not worth the investment
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  San AntonioFebruary 25, 2014
Very competitive environment among employees/managers. Other employees have job security issues and refuse to train new employees properly. Company hires no one over 30 hours, wastes time by hiring multiple employees to close 8 hrs/week instead of giving other employees full time hours. Extremely cheap company, you get written up if you clock in a minute early. Company makes way too much emphasis on greeting customers, most people want to be acknowledged, but left alone to shop/ Management is salary, the store I worked at, the woman worked 12 hour days, stressing herself and the employees out. Pathetic way to run a business, not worth your time. Breaks are not allowed for employees either, only 30 minute lunches that you cannot take until someone comes in to cover your shift. So if you start at 8, be prepared to wait until 2:30-3 to take a lunch.
Pros
discount, cheap supplements
Cons
poor management structure, rude coworkers, poor treatment of employees
Was this review helpful?Yes39No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Under valued and under paid
Manager (Current Employee) –  ColoradoJuly 6, 2013
i have worked at the Vitamin Shoppe for well over 4 years and moved my way up from part-time to a Store Manager position. The biggest concern with this company is that moving up internally gets you less pay that if you were to come from outside the company with zero experience. The pay rates for employees is way below what should you should get paid. experience in the company gets you nothing when moving up, they don't value associates we are all replaceable. Company is super cheap, worse computer network for getting tasks done, can barely load internet pages and if you can they are blocked, which makes it hard to help customers. Lack of communication is the biggest problem company wide, no one takes responsibility for mistakes.
Its a shame that they are just letting a experienced manager walk out the door. actually as a 40 hr Key holder I'm getting my hours cut so that they can force me out and replace me.

Shame on this company for their bad business practices.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Retail Experience Ever - Horrible Management
Keyholder (Current Employee) –  Would rather not sayMay 7, 2014
I am a current employee - keyholder, and I have never felt so taken advantage of by a company.
We lost our store manager and it's been TWO MONTHS of waiting for a replacement, with no communication from upper management. We all think they're milking the timeframe of 90 days to hire a new manager while we all work double the hours, with no further help, no temps, no appreciation, no 'good job', just constantly being yelled at when something goes wrong that the store manager is qualified to do - and none of us were ever trained in that position.
I enjoy the customers and the knowledge but this company simply takes advantage of its' employees and does not care at all what you're going through as long as they're making sales. Working here for a few more months and then never again because I have never been so underappreciated by a company in my life.
Pros
customers, product knowledge, great co-workers
Cons
poor management, little to no communication, exploitation of employees, overworked, underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes15No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Vitamin Shoppe
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  NYAugust 11, 2015
Assistant Manager hired 1 1/2 years ago. Pay rate is low. One year raise at 21 cents! Learning about store product is critical and the company has learning paths that are very good at educating on product. Store manager is not qualified or effective in position. Environment is good for retail - all customers are welcomed and addressed and assisted. Customers are treated as if they are important. Staff is not. Micro-management, lack of imagination and humor as well as zero people-skills possessed by my particular store manager make the job far less enjoyable than it could be. The hardest part of the position is staying motivated while enduring low wages and bad management. The most enjoyable is making connections with customers and having the tools/information to truly help them with their needs. My co-workers are mainly young, bright people using the job as short term income. Very difficult to hire new people due to the low wage. Very difficult to retain good people due to bad management.
Pros
Customer friendly.
Cons
Low pay. Bad management.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the "vitamin shoppe"
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Long Island, NYJune 29, 2014
After working 6 years for this company it came to an end. I held the Associate position for 1 year then received a promotion for an Assistant manager for 2 years and ended up with a Store manager's position for 3 years, however the companies moral and ethical standards have gone down the drain. The District Maanager's are unprofessional with the store manager's, For example, I have been treated unfairly numerous times. There were times when my District Manager refused to approve my vacation / carry over time. You have to deal with a lot for a very little amount. The manager must do doubles if any one calls out and after completing double shifts there are no recognitions for hard work, however more questions are asked by the senior's.Uncomfortable environment due to many robberies , overall unsafe for many individuals and it has become a political place where the associates are unreliable.
Pros
free samples of products
Cons
disrespectful, discouraging, no loyalty towards employees
Was this review helpful?Yes27No6

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 278 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture