Find companies:
The Vitamin Shoppe
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
101 reviews

The Vitamin Shoppe Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Potential, bad execution
Store Manager (Current Employee), USAJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: people, education, discount, samples
Cons: no advancement, poor communication, compensation/benefits
Started out as a great company to work for. I really was looking forward to my future, however even with my store's success, nothing ever really happened.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
Key Holder (Current Employee), Lakewood, CAJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: monthly bonuses
Cons: poor management and care for employees internally.
While I enjoy the experience and education gained, I have found that the company itself has a hard time supporting it's excellent employees and encouraging those not so excellent to perform better. I have had issues with management leading a structure facility that promotes growth and emphasizes good work ethic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing experience coaching kids
P/T Sales Associate (Current Employee), Garden City, NYDecember 26, 2013
Pros: great kids
Cons: late night practices
An amazing experience coaching kids. Practices are three times a week. All of the kids are respectful and willing to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place for experience
Associate/ Key-holder (Current Employee), Garden City, NYDecember 11, 2013
Pros: enjoyable work enviorment
Cons: lack of pay
Working at The Vitamin Shoppe has helped me develop strong relationships with customers and employees. It also has helped me with learning responsibilities and managing deadlines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Very Fun
Picker/Packer (Former Employee), North Bergen, NJDecember 4, 2013
Learned as i went and just made the best of it all the time due to the fact that i did the overnight shifts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
General Store Manager (Current Employee), Tampa, FLNovember 17, 2013
Great place, fun, great customers, good place to learn about retail
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to Day Operations
Store Manager (Current Employee), Garden CityNovember 2, 2013
Pros: great discount, easy job and life style
Cons: does not pay well for what u need to know
Oversee all store operations, enforce all store merchandising
procedures
· Recruit, train, schedule and coach a high performance
sales team
· Play a leadership role in customer service
· Understand the financial improvement of the company and initiate
actions to improve results at the district
· Understand and apply complex product knowledge
· Receive – more... and process shipments and maintain inventory control
· Establishes, models and reinforces outstanding customer service and hand selling.
· Fosters a health, fitness and nutrition culture. Fosters a positive work and shopping environment that embraces diversity and promotes sales.
· Builds and develops a team of qualified assistant store managers and sales associates who can achieve established goals and objectives
through recruitment, training and development.
· Executes and maintains operational, promotional, and visual/merchandise standards and initiatives, ensuring that the Vitamin Shoppe Brand
and company are well represented.
· performance reviews; creates goals and implements learning plans to develop Assistant Store Managers and Associates, building a talent
bench ready for promotion.
· Coaches and counsels all team members on performance issues, taking appropriate corrective action in partnership with District Manager and
following human resources and operational guidelines to recognize and anticipate issues.
· Creates appropriate schedules based on workload planning strategic and tactical standards.
· Protects and maintains company assets and resources to include inventory accuracy.
· Manages expense within budget.
· Maintains effective communication and partners with District Manager and Customer Service Center.
· Effectively communicates and brings to life the company vision, values and expectations in the store, and provides timely feedback on these
goals to each member of the store staff.
· Achieves or exceeds all financial goals established for the store; meets and or exceeds sales plan.
· To Interview and Hire possible Store Managers, Assistant Managers and Sale Associates for employment at the Vitamin Shoppe for District
Manager.
· Helps DM Corrdinate the Successful Completion of a New stores opening process
· Models and reinforces outstanding customer service through leadership and example. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Retail
Shift Manager/Keyholder (Former Employee), Daytona Beach, FLOctober 29, 2013
Pros: discount, advancement
Cons: at will employer, $0.15 raises
Bad for anyone who has a family, needs something dependable or regular unchanging hours.

Good for some one who is retired or a student or single person home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Company with Advancement Opportunity
Store Manager (Former Employee), Port Saint Lucie, FLOctober 29, 2013
The Vitamin Shoppe was a wonderful place to work. Upper management is fun, energetic, and progressive. If you have a passion for health and wellness and a desire to help others, you will love it there!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from this company!!!
Store Manager (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIOctober 22, 2013
Pros: i learned a lot about supplements.
Cons: just a very bad place to work.
Low pay, basic benefits, controlled work schedule, task expectations that exceed reality. When there, we used to joke that the company kept you so busy that you didn't have time or energy to look for another job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HAPPY PLACE
Store Manager (Former Employee), East Hanover, NJOctober 2, 2013
Pros: happy place
Cons: there are none
LOVE THE VITAMIN SHOPPE JUST NEEDS MORE LOCATIONS ROOM FOR GROWTH
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Store Manager (Current Employee), Bayamón, PRSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: more time
You have more time to spend with your family. Very strong operational skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place to Work
Assistant Manager / Keyholder (Former Employee), Daytona Beach, FLSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: 25% discount
Cons: everything else
This company offers little room for advancement, requires ridiculous hours for little compensation and has a poor structure in place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun co-worker's but the pay was low
Key Holder (Former Employee), CaliforniaSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: fun co-worker's, hours were sufficient, flexible, fun workplace
Cons: low pay, no compensation for dress clothes, manager responsibilities without the pay
Cool place to work while in college. Key holder position is a joke, it's a management position without management pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great customer service and very knowledgeable
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Current Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 4, 2013
Pros: flexible hours, organized
show up at store hour before opening and performed all the m.o.d duties before opening the store to customers such as count registers, count safe, open registers, filled in sales tracking, filled in daily goals and tasks, made sure store was neat and ready for customers. co-workers were very friendly and knowledgeable and didn't mind helping teach about – more... different vitamins. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Oriented and trains employees to learn.
Assistant Store Manager (Present) (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYAugust 16, 2013
Pros: employee discounts, free samples, learning about health and science
Cons: health benefits, clear communication from corporate, bag checks.
The Vitamin Shoppe is a great place for health enthusiasts who want a part-time job and a great employee discount. Advancement is easy because attrition is high. However as you advance in position and responsibility you do/ learn less about health with the exception of the annual week- long learning conference. The more you manage the more you focus – more... on sales, budgeting, administration and other things typical to retail management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of empty promises
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), North Olmsted, OHAugust 14, 2013
Not good to employees. Lots of promises to many many people with no action over years of time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great customers looking to improve there health through alternative medicine.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Richmond, VAAugust 9, 2013
Pros: the wonderful customers and employees, and education through the store made the place a great place to work.
Cons: none.
The Vitamin Shoppe is one of the top leading Health and Nutritional Supplemental retail companies leading the industry. I am very proud to have worked with such a great company and team as well as the helping and planning with the opening of the store in August of 2006. The company focused on highly educating the employees on health and supplementation – more... so that the customer and employee would be able to build a close relationship and understanding to achieve each individual customer needs. The company did so through means of online classes and schooling, as well as keeping in close contact with the local retail companies that we did business with. My home store location achieved great success by being a 1.2 million dollar store by the end of 2007. This was a great accomplishment. My team and I focused on building strong relationships with customers and local businesses to build a high clientele which lead to our success. I helped to lead a team of employees that were trained and educated in customer service, health, nutrition and supplementation. Along with training a staff, my other duties while at the Vitamin Shoppe included inventory accuracy, loss prevention, running a cash register and computer center, multi-tasking, market activation, store planning and setting up promotions and events. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Knowledge
Store Manager (Former Employee), Miami, FLAugust 6, 2013
Pros: a world of knowledge
Cons: the pay is not exactly competitive.
Working for the Vitamin Shoppe for 9 years, has been a place for personal and work related growth. I have learned so much moving from part time to store manager. It will always hold a special place in my heart.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Produtive and a Fun Place To Work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), mission viejo, caJuly 30, 2013
Pros: no day is the same, awesome managers
Cons: no vacation time, hard to move up
I really have enjoyed working for The Vitamin Shoppe, every day brings something different and I get to meet incredible and very interesting people all the time. I also really like the managers and other team members that I work with. They help me with learning more about the products and anything else that I need.

About The Vitamin Shoppe

Vitamin Shoppe helps vitamin-takers meet their recommended daily requirements. The fast-growing company sells vitamins, supplements, – Read more