The Vitamin Shoppe Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 24, 2017
Good place to work, would recommend to a friend. Management was great and very helpful. Laid back culture and very good work/life balance. However, sometimes too slow and can be boring.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  5 different storesNovember 16, 2017
not a career just a job didnt like working alone did not feel safe. hours very reduced. must like nutrition to enjoy job..............................
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to learn about health continuously
Retail Clerk (Former Employee) –  Madison, WINovember 14, 2017
Every hour is geared toward customer service. Learned alot about health and nutrition, from company and customers as well. the workplace culture is somewhat laid back.
Pros
Education
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee) –  North Bergen, NJNovember 10, 2017
Sr.Management was always available and support open communications. Great people as all focused on common goals and achieved them on time. Look forward to future contract engagements.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Health Enthusiast (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSNovember 8, 2017
The Culture of the company is diverse. The environment is very

relaxed and casual. A great place to work. Its very educational. The

only negative about the company is that if you are part-time you

donot get any benefits. But if you have other sources of income this

is an easy place to work at.
Pros
Casual Environment
Cons
No Benefits Offered To part-timers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLNovember 7, 2017
I love working at the vitamin shoppe. For me though having two degrees I am just looking for something different. Really good pay for the amount of work. Great place to work.
Pros
discount, lots of breaks
Cons
uniform
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard retail/sales job for those who are interested in health
Assistant Manager/Key Holder/Health Enthusiast (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MONovember 7, 2017
Working at Vitamin Shoppe has been a good experience overall. The manager I worked for was always very flexible with my schedule, both during my time as a student and afterwards. The hours weren't that hard to manage, especially once I graduated. The benefits were good, but I cannot see someone who doesn't take personal health seriously enjoying working there.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent benefits
Manager (Current Employee) –  LouisianaOctober 29, 2017
Job comes with decent benefits and provides a decent work-life balance as far as retail jobs go. Company is having some identity issues at this moment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
picking
Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJOctober 29, 2017
order picker pick piles and load in a ben for them to load you have a line of people rotating.aru.ound the warehouse in a fast paase.then they have people load them.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, great perks!
Key Holder (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaOctober 27, 2017
A great company to work for! I have another primary job source so I use this to supplement my income. However, I do wish I worked less hours but that comes with the territory of working in sales. Each store employee capacity is different and as a smaller store I have to pull more hours with less people on staff. Great company, great environment, a lot to learn but they teach you all of the essentials! It was a good pick in terms of a supplement store to work for.
Pros
40% discount on store owned brands and 20% discount on any other brand
Cons
Hours of operation
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport

Want to know more about The Vitamin Shoppe?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 25, 2017
The Vitamin Shoppe is a great company to work for. During my time here I have been able to meet a diverse group of people from our guest to out employees. The atmosphere is very friendly and open.
Pros
Sampling of many different supplements
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Farmington Hills, MIOctober 25, 2017
It was a negative work environment. Management was backwards. Company mandated daily sales goals that were impossible to reach. Hard to approach district level management for help.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYOctober 25, 2017
Learned a lot, not much different than other retail jobs. Can be slow at times depending on your stores location. Customers are generally interested in learning about products.
Pros
Supplement Knowledge
Cons
Can be slow depending on location
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's interesting
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 24, 2017
It is an interesting place to work at. Depending on your manager it will be a great place or not. Promotion from within is something it really lacks and is what causes so many employees to not be happy and just leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Health Lifestyle Experience
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Coconut Creek, FLOctober 23, 2017
Great Job overall. A very Structured Company- Hourly shifts from 9am to 9pm Monday to Saturday and 11-6pm Sundays. Shift varies based on store staff needs. I learned on how to provide to the customers all the necessary information they need in terms of Health and Wellness, even I put myself into practices the VS Health and Wellness Goals, with great results. Working with staff was great for the most part. Coaching and development new hires and existing staff members in order to ensure they can perform their job according to VS Policies and Culture.
Pros
Great place enviroment-a Health Learning school type athmosphere
Cons
To much paperwork
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  South CarolinaOctober 17, 2017
I love working at The Vitamin Shoppe. Upper management is supportive. Customers are easy going. Pay is competitive. Perks are awesome. We also earn monthly bonuses.
Pros
Free products and education
Cons
Shipment errors cause inventory shortages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People were friendly
Forklift Operator/Blender Operator (Former Employee) –  Piscataway, NJOctober 16, 2017
The work atmosphere was not very clean most of the time and the pay was very low.There were helpful assoc.However,.The place had been under warning for its lack of cleanliness.
Pros
The discounts were goo.
Cons
The place lacked safety violation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at work
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 13, 2017
1.All day assistance to customers.

2. Employee TEAMWORK !

3.Managing the store. Keeping everything organized and minor paper work that needs to be completed.

4.Knowledge on Products.
Pros
Discounts, hours weekly are fine
Cons
Salary is stagnant and won't improve.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Director of Finance (Former Employee) –  North Bergen, NJOctober 12, 2017
Time at the Vitamin Shoppe was exceptional. I learned a lot and there was great opportunity for internal promotion. Exposed to man different sides of the business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Staten Island, NYOctober 11, 2017
The location i was at was great with good people and very very friendly customers. This was Probally one of the biggest stores ive ever worked in but it was a challenge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Vitamin Shoppe. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 622 reviews
5175
4194
3151
262
140

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.7Culture