The Westin Employee Reviews in United States

Found 21 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work if you're getting your foot in the door
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Linthicum, MDOctober 21, 2015
Fun place to work. Opportunities for growth weren't as frequent as expected but they were discussed. Great place to interact with a wide array of people including the occasional celebrity. Management could use some people skill training because they could be disrespectful to both staff and guest which isn't proper use of good customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every year for Christmas they gave us a Turkey!
Engineering Department, Lead Painter (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 26, 2015
A Grand Hotel with a beautiful entrance and three Ballrooms. A lot of work to do as it was so large. Management was very nice and easy to talk to.
Pros
They cleaned our uniforms and had free lunches.
Cons
Way to much work for one painter!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional and fun place to work for
In Room Dining Server (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 6, 2015
I enjoy working for The Westin (starwood property). Evereybody is friendly and are quick to help out when in need. There is always room for growth. in my past 2 years working there, i learned that everybody plays a vital part in which keeps the hotel running safely and efficiently. Management is great on handling any situations good or bad. The most enjoyable part of my job is to be able to interact with the guests and making them feel at home!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bellman
Bellhop/Front Desk (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAJuly 23, 2015
Taking luggage to and from guests rooms. Calling Cabs. Helping guests find their way around the city. Helped guests check in.
Pros
Free Lunch/Dinner
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, energetic place to work
BARTENDER (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAJanuary 31, 2015
Starting the day, I open by setting up the bar. Breaking the bottles of liquor out and displaying them for the guests, cut fruit and set up for daily business. It can be a very fast paced environment maintain multiple things at one time. Serving dining guest, as well as, making drinks for the guest in the lobby. One of the best parts of the job is the social atmosphere of meeting new clients and the constant changing of the scene.
Pros
co-workers, freedom with the craft
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of The Westin
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALMarch 10, 2013
The Westin was an enjoyable job. It was a very hard working job, because you have alot of rooms assigned to you to make sure they are done to standards. Co-workers and management were a pleasure to work with. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting all the customers, and learning about where they were visiting from.
Pros
the westin provided a very nice lunch for all their employees
Cons
when a customer complained about something not being cleaned properly, it looked bad on our department
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definetly opportunites for personal development
Accounts Receivable (Current Employee) –  Hilton Head Island, SCOctober 18, 2012
You have the ability to do your job with limited supervision if you understand and access the tools given. The Westin has created a family atmosphere where there is encouragement to get to know the people you work with. They offer programs to assist you in your development within the company. Within my department there are opportunities to implement new ideas if proven more efficient and effective. Teamwork and communication is vital with each department.
Pros
all associate parties, free lunch, incentives for being safe and going above and beyond your duty
Cons
communication amongst departments
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
valet (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJanuary 22, 2015
The people are amazing. This place is a kick in the door to get experience. Learn and grow - move up quickly in positions or other departments which looks great on the resume for future job applications. Very flexible - I went to school and they worked around my schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro Managing to the max!
Front Desk Agent (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAJuly 25, 2012
If you don't mind micro management this is the place for you! I've been here since we were corporately owned by Starwood. Once this property was franchaised out they seem to monitor every little thing you do. It took awhile to get used to but hey, every company does things differently right?
Pros
hotel discounts
Cons
micro management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a nice workplace for a temporary job
Service Express Agent (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALJuly 21, 2014
- free lunches and dinners
- Management is not always educated.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 17, 2013
Busy hotel with no management oversight.
Although Management is undergoing a change now, the culture needs more improvement.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starwood great for advancement!
Cook 1 (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLAugust 1, 2012
Great company some of the management needs more training in customer service.
Pros
can advance with company
Cons
some managers micro manage
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Bar & Restaurant
Bar Tender (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 22, 2012
Jazz bar and restaurant with great atmosphere and work environment. great staff and management. Wonderful owner!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4 diamond Hotel
banquet server (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALJune 6, 2014
As a banquet server, I set up and tore down banquet events. With a fine dining atmosphere, I furthered my knowledge on how to set tables as well as buffet lines for food and beverage. I also learned how to read BEO’s (Banquet Event Orders). I was trained as a bartender.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern for Westin Charlotte
Pastry Intern (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 15, 2013
I worked at the Westin as an intern through my school. The experience was amazing and I worked with great people. I learned so much in so little time that helped me in other courses for school.
Pros
great work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok enviornment
Dishwasher/Prep Cook (Current Employee) –  Annapolis, MDJune 1, 2014
very steady paced job funny and laid back people awsome place to be
Pros
free lunch and breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive team oreineted & quit enjoyable work.
Guest Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Madison, ALOctober 29, 2012
Serving banquets & various functions taking order, sync serving.
Pros
free lunches, great managment very positive & light work enviroment.
Cons
unstable work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNDecember 10, 2013
I enjoy working at the westin. I work with some great people and learn new things..
Pros
free lunch
Cons
over work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and busy atmosphere
PBX Operator (Current Employee) –  Long Beach, CAFebruary 6, 2014
A typical dayconsist of me answering phone making sure the guest are happy with there stay.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Cook II (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 8, 2012
I enjoy working there everyday. It's not even considered working.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

See more The Westin reviews

You may want to try:

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Westin. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 38 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
3.8
Culture
4.2