Find companies:
The Westin
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

The Westin Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a nice workplace for a temporary job
Service Express Agent (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALJuly 21, 2014
- free lunches and dinners
- Management is not always educated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4 diamond Hotel
banquet server (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALJune 6, 2014
As a banquet server, I set up and tore down banquet events. With a fine dining atmosphere, I furthered my knowledge on how to set tables as well as buffet lines for food and beverage. I also learned how to read BEO’s (Banquet Event Orders). I was trained as a bartender.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok enviornment
Dishwasher/Prep Cook (Current Employee), Annapolis, MDJune 1, 2014
Pros: free lunch and breaks
very steady paced job funny and laid back people awsome place to be
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Front Desk Clerk (Current Employee), Herndon, VirginiaApril 19, 2014
The Westin is a great place to work. Everyone is super nice and easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and busy atmosphere
PBX Operator (Current Employee), Long Beach, CAFebruary 6, 2014
A typical dayconsist of me answering phone making sure the guest are happy with there stay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Room Attendant (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNDecember 10, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: over work
I enjoy working at the westin. I work with some great people and learn new things..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern for Westin Charlotte
Pastry Intern (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 15, 2013
Pros: great work environment
I worked at the Westin as an intern through my school. The experience was amazing and I worked with great people. I learned so much in so little time that helped me in other courses for school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of The Westin
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALMarch 10, 2013
Pros: the westin provided a very nice lunch for all their employees
Cons: when a customer complained about something not being cleaned properly, it looked bad on our department
The Westin was an enjoyable job. It was a very hard working job, because you have alot of rooms assigned to you to make sure they are done to standards. Co-workers and management were a pleasure to work with. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting all the customers, and learning about where they were visiting from.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive team oreineted & quit enjoyable work.
Guest Service Representative (Current Employee), Madison, ALOctober 29, 2012
Pros: free lunches, great managment very positive & light work enviroment.
Cons: unstable work schedule
Serving banquets & various functions taking order, sync serving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definetly opportunites for personal development
Accounts Receivable (Current Employee), Hilton Head Island, SCOctober 18, 2012
Pros: all associate parties, free lunch, incentives for being safe and going above and beyond your duty
Cons: communication amongst departments
You have the ability to do your job with limited supervision if you understand and access the tools given. The Westin has created a family atmosphere where there is encouragement to get to know the people you work with. They offer programs to assist you in your development within the company. Within my department there are opportunities to implement – more... new ideas if proven more efficient and effective. Teamwork and communication is vital with each department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starwood great for advancement!
Cook 1 (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLAugust 1, 2012
Pros: can advance with company
Cons: some managers micro manage
Great company some of the management needs more training in customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro Managing to the max!
Front Desk Agent (Current Employee), Pasadena, CAJuly 25, 2012
Pros: hotel discounts
Cons: micro management
If you don't mind micro management this is the place for you! I've been here since we were corporately owned by Starwood. Once this property was franchaised out they seem to monitor every little thing you do. It took awhile to get used to but hey, every company does things differently right?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Bar & Restaurant
Bar Tender (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCMay 22, 2012
Jazz bar and restaurant with great atmosphere and work environment. great staff and management. Wonderful owner!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Cook II (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMay 8, 2012
I enjoy working there everyday. It's not even considered working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
food production
frontoffice, (Former Employee), hyderabad, madhapurSeptember 18, 2014
it's always typical to work in westin but if we understand the position in that particular area we can proceed the work very easy in all the departments.managemnt is free and caring onces,my collogues and everyone is good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great property with a outstanding team
SERVICE EXPRESS ATTENDANT (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 1, 2014
The service express department is responsible for any internal or external calls that are received within the hotel. As an attendant it is my job to provide outstanding customer service to our guest by anticipating and exceeding their expectations.

The duties as an Attendant are:

In-room Dining
Luggage handling
Bus tours
Package deliveries
Concierge – more... type work
Guest request
Bellman duties

The service express department is very team orientated and it takes excellent communication and problem solving skills to ensure that the guest feel valued and appreciated. Preparation and organization is crucial to make sure that the daily operations run smooth.

Being in this company for almost two years now I have become more confident and developed strong leadership skills, understanding what it takes to work in a high paced atmosphere and delivering positive connections with our guest. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quality without compromise
Industrial Trainee - Job Responsibilities (Former Employee), Hyderabad, APJanuary 30, 2014
quality comes before quantity

hard working yet having fun while working

learning new things was the best part of my job

hardest part of the job would be meeting with the expectations and the work assigned , avoiding dissapointments..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and benificial
f&b Training supervisor (Former Employee), Delhi, DLSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: meal free 24 * 7 and extra benifts
Cons: long hour and hectic shifts
wonderful place to work and very much learning center in terms of managment and policy less satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient & productive work place
Team leader (Current Employee), Pune, MHAugust 11, 2013
All the employees at The Westin starts their day to there respective departments 'Briefing' which includes previous days guests feedback, complaints,issues etc. which would help the next shift people to be prepared at work. Any feedback or complaint used to escalated to the respective department head, which ensures all the guests met by the Senior Management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
demi chef de partie (Former Employee), Pune, MHJune 8, 2013
Pros: free duty meals
Cons: long hours
overall a good work place where I enjoyed working a lot, very good and supportive co-workers and seniors

About The Westin

Westin Hotels & Resorts offers innovative programs that transform every aspect of a stay into a revitalizing experience. All – Read more