The Wichita Eagle Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work if they did not keep cutting staff
Copy editor/Digital producer/pet writer (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSAugust 16, 2017
Great staff and management, professional and fun atmosphere. An environment in which a journalist can continually learn and grow, if corporate management did not keep laying people off. Could not recommend it at this time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Newspapers are a dying breed
Circulation Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSMay 8, 2016
In its day, this was a great publication (The Wichita Eagle) but newspapers struggle to survive in this world of technology.
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over worked under paid
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSFebruary 24, 2014
The expectations of the district manager position is to be able to work 365 days a year, 24 hours a day with no exceptions. Your health, and personal life will completely disappear if you take this position. They don't care about their employees, or their contracted workers, or their customers. They only want to make as much money as possible before everything goes digital.
Pros
some flexibility during the day to take care of personal items
Cons
the work environment, leadership is non-existant and hostile.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Fast Paced
Warehouse Assistant/Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  wichita ksJanuary 27, 2014
Really enjoyed the warehouse environment. Enjoyed working with heavy equipment
Pros
always hours and something to do
Cons
pay was low
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Long Hours
Circulation Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSAugust 29, 2013
Great working environment before mass downsizing occured
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, demanding, great learning experience
DC Helper (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSJune 5, 2013
A day at work consisted of helping the carriers load bundles of newspapers and keeping up maintenance at the warehouse.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved being a journalist.
Copy Editor, Staff Writer and Editorial Writer (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSMarch 23, 2013
I was hired as a part-time editorial writer for The Eagle before I had my undergraduate degree and stayed with my hometown newspaper for many years before the industry slipped into an ongoing malaise that has since worsened. I especially loved being able to write editorials or stories that prompted change and in small ways, made Wichita a better place. Over time, however, I felt the paper's commitment to the city falter in ways that I did not agree with and had no say over. I decided reluctantly in 2008 that it was best for me to pursue other employment and accepted a voluntary buyout.
Pros
occasionally making a difference -- albeit, a small one -- in the community
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and great working environment
Freelance Photographer and Intern Photographer (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSJune 12, 2012
Everything about this place, from the moment you walk in the door to the time you leave at the end of the day, is awesome. It's the best time I have ever had at a job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disciplined atmosphere
Market Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSFebruary 14, 2012
Busy, task-oriented with no room for error! A good place to work and grow in knowledge.
Pros
getting paid to learn!
Cons
office space too small
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Wichita Eagle. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7

The Wichita Eagle Reviews by Location