The Wood Group Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 17 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay
Residential Aide (Former Employee) –  Texas City, TXMarch 16, 2016
Administrator not professional, staff dressed very unprofessional & a dress code needs to be inforced. Facility beyond nasty, all rooms are gross, the pay is $8.25 an hour, high turn over, you get no breaks, no way to move up, just a dead end job. I loved helping the clients but stressful & not appreciated
Pros
Laid back
Cons
No breaks & low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trouble in paradise
RN (Former Employee) –  Texas City, TXOctober 25, 2015
It was an amazing job very easy very enjoyable but the staff got along very poorly. There was no communication between shift changes which left the next set of staff clueless to what needed to be done & it made work harder than it should have been.
Pros
EASY GOING JOB
Cons
STAFF WERE ALL THE BOSS'S FRIENDS WHICH MADE HARDER FOR HER TO CONTROL
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great work enviroment, nice coworkers.
Warehouse foreman (Former Employee) –  Humble , TxAugust 28, 2015
Working for the Wood group was a little trying at times. Management was going through a change when the company was bought out by Ethos Energy. Over the 4 years, at the beginning, advancement seemed possible, but as years passed work load got heavier and position or wage never changed.
Pros
Awesome coworkers
Cons
Manager positions were unclear.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment, cooking, cleaning, and attending the consumers
Mental Health Aide (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 7, 2015
A typical day at work where cooking, cleaning, monitor mental health consumers. I enjoy making the consumers smile, happy. Team player..
Pros
free food
Cons
racoons outide the work area
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
days at the wood
Corporate Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 22, 2015
had to oversee each of the 5 restaurants, lead the line in two of the restaurants and close one of them did all the ordering inventory hiring and firing.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Loved working with this co.
Food Manager/ Residential assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 18, 2015
As I arrived to work I would greet employees. and began my day by washing my hands.so I can start to prepare the meals for the day and at the end of the day I would clean the kitchen.
Pros
some times i would get free meals.
Cons
very hard work. a lot of standing.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job opertunities
Lead operator (Current Employee) –  creole laSeptember 29, 2014
very busy, working 12 hour days, cleaning, operating, trouble shooting
Pros
feed and house you
Cons
hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unethical
Case Worker (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXAugust 3, 2014
Everything about this company is unethical , we were told by our supervisor to put more hr in our notes.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes9No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract work through the Wood Group
UK - Project Advisor (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen, SDJune 11, 2014
Worked as an advisor in Scotland for a Customer Service Center global consolidation into 2 strategically placed Support Centers, one in Houston and one in Glasgow. It was a great opportunity to travel and assist with validation of project estimates.
Pros
travel and involvement with a team of people
Cons
contract work is temporary
Was this review helpful?Yes5No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can be a nice place with the right clients
Resident Specialist (Former Employee) –  Texas City, TXMay 16, 2014
a typical work day you would cook dinner for the clients, administer medications, clean (sweep,mop,dust,laundry etc.). I learned how to assist clients with getting things that they needed dealing with mental health, how to administer there medications at the correct time and the correct amount, keep a log of the medications,where the clients are every 15 min and how to do an inventory of the clients things when they come in and how to discharge the clients at the end of there time at the facility. Management is ok could be better if they were more involved with the associates and actually trained them properly in all aspects of the job also if they all knew all of the job instead of just part of it and having you talk to some one else due to them not knowing what it is that you are having a problem with or how to tell you to fix it. the other associates are fairly easy to get along with for the most part but all lack the proper training due to management not training them properly just going off a book that isn't completely correct. the hardest part of the job was doing the clients inventory due to the fact that u cannot touch their stuff so its easy for them to hide things like medication in their stuff. helping clients to get stable on their medications and other things so they can move onto the next part of their life.
Pros
if there's enough food after you feed the clients then you can eat what they are having.
Cons
no breaks, lunches, or benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes13No3

Want to know more about The Wood Group?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible places to work
do it all (Former Employee) –  El PasoMarch 15, 2014
STAY AWAY: Supervisor works you 50-70 hrs a week. I did not learn a thing at least from management. To much work for a lot less then minimum wage.
Pros
no pros
Cons
everything about this company
Was this review helpful?Yes16No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They don't value there employees.
residential specialist (Former Employee) –  Wichita Falls, TxFebruary 22, 2014
At all! A star is required for a review; it's self explanatory.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding job working with Mental Health Clients
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Angleton, TXDecember 10, 2013
Every day is different at The Wood Group, you never have a typical day. I managed 15 Mental Health Aides and instilled the importance of teamwork in them. I worked with the clients and my main goal was to get them integrated back into society and to help them overcome any obstacles that they may have faced in order to get them to live a normal everyday life. The hardest part of the job was working with clients who had no desire to help themselves. The most enjoyable part of the job was having the ability to make a difference in these peoples lives.
Pros
helping to make a difference in peoples lives
Cons
no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company does not care about the lowest paid employees
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 8, 2013
Mental health aides do not get compensated enough for all the work they do.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This employment was challanging and rewarding at the same time as our clients with mental disabilities were helped with their daily needs.
Rehab Specialist (Former Employee) –  Pharr, TXOctober 19, 2012
My day started by picking up my client's and seeing what their daily need was for that day either medical or personal such as needing groceries or getting assistance with paying their utilities. Management and co-workers worked well with each other as we helped each other if one had an appointment at same time with another client because of doctor's appointments or community appointments. I learned what the meaning of mental illness was and how to better deal with their needs. The hardest part of this job was that sometimes our clients did not take their medications and would end up being sectioned to a hospital for as long as 3 months at times. Something they did not like.
Pros
being there for my clients at their time of need.
Cons
we did lose some of our clients to death.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love helping people that is in need.
tech (Current Employee) –  Austin, TxJune 12, 2012
Love working there but need Advancement.
The hardest part of the job is listening to some of the stories of the clients.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes14No5

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture