Find companies:
The World Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
40 reviews

The World Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place
Consultant, Private/Financial Sectors Development (Current Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 12, 2014
very helpful and knowledgeable colleges, that could always direct you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK organization, decent salary but terrible culture and management
Consultant - Services and Competitiveness (Former Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: work/life balance
Cons: cero possibilities to grow, unless you happen to be the favorite of your manager
OK organization, decent salary but terrible culture and management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful yet productive working environment
Contracts Officer (Current Employee), Washington, DCJune 26, 2014
Minimal opportunities for growth. Great comraderie. Broad diversity and opportunities to learn new cultures.

Working with extremely intelligent professionals is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Application of academic knowledge to solve real challenges in the world
Financial Sector Specialist/Project Leader (Former Employee), Washington, DCMay 25, 2014
Pros: exciting opportunities, benefit package
Cons: no permanent contract (unstable job security)
Continuous traveling to Africa (client countries) once every 2 months for 2-3 weeks requires significant amount of physical mobility, mental toughness, and sacrifice on private life. Working with clients Governments (mostly Ministry of Finance) can be challenging with government protocols and bureaucracy at times, but I enjoyed working at the World – more... Bank for 8 years because professional satisfaction and learning I get from it was immense. It was exciting and rewarding to support economic growth of emerging countries with colleagues who are highly intellectual. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and peaceful workplace
INTERN (Former Employee), Washington, D.CMay 15, 2014
Work was mainly office administration on a daily basis. I filled and copied documents. My co workers were friendly and respectful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very interesting place to work. You will gain a greater knowledge of the world and the issues which impact the people of many nations.
Web Content Designer (Former Employee), Washington, DCMay 4, 2014
Pros: too many to name.
Cons: know your tax status. they do not take out state and federal taxes from your pay.
Highly dynamic environment, and impressive work space. They had something for everyone. If you have skills that you were interested in applying to a problem in Southeast Asia, you had an open door to do so. If you wanted to apply your knowledge of low impact farming in South America, you were welcome to share your knowledge.
This was one of the few – more... organization where I felt that good ideas actually made their way to the people they were meant to serve.
I would still be there now if I didn't have to leave the region. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Extended Term Temporary (Current Employee), Washington, DCMarch 27, 2014
Working here has changed my life, and my outlook on my career. The atmosphere is great, and very culturally diverse. Although I work pretty long hours, it's always rewarding. My coworkers and colleagues are amazing, and I feel blessed to work with them.

However, soon it will be time to move on and continue advancing in life. I know that when that time – more... comes, The World Bank will be very supportive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work and challengin environment
Program assistant (Former Employee), Washington, DCMarch 26, 2014
Very interesting place to work and benefits are great. Most of the work was relating to the project financing in developing countries. On daily basis we would review the steps taken by the foreign governments required by the bank in order to fulfill requirements for the Bank's loan. Co- workers were fantastic, very interesting people who are at the – more... same time extremely good at their job and very easy to work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culturally Intriguing
Short Term Consultant - HR Assistant (Former Employee), Washington, DCMarch 1, 2014
Pros: interanationally innovative
Cons: advancement throughout the organization
A typical day at work would involve creating new candidates folder, following up on candidates status of the recruitment process and updating status of candidates process in the system. I have learned much in regards of dealing with cultural sensitivity. Knowing how to respond, greet and overall communicate with others in an international organization. – more... I thoroughly enjoyed my colleagues for we looked at each other as a team with respect. The most difficult thing about my job was time sensitivity. Things had to get completed in a certain time frame that would sometime be out of one's control. e.g. security clearance. That is handled by another department and it would make it difficult to continue the process of recruitment if there was a hold up of verification of clearance. The most enjoyable part of recruitment was helping others achieve their desired goal of seeing them get on board in a timely and effective manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but life/work balance
Short Term Consultant (Former Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 8, 2014
The only problem is that it's hard to be permanent employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent diversity but poor job security and careeer advancement opportunities.
Consultant (Former Employee), DCFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: diverstiy, many brilliant colleagues, and very meaningful work
Cons: limited job security and career advancement
Excellent quality of work, diversity, and very meaningful work objective. However, the Bank is hierarchal: there are two paths: (1) consulting, from which it is very difficult to secure a staff position: as a consultant, you are no longer entitled to training and travel opportunities.

(2) Staff, conversely, have excellent job security, training opportunities, – more... involvement on missions, and solid career advancement opportunities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good work enviroment,i felt right at home
Receiver/Stocker (Former Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: free lunch, nice hours, overtime
Cons: the days they let me go.
i pretty much enjoyed my time at The World Bank,what i learn was how to be real porfessional and high minded. My manager alway stayed on us, sometime he would work with us.it wasnt really an hard parts about te job, i was alway told dont get a job your not going to enjoying doing so i try not to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent platform with global vision
Consultant (Current Employee), Washington, DCJanuary 19, 2014
It is a great workplace for international development. You will work with competent, fun and cultural-diverse people on many challenging developmental issues across different regions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World Bank JPA
Junior Professional Associate (Former Employee), Washington, DCDecember 10, 2013
Great environment to begin a career in international development finance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would love to return
Program Assistant (Former Employee), Washington, DCDecember 3, 2013
Amazing organization with brilliant minds. Having an advanced degree is a must for this organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging and competitive
Lead Economist (Current Employee), Washington, DCOctober 30, 2013
I love helping developing countries
I do not like the beauracracy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very rewarding career
Program Assistant (Current Employee), Washington, DCAugust 28, 2013
Pros: flex time.
Cons: nothing to complain about!
The job that I held at the World Bank has been a very rewarding experience. My day begins with reading of emails; prioriting the work. Attending first to the urgent jobs. Then attending to the other requests. During the day I answer to phone calls for my manager.My co-workers are great . They are of different nationalities. We have get-togethers now – more... and then. There is nothing really hard about the job as I consider everything as equally important. The enjoyable part of t he job was to learn new things and I go for internal and external trainings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great organization doing amazing work with incredible people.
Consultant (Current Employee), Washington, DCAugust 19, 2013
Pros: fulfilling work & constant access to interesting events and accomplished people
Cons: a little bureaucratic and confusing at times, but i think that the current president is making a genuine effort to improve things.
The World Bank is inspiring on a daily basis. Both the projects we support and the people we get to work with are incredible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work environment
Consultant (Current Employee), Washington, DCMarch 13, 2013
As a short-term consultant, there is greater overall flexibility. The trade-off is lack of job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The World BaNK
Sr. Executive Assistant (Current Employee), Washington, DCMarch 12, 2013
High profile and interfacing with world leaders and notarieties.

About The World Bank

Collectively known as the World Bank, the International Bank for Reconstruction & Development (IBRD) and its sister organization – Read more