Thermo Fisher Scientific Employee Reviews

Found 1,116 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work hours
Receiving Associate (Former Employee) –  Sugar Land, TXSeptember 9, 2017
I liked my work hours at this company, working 10 hours day from 7:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m Tuesday through Friday. We had a weak manager, not being honest to us.
Pros
Excellent work hours
Cons
Weak Manager, not honest to the employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Much is expected.
Field Sales and Service (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis MN covering MN,ND, and SDSeptember 8, 2017
I did sales and service in MN, ND, SD. Most of the time I was working alone. I saw my supervisor twice annually. As long as I achieved my goals, I was left to myself.
Pros
Flexible in every way
Cons
Many hours of driving
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucks
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Frederick, MDSeptember 8, 2017
The management here is horrible and they don't care about the temporary employees. Managers walk around saying cuss words. It's unprofessional and not recommended to work here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful with unrealistic expectations
Technician 2 (Former Employee) –  Grand Island, NYSeptember 7, 2017
This company is continually evolving to respond to current trends. There was significant change during my time there and I had 5 different managers in a 2 year period. We were continually asked to do more with less to compensate for the changes.
Pros
1 hour breaks
Cons
Having to defend every move
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company with lots of opportunities
Manager (Former Employee) –  PennsylvaniaSeptember 7, 2017
Overall Thermo Fisher is a great place to work; lots of career opportunities, especially for those who are willing to relocate; good benefits package including company matched 401K, health insurance, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Rims Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Kenilworth, NJSeptember 7, 2017
I gain lot of experience working with Thermo Fisher .
I place orders,Inventory management , customers service.
great place to work, but based of my experience I deserve better salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of local advancement opportunities
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Coon Rapids, MNSeptember 6, 2017
I enjoyed working for this company but have had a lack of career advancement paths at our local office so I am choosing to look else where for employment.
Pros
flexible work schedule
Cons
poor leadership, lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, plenty to do, collaborative based work.
Staff Member (Current Employee) –  Rockwood, TNSeptember 5, 2017
- Fast paced
- Plenty to do
- Collaborative based work
- Office/warehouse environment
- Easy access off main highways
- Ample parking
- Great benefits.
Pros
Great benefits, plenty of work
Cons
Commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and understaffed
Senior Group Leader (Current Employee) –  Greenville, NCSeptember 5, 2017
Great people but upper management has to get help to the groups that are drowning. Plenty of opportunity to learn and grow if a person is motivated. The knowledge base to draw from is huge and makes me keep coming back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun and work hard
Media production operator (Current Employee) –  Lenexa, KSSeptember 2, 2017
I am the person who has easy to learn and work hard to my job giving all my best to learn everything in any ways and to give a good customers service to the customers who needed my help
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Marietta, OHSeptember 1, 2017
I loved the job it was a new experience for me the work wasn't hard and the pay was very fair pulled parts from line inspected parts then placed parts in racks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Business Administrative Environment
Global Sourcing Specialist (Raw Material) (Former Employee) –  Marietta, OHSeptember 1, 2017
My position at Thermo Fisher was challenging and helped me to obtain personal growth. I built long lasting friendships with co-workers and met very many new people.
Pros
Excellent benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a clean room environment.
Assembly Worker (Former Employee) –  Millersburg, paSeptember 1, 2017
High pressure. Jobs had to be completed in a given time frame or you impact the rest of the work down line. This makes for a very intense fast pace environment. If you are not up to speed your co-workers throw you to the lions.
Cons
They make you pay for any special tools or clothing. Deducted from your pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sink of Swim
Electrical Engineering (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 30, 2017
Fun place to work with a lot of variety. Sink or swim atmosphere and must be self motivated. The company currently has a lot of turnover due largely to management issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days
Column Technician I (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAAugust 30, 2017
Work 10 hours on average throughout weekdays. Worked 6-8 hours on Saturday. Productivity is key. Work long hours, daily. Work more, produce more, management is happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsibilities
Software Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  NYAugust 30, 2017
 Perform regression, logging new defects and verify fixed defects.
 Creating and executing load test scenario using Load Runner 11.52(Tru Client Ajax Protocol) on different environments (Dev Environment, Test/Stage Environment).
 Checking Server Logs for reporting exceptions occurred during Load Test run and report those to developers.
 Fixed UI defects.
 Created QTP script to generate multiple set of experiment files to be used in Load Test/Performance Test or Manual Test.
 Worked with IT team to check/update Amazon Server configuration i.e Auto Scaling Policies, MemCache Configuration, Amazon Instance Size.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Job, good people for the most part. Need more management support.
Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Pleasanton, CAAugust 30, 2017
Nice place to work. You can learn alot and there is chance for advancement but you have to show that you know what you are doing and that you can advance.
Pros
Good work atmosphere
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Site Specialist (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 24, 2017
Thermofisher offers great advancements if you are looking to remain with a company. Management at times can leave you without of clue of advice on how to do your job.
Pros
Short lunch
Cons
Great pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Beverly, MAAugust 23, 2017
This large company provided many perks, a good environment with a supportive staff.
Answer a multi-line switchboard while greeting all clients, announcing their arrival, enter bills of lading, etc... I learned how to transfer International callers to the correct facilities, post personal greetings on our front board. The hardest part of the job was getting used to being alone out front, being busy allowed me to focus on the duties assigned. I enjoyed being a part of a large, growing company that took notice of their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Long Hours
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Frederick, MDAugust 21, 2017
Expect to work 50+ hours weekly with little to no supervision or training. The job is difficult with more skills needed than provided in job description.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Thermo Fisher Scientific. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,400 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4

Thermo Fisher Scientific Reviews by Location