Find companies:
Things Remembered
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
352 reviews

Things Remembered Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HIghschool job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Santa Ana, CADecember 16, 2014
Pros: flexbile retail hours. easy work experience.
Cons: holiday craziness but overall wonderful place to work at.
Fun, educating. Customer service/interaction ice breaker. The staff was much older and totally cool to wokr with. The supervisor Laurie was a wonderful lady. Very kind. Always made sure we had a big smile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst experience of my life
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), MarylandDecember 14, 2014
I worked for things remembered for a year and 3 months. In that time, I was promoted from key holder to asst. manager. My manager had a drinking problem and would come to work either hungover or still drunk. She would talk about sexually inappropriate things with all her employees. She would call me at 6 am asking for rides home from bars and the hospital – more... because she got to drunk. She would have us close the store in the middle of the day to give her rides because she didn't have a car. She was flat out rude to customers. She didn't train me so i was left to figure things out on my own. She drove employees to quit. I told my district manager several times about her behavior and it took over a year for them to do anything even though she was stealing money and product from the store.
SHE CHANGED MY TIME IN THE TIMECLOCK SO I DIDNT GET PAID FOR HOURS THAT I WORKED AND THE COMPANY WILL NOT FIX IT. The company doesn't give a S*!t about its employees or customers. The products are poorly made and overpriced. Customers would often buy something, have it break within weeks and want a refund but there was nothing we could do because we would get in serious trouble for accepting returns. Engraver would break down and our district manager would tell us to just deal with it. Basically, don't work for this corrupt company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service/Engraver
Engraver/Customer Service associate (Former Employee), Modesto, CADecember 12, 2014
Pros: free lunches, bonding time with employees, learning how to engrave personal items
Cons: n/a
Greet customers, cashier, cash handling, working with others, stocking items

Engraving items, time management, scheduling hours, machine usage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent job that turned into a nightmare
Sales Associate/Key Holder/Engraver (Former Employee), Savannah, GANovember 28, 2014
Pros: engraving was fun, work experience, making customers happy, friendlyt co-workers
Cons: unclean environment, manager not trained properly
A year ago, my review of this company would have been positive. I worked here for just shy of a decade. I wouldn't have stuck it out so long if I didn't like my job.

And then everything changed.

Not everyone who has years of management experience is a good manager. This was proven over the past year. New manager, new to the company, and 11 months – more... in is still using the excuse that they aren't trained properly to do things. If it wasn't for the assistant manager, most of the manager's duties would not get done. If I listed everything that has gone wrong, you would think I was making it up. I have pictures from the past year that I wanted to send to the district manager, but didn't due to not wanting to appear petty. I only hope, for the sake of the co-workers I am leaving behind, that upper management does a surprise audit of that store without giving her time to scrounge the day or two before their arrival to do work she doesn't do normally. I don't think the deposit receipts have been signed off on since May. I even attempted to call the Shrink hotline, but nobody ever came out to the store. The district manager didn't seem bothered that the store manager was out of dress code on almost every store visit. It was abundantly clear that numbers were more important the well being of the staff and the health issues due to the ceiling tile covered in black mold that is still there after 6 months.

That said, the past year has completely clouded my experience with Things Remembered. Where I used to look forward to going to work, catching up with the co-workers, and engraving, I dreaded what issues awaited me inevitably every day caused not by customers, but by the store manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Sale Associate (Current Employee), Moorestown, NJNovember 20, 2014
its very easy going and very relaxed but around the hoildays you gotta do your best to keep up
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can not leave fast enough...
Store Manager (Current Employee), Bloomington, MNNovember 19, 2014
Pros: innovative product
Cons: staffing, grid, pay, life balance, no structure....there is a long list!
Overall, if you are a manager that likes to be left alone unless your lacking in components, you like being underpaid for the relentless work that needs to be completed in a day, enjoy a crazy environment with single coverage (unless its Saturday then you get an associate for 3 hours) no time to take lunch breaks, surprise floor sets with no funding – more... for hours then this is for you. If you love a company that is organized, structured, WELL staffed, makes you feel appreciated, part of a team, and pays you what YOU are really worth then this is not the position for you. Assistant managers are VERY underpaid, Store Managers are severely underpaid and the associates are as well, leaving the stores with lots of turn over. There are many instances where promises were left unfilled. There is constant talk of "promotions" with no actions and who really wants to PAY for REWARDS program. As a customer, I would not want to pay to get coupons, yet we push this onto them. Did I mention the constant turn over? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Orlando, FLNovember 18, 2014
Pros: great benefits and opportunity for growth
It is a very fast paced company to work for. It keeps you active when it's busy but there are also days where it can be slow. I enjoy working for this company and one thing I've noticed about this company is that there is longevity, security and if your job is done well there is opportunity for growth with in the company if you are looking to move up – more... in the company and some times willing to move. I enjoy what I do and the team that I am apart of. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Things Remembered
1st Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VANovember 13, 2014
opened/closed store
took nighty deposit to bank when closing
helped clients with gift suggestions/engraving
Engraved store items or clients items
Cashier
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work for Things Remembered
Seasonal Engraver (Former Employee), Mentor OhioNovember 13, 2014
Don't Work for Things Remembered!! Management told me I was doing a good job. The next day they fired me It makes no sense at all. Lied to me about sending me home. They told me we had no business/sales but we were busy. Stay away from Things Remembered
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Things Remebered
Engraver (Former Employee), Gretna, LANovember 11, 2014
Learning to engrave things was fun. Meeting a sales quota was difficult but exciting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding, but challenging
Training Store Manager (Former Employee), Fort Collins, ColoradoNovember 10, 2014
Pros: great discount
Cons: barely any time for a break, no coverage for lunch, extremely tight scheduling
A typical day found me working long shifts by myself. Often times never got lunch, and would be overwhelmed with customer orders or service.
I learned amazing time management, engraving procedures and how to maintain our engravers.
Being a manager, I know that managers are extremely over worked and under paid. But you learn how to make the impossible, – more... possible.
My supervisors were ok, but not very strong.
My co-workers were a good team of managers and relied on each
other for a lot of support.
The hardest part of the job was the time constraints. Never enough employees to handle to job.
The most enjoyable part, getting to be apart of so many special occasions and moments of my customers. They really are the reason I worked there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Paramus, NJNovember 5, 2014
great job for someone just starting out in the retail world. You learn a lot about customer service and how to interact with customers in a face to face type way I had fun working here and thought it was a great job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. Very Welcoming and homey environment.
Key Holder/Sales Lead (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYNovember 4, 2014
A typical day at work consists of me working alone most of the time. I'd come in check with the person who was leaving when I got there to see what kind of changes it has been and if there were anything I needed to know as far as the customers. And I'd focus everything solely on making sure the customer was happy. At Things Remembered we personalize – more... gifts, so I always made sure to be "fast, friendly and efficient" with all of the customers. At the end of the work day I'd straighten the store. Close the registers and count the money and when I was done I would take the deposit down to the drop box and I'd lock up and leave. Unless I opened the store, then I'd start up the registers and count them to make sure the deposit wasn't off from the person who closed the night before me. What I learned mostly from that job, was not only how to engrave, but how to be able to run/take care of the store. As well as being able to handle large amounts of cash. My manager was very great in teaching and making sure that we knew everything we knew as far as the product and what was new with the company. My co-works were awesome. Because of the small store, there were only a handful of us, so it became more of a homey feel that a work place which I liked. I build friendships with the people I worked with. The hardest part of the job for me was managing time when I didn't have another co-worker there with me. Because it was just me waiting on the customers, ringing them out and engraving their gifts and making sure it was to their standards and that it wasn't rushed. Especially when I was alone and extremely busy. The most enjoyable part of the job was having the responsibility of handling the keys to the store and the money from the deposit. I loved having responsibility and being trusted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment
Sales associate (Former Employee), Kansas City, MONovember 2, 2014
Engraving on the machines and working in between customers keeping up with the store cleanliness as the day goes on i was usually in charge of the register and closing meaning at the end of the night i would have to close down the store, restock and do all closing procedures such as taking the deposit to the bank and closing down the register and the – more... end of the night paperwork. the most enjoyable part of my job was to see the satisfied customers after you had done their engraving and getting to see their finished project or being able to work with customers who were about to have a wedding and getting to put all the products together for the wedding and helping them decide what kind of engraving should go on the project to fit them best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you don't have a family
Store Manager (Current Employee), Lincoln, NENovember 1, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: no breaks
Assist customers, engrave, track goals and performance. I learned to handle customer complaints, build a loyal customer base and how to hire and train new employees. There is not enough positive feedback from management. My co-workers are great. The hardest part of the job is all the production work during the busy holiday season. I really enjoy all – more... the great customers, variety of work and display work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was enjoyable to be around.
Sales Associate and Engraver (Former Employee), Glen Allen, VAOctober 31, 2014
Pros: friendly management and the experience
Cons: low pay and hours.
Overall I enjoyed working at this particular job but there were things I did not favor. I learned how to engrave glass and jewelry which was very fun to do and watch. The hardest part about working here was the fact that the little amount of orders that we had, we had no time to do them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, fair, overall enjoyable work enviornment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Flint, MIOctober 30, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of me working the sales floor, helping the customers to make purchase decision. Proceeded by helping them with check-out, also was responsible for maintaining store cleanliness and items stocked!

All in all it was a great enviorment to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Day, Every Day
Assistant Manager/ Acting Manager (Former Employee), Midland, TXOctober 29, 2014
Pros: great benefits, respectful co-workers, smiles everywhere!
Cons: there are many difficult customers
I thoroughly enjoyed working with the Things Remembered Team.
Not only was I excited every day to show up to work, I was always the best dressed(in a suit), and was greeted by happy customers.

I started a few days before Mothers' Day, and was immediately put to work. I was trained to do my job in less than a day, giving others more hours to train on – more... whatever they may have needed work on.
I started as a low Engraver, just a seasonal at that, but was quickly thrown into the exciting job of Floor sales.
Being understaffed on a busy day, my engraving had all but been finished and 8 customers had just walked in. The team usually consists of 2 or 3 people: 1 or 2 engravers, 1 manager/assistant manager, and usually one of the engravers would double as a sales associate. I had only been trained on the engraver, but my MOD (Manager on Duty) was swamped with questions and people needing help, so I jumped off of the engraver and happily helped whomever I could with their questions and would help set them up to go to the resister. Because of this, I was quickly promoted from an Engraver, to a Full time. After about a month, I was promoted again for being a great help in sales. Within 3 months, I was the Assistant Manager and was competitive in my sales with not only my Manager, but the entire store over in Odessa. I enjoyed having frequent calls from the Mangager or AM(Assistant Manager) of the other store, and would have fun trying to outdo the other stores.
I really enjoyed the way I was trained and the respect everyone had for one another. But, with everything so good, something had to be bad, right? Well, customers are very picky about what they want engraved. and if you mess up an engraving on a particular item, you would have to start from scratch. Glass and anything Wedding related was always a bother to engrave, mostly because you had to engrave the same thing multiple times.

With all of that aside, I truly enjoyed every moment I worked with TR, but had to leave because I didn't have time with the move.
If I could, I would go back in a heartbeat! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and fun place to work
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Rocky River, OHOctober 23, 2014
Pros: discount on everything
Cons: far away from home
I was a cashier and helped customers choose what to have engraved on item they purchased. Everyone there were very nice and fun to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), huntington station, new yorkOctober 21, 2014
Pros: working with enjoyable people
Cons: not having a designated area to eat lunch.
A typical day at work consist of walking around, straightening the floor and helping customers find the perfect item for their specified occasion. i learned how to use an engraving machine. The managers were amazing. they were understanding and had no problem helping me or better explaining something i didn't quite understand. My co-workers were funny, – more... and also hard working. The hardest part of my job was working around the holidays when it was hectic and out of control. The most enjoyable part of my job was working with the customers and making sure they're happy and satisfied with their purchase. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Things Remembered

Things Remembered is trying hard not to be forgotten. The company primarily sells products, such as jewelry, leather goods, glassware, – Read more