Find companies:
Things Remembered
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
347 reviews

Things Remembered Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great working experience
Sales Associate/Master Engraver (Former Employee), Marion, IlMay 2, 2014
Pros: you got to meet alot of different people and help them with their specialty gifts.
Cons: normally worked by yourself so no real breaks, and only fulltimers were the manager and the assistant.
A typical day was a push for sales in a very slow mall, however we maintained our sales and our customers where great. I learned how to help customers find specialty gifts to fit their needs and how to uniquely express themselves when it came to the actual engraving of their product. We had to assist the customers, then engrave their gifts in a time – more... restricted environment. Although I've moved I miss the customer base I'd built up over the years there and actually most of my old customers still stay in contact with me. Overall it was a great learning experience, although rather than hire from within for advancement they hired outside and in almost 5 years I received 1 raise and that is because minimum wage went up. Still I had two awesome managers during my time there and those ladies made it worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the engraving part of the job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fort Bragg, NCApril 30, 2014
Pros: the ability to help put feelings into words on a product that will last a lifetime.
Cons: being passed over for advancement because the dm didn't like me.
I loved this job! I was able to help customers express their selves thru words& pictures on products. I was one of a few people who became a level 5 engraver within a year of employment. The store manager and I have been neighbors for years and we worked wonderfully together, the Assistant Manager(s) were both unqualified for their job, but for some – more... reason the DM would not allow the store manager to give the ASM position to me, but I helped in training both ASM's for their jobs. The first was there before me and I still helped her on her job, the other was hired after me and we both applied for the ASM position and she was given it, but I still helped in training her for her position.
The hardest part of my job was doing the ASM job, but not getting paid for it.
The most enjoyable part of my job was engraving the products & watching the customer's reaction when they picked it up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
making memories
Store Manager (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDApril 30, 2014
Pros: using the engraving machaine
Cons: little training
you learn how to help people create memories by engraving items you sell and some you do not that a customer brings in. You help create what the gift will be, look like and design. its nice to here the surprises the person had who received the gift
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-Paced workplace with a friendly team
Customer service (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYApril 28, 2014
Pros: compensation, work environment, team members
Everyday I was in the back helping the engraver with the products they had to engrave, cleaning them up and packaging them to be ready for their pick-up, and I was keeping the back cleaned and stocked. The managers were amazing, nice, polite, and motivating. My co-workers were fun, upbeat and great to the customers. The hardest part of the job was when – more... we had more orders to fill than engravers at the store and when we got backed up with orders. The most enjoyable part was seeing the smile on the customers' faces when they got to see their engraved piece. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Regional Training Manager (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVApril 24, 2014
Flexible schedule
Fun work place
Learn about shoes
Great co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun fast friendly environment
Seasonal Engraver & Sales (Former Employee), Palmdale, CAApril 23, 2014
Pros: .
Cons: .
the training is fast paced and very rewarding. the great discount on engraved items was good too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Detailed & Fun Enviormeant
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Gaithersburg, MDApril 21, 2014
Pros: talking to customers
Cons: standing
At Things Remembered Its A Fast Pasted Opportunity, You Get To Do A lot Of One on One With Customers Which Can Be Rewarding When They See The Final Order.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive but laid back
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Fairfield, CAApril 19, 2014
Pros: discounts, great co-workers and easy sales
Cons: eventually you have to go home.
I loved working here, it was only seasonal but I would have gladly stayed if offered. You stay busy and occasionally get that one rude customer, but the ladies here were so friendly and fun to work with that I never had a bad day at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is okay has a side job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Newark, CAApril 19, 2014
I wouldn't recommend this has a career. Management pay is not well, management still struggles to pay their own bills. Being able to impact the customers life is great, but the pay is not worth the work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job if you value customer service above all
Customer Service (Former Employee), Colonial Heights, VAApril 18, 2014
Pros: cusomer service
Cons: holiday rush
I learned to engrave, work independently, how to close the books at end of sales day, and work without manager present in store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and creative
Sales Associate/Engraver (Former Employee), Irving, TXApril 11, 2014
Pros: flexibility with schedules, overall friendly environment
Cons: not much space, not always organized, irving mall isn't always the greatest
A typical day at work was normally pretty busy with a regular flow of customers. Each day consisted a balance of intake of orders, production of engraved merchandise, and meeting deadlines. The manager is a good manager that takes care of and respects the associates. The number of people that you work with aren't very many but that provides the opportunity – more... to get to know them better. The most difficult part of the job was working with upset or hard to please customers. This was often time consuming but normally turned out successfully. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to work with someone on coming up with the perfect gift, engraving it, and seeing how excited they got at the finished product. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highs and lows in hours
Sales Associate/ Production (Former Employee), Glendale, CAApril 9, 2014
When its a busy time of year like Christmas there are plenty of hours and work for everyone. However there are times when hours are limited because business slows down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Sales Associate/Key Holder (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 9, 2014
Customer Service
Engraving
Bank deposits
Open new Rewards Club accounts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Palmdale, CaApril 5, 2014
lots of learning, fun to help everyone around. you also have to remember the pricing and be considerate of customers feelings and conserns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unreliable
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee), North Jackson, OHApril 2, 2014
Only worked here seasonally. Job security not that great. People were friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable hours
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Waco, TXMarch 31, 2014
I was not able to provide for my family while working here. I needed something more stable and paid more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Hours
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAMarch 26, 2014
The employees are fun to work with, but the only downfall is you get no hours once the store is fully staffed with managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work...RUN.
Store Managet (Current Employee), ConnecticutMarch 13, 2014
Pros: you can meet great customers..they appreciate the engraving
Cons: no way to go to the bathroom., cant eat, need the district manger to like you in order to get ahead...pay not competitive.
I have worked there for years.. I had a great DM. For the past almost 5 yrs we got a DM. That if she dont like you she will fire you..if you complain for her. She will find petty stuff to fire you..Most of the managers in her district are scared because they saw one of the best managers got terminated for nothing..etc floorset not a 100%.. no store – more... in our district is ever a 100%. The DM and her manager are good friends so no one will r ell him nothing..the HR department dont follow up on nothing so it make no sense saying anything..this ex manager was the only woman of color manager in our district..I dont know day to day if I have a job.. when she comes to my store the first thing in my head did she come ro fire me to.. so if you can work somewhere else go...retail is retail. But if you have a family not the right place..in college till you get your degree yes... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Sales associate (Former Employee), San Antonio, TxMarch 7, 2014
Cons: never was informed about sales
the management was initially very strong and reliable but after a few weeks that changed and the concept of team work was gone
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work if you thrive on a fast paced and high pressure environment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Burlington, MAFebruary 28, 2014
Things Remembered is a great company to work for if you thrive on a fast paced and high pressure work environment. As a sales associate you are scheduled 3-10 hours a week, even during holidays, and as management you could work up to 60 hours a week. You must be open to constant coaching because coaching and expanding your skills are part of Things – more... Remembered's culture.

I have met great people working at this company and gained lots of great experience. I have developed a more disciplined management and general work method. – less

About Things Remembered

Things Remembered is trying hard not to be forgotten. The company primarily sells products, such as jewelry, leather goods, glassware, – Read more