THINK Together Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 173 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience for staff development
SITE COORDINATOR (Current Employee) –  Santa Fe Springs, CAAugust 21, 2015
As a Site Coordinator I received a lot of valuable training on how to professionally develop a team of staff that you manage.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Classroom and Officer manager with busy desk
Site Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Santa Fe Springs, CAAugust 21, 2015
After School program all about the numbers. As a coordinator your shift typically finishes at 6:30pm leaving little time to balance your own activities afterwards. Compensation and Benefits are good for a non-profit organization. Job security and advancement is poor and very much based on how your quality assurance coach (QAC) likes you. For this reason my qualified people have left the company. Management consist of micro managing Site Coordinators and program leaders. Overall this company is a resume builder as many good people have been hired and gone on to successful careers outside this company.
Pros
Schedule
Cons
Management and
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, challenging, and insightful
Program Leader (Current Employee) –  El Monte, CAAugust 8, 2015
Working for THINK is a great opportunity. you get to realize how much youre learning yourself and how much youre impacting the students you work with on a daily basis
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Program Leader (Former Employee) –  Whittier, CAAugust 4, 2015
it was great company wish they had a place here in Yuma AZ. they helped me get one step closer to my goal of becoming a teacher.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice balanced job... not enough hours
Program Leader (Sub) (Former Employee) –  Moreno Valley, CAJuly 18, 2015
I loved the job and the idea of it, but there weren't enough hours for me to be capable of just having this one job and not needing another..
Pros
Great coworkers, Good idea, good balance
Cons
Not nearly enough hours, pay could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Volunteer Workplace
HALOs Student Leader (Current Employee) –  Santa Ana, CAJuly 6, 2015
This is where I volunteered through out my third year of high school and will continue to in my last year. The work place was casual and productive. It was always easy to get along with my peers while still being able to get work done.
Pros
Free snack, free activities
Cons
Not enough people being focused
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun scheduled Environment.
Program Leader (Current Employee) –  Victorville, CAJune 30, 2015
Greeting children was always the best, but working with them and helping them with tasks they had been challenged with was always the fun part. Also teaching them and cleaning the area was also fun.
Pros
Kids always ended the day with a smile on their faces.
Cons
Hours varied due the school schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay job
Lead Program Leader (Former Employee) –  Whittier, CAJune 24, 2015
This is an entry level job. I enjoyed working here but it has little hours and low pay. You must be very patient to work with kids. there is also no room for advancement.
Pros
get to help students
Cons
no raises
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good "starting job"
Site Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 23, 2015
They take a lot of time in training their employees and they are fair as long as you do your job. You have to be able to work well with others and many different types of personalities. The perks are that you are making a difference in the lives of children but it is a non-profit so there are no real job perks such as break room snacks or company sponsored lunches (except maybe yearly). Also, the pay for the work you put in and what management expects from you is definitely not close to what it should be.
Pros
Making a difference in the lives of children
Cons
Too little pay for what they expect you to do
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Program Leader (Current Employee) –  Orange County, CAJune 9, 2015
A typical day at work involves supervising children, whatever grade level you choose, and nagging at them all throughout homework time to complete their assigned homework. You do, however, learn a great deal on communicating and speaking. You go home everyday knowing you showed a child you care, by nagging them to complete their work and sometimes helping them understand concepts and such; it is an extremely rewarding experience. Perfect for those wanting to become teachers!
Pros
Building students/teacher relationships
Cons
Some children understand you are not credentialed staff and choose to be disrespectful towards you
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Youth Leader (Former Employee) –  Santa Ana, CAJune 3, 2015
Supervisor was great and it was enjoyable to tutor the high school students. We had weekly meetings where everybody laid their experiences out on the table which helped further bond us as a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for kids to be!
Site Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles RegionJune 3, 2015
THINK Together is the best program for youth after school hands down anywhere. The students are safe, involved in activities, homework, academic and enrichment components. Site Coordinators are involved with the school day and staff. The company itself could really benefit from showing more employee appreciation through raises. After working here for many years, I have only ever seen one raise after being praised with an amazing site yearly. I wish there were more opportunities for advancement as well. Each year the duties become more and more heavy, but the appreciation through paychecks lack. Aside from that, amazing program, amazing people to work with.
Pros
Flexible Schedule, good hours, kids are great.
Cons
Salary/Hourly does not rise as inflation goes up everywhere else.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome job! Not so awesome pay.
Program Leader (Current Employee) –  San BernardinoMay 27, 2015
I currently work for THINK Together and have been for almost 3 years. I can honestly say this is an amazing job! Your experience will vary depending on the site you end up at but luckily I was hired on with an amazing site coordinator and cooperative co-workers. The structure that THINK Together follows is like no other and is 100% effective. Unfortunately it doesn't pay much. I only make $11 an hour and as good as that might sound, I cannot work more than 3.9 hours a day. I only make about $350 net pay, bi-weekly and money becomes a hassle during the holiday vacations such as winter break and spring break. Not to mention the 2 months without work during summer if you're not lucky enough to get hired on for their Summer Program. If you're just looking to make money, this is not the job for you. If you're passionate about working with children and looking for the right experience I recommend applying ASAP!
Pros
Great atmosphere, great experience
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We do not get paid enough for so much emotional distress.
Program Leader (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAMay 21, 2015
The best part was working with kids, it definitely gives you insight on what you're gonna be dealing with if you want to become a teacher. Working at Think Together keeps you on your feet when it comes to language arts and math.

The worst part was dealing with parents who do not want to hear any feedback that relates to their child misbehaving. There are parents that will not like you because you complain about their child on a regular basis to them. However, that would not be the case if that child was behaving appropriate in the first place. There are parents that use this program as an after school daycare. The reason I say this is because they will allow their child to continue to act the way they act without taking any steps to making their behavior better, and if the parent aint on board, then the child aint on board. Thus, making it harder on the Program Leader to take up the task of attempting to change that child's behavior on their own. In a sense some kids are just there, because they have to be, not because they want to be.

This job does not pay Program Leaders enough for the amount of emotional distress we have to deal with on a daily basis with both parents and children. As PLs we have had our fair share of uncomfortable situations either with a parent yelling at us or a child yelling at us. I've seen each PL at my site lose their cool at least once, either in tears in the privacy of closed classroom doors or in walking away in anger.

Also, there is a lack of support from our Supervisor, leaving Program Leaders with the task of dealing with angry parents,
  more... school administrators, event planning, and uncontrollable kids alone. I've had to use my own money to plan some of my activities with my kids, but I do not get paid enough to be doing that all the time. We haven't done anything exciting for them the whole year, and if you want to keep children involved you have to entice them with surprises once in a while. I wouldn't want to be in this program if I was a child, there's nothing to look forward to.

A tip to management, audits should be unannounced every month, not two times a school year. It'll work in your favor for the sake of this company.
  less
Pros
Kids, Flexible Hours, Learning
Cons
No Breaks, Compensation, Parents, Lack of Support, Stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place for Mentoring
Youth Academic Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAMay 5, 2015
I enjoyed mentoring the students, testing their reading and writing skills and abilities.

Everyday was a new day for improvement and it was different resolution to every problem. Dealing with different issues among each student helped me build rapport with many of them.

The staff I worked with was very efficient in working as a team and working to solve issues immediately.
Pros
Mentoring and teaching the youth in my community
Cons
Short days
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to be
Basketball Referee (Former Employee) –  Milpitas, CAMay 4, 2015
A day at work was great, was able to ref and help the kids at all times. I learned to have patience all parents aren't to joyful as others .management an co-workers were all great people to be around. Hardest thing about the job I say is the parents, they can give you a hard time while reffing, but Patience will get you through. I enjoyed the kids the most, they were so fun to be around, they made me wanna go to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Program Leader (Former Employee) –  Pico Rivera, CAApril 29, 2015
The day would consist of homework time and then a ten minute activity. We would then go outside for a team challenge that would consist of about 50 middle school students playing in teams. After would consist of a 15 minute snack time.Then the students would go to their clubs which can either be sports, arts and crafts, and other activities,
Pros
Fun environment
Cons
underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and Fun
Program Leader (Former Employee) –  Moreno Valley, CAApril 26, 2015
I was able to work with kids and had my own class and set of students. I had to maintain line of sight, time management . I helped with homework and other extra curriculate activities
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
After School
Program Leader (Current Employee) –  west covina californiaApril 15, 2015
The program is a great thing to help our youth get on the right track of life. I have learned patience but to beacon a leader. The hardest part if the day is going home.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work!
Program Leader (Current Employee) –  Baldwin Park, CaliforniaApril 7, 2015
A typical day involves overlooking 25 children while providing academic and emotional support. The purpose is to instill confidence to children in underrepresented communities. The most enjoyable part of the job is the students!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 173 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture