Find companies:
Thomas & Betts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
46 reviews

Thomas & Betts Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Environment is relaxed
Account Manager I (Current Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 5, 2014
Pros: customer service week
Cons: no15 minute breaks
A typical work day is quite busy. The early morning hours are spent resolving tasks from the previous day, updates to the customer via email or phone. Sending order resolutions and EDI Error Notifications that have sat overnight in the order database.

Throughout the day, I am consistently involved with detailed order management, which consists of order – more... entry, modifications, reporting shipping discrepancies, submitting debit/credit requests, cross referencing competitor's part numbers and answering incoming calls for price and availability. I have the liberty to handle most situations as I see fit, of course there are general guidelines to follow, but it is ok to go outside of the box, when it's within reason.

My co-workers are tenured, most have been there over 10 years. The hardest part about the job is knowing that there is not much room for growth or advancement. The most enjoyable part of my department is meeting the customer's needs, especially expediting orders at their request for an emergency situation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice friendly culture
Corporate Recruiter (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 2, 2014
Fast paced work environment…..growing exponentially! Fun working conditions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very rough environment to work in, very safe but very hot and dirty and lots of fatigue on a person.
Senior Welder (Current Employee), Lancaster, SCJuly 2, 2014
very hot in the summer, very cold in the winter, your never comfortable in the work area. very dirty work environment, does have excellent benefits and very decent pay, management could have their priorities a little bit more in line, but i guess everybody has their flaws. other than the misery of standing on concrete floors 12 hours a day. if you can – more... get over that, then your good to go. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work.
Process Technician (Former Employee), Portland, TNJune 28, 2014
Pros: if you knew what you were doing, you hardly ever saw anybody
Cons: if you didnt you were ridiculed
It started off great, but went downhill as places do. They tried to expand too much and the management that they had at the time couldnt handle the work load.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Office Manager w/ Engineering Dept (Former Employee), Osawatomie, KSMay 28, 2014
Assisting the Engineer - getting shop plans to the shop to make HVAC equipment.
Great place to work / sorry to see them close.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
close to home
Cable Assembler (Former Employee), richmond vaMay 28, 2014
Pros: company basket ball team
I work closely with the engineering department on quality defects of products
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad if you are just looking for a paycheck
Finisher (Former Employee), Portland, TNMay 23, 2014
Pros: weekly pay, paid lunch break
Cons: inconsistent quality standards, lack of concern for individual employees
I found an ineffective method for distribution of work load. Some presses are known to be faster than others and there seemed to be a pattern of assigning the same people over and over. I requested a move to a different area due to a personal conflict and was told it would happen, but it did not. Despite consistently doing an excellent job with very – more... few quality issues, I could not get a performance review that would qualify me for promotion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced workplace.
Parts Checker (Former Employee), Portland, TNMay 16, 2014
Pros: good benefits and easy communication with management.
Cons: short breaks and very little job training before left at work station.
Go in to a pre-shift safety meeting after which I would generally be given a production schedule as to which presses were running, what parts were being produced, how many were needed, what change-overs were needed, then I would go back to my department, generally alone, and take care of what was required for my shift. My supervisor would usually come – more... through once sometimes twice per shift, unless I was having an issue I could not resolve. I learned a lot more about injection molding, how to better multi-task, and my co-workers tried to work together, for the mostpart. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Factory Job Ever
Machine Operator And Product Packaging (Former Employee), Orange, MAApril 30, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: facility closed
I Worled 3rd Shift 11PM-7AM. I Ended Up Working Amongst Friends. Every Night Was Full Of Fun. The Job Was Simple Pack The Product For Shipping. I Coldn't Ask For a Better Job. I Was A Temp For 4 Month Before Being Hired On, And I Was One Of The Best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job
Crane Operator / Material Handler (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 21, 2014
Cons: short breaks, and not a lot of days off
Its a family place a typical day at work it would start off fast and ends slow.
Management is very Decent.
Co-workers make you feel like Family
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
paint and prep
paint and prep (Former Employee), hackettstown njApril 7, 2014
Pros: there is nothing good to say about the place
Cons: everything
This company is the worst company i have ever worked for... the lady in HR has everyone in fear on a daily basis for there jobs.. supervisers dont stand up for the employees... just and over all bad place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hands off managers
Systems Analyst / Programmer (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMarch 19, 2014
I really enjoyed my time at Thomas & Betts. The management was the best I have worked under.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Certified Forklift Operator (Current Employee), Byhalia, MSMarch 11, 2014
management is not to my liking. my job functions require me to do multipal job functions. with no increase in pay. co-workes are ok, when they are not starting gossip.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
ESAB Operator (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 11, 2014
Pros: great hours
Cons: work/life balance
Worked long hours, sometime didn't have days off. Short notice when needed for extra days to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welder
Welder / Solderer /Machine operator (Current Employee), Horseheads, NYJanuary 22, 2014
Set up to welder and solder parts
I learned to weld and solder
They were a good team to work with
While trying to learn to weld
After learning to the the job it was a job that I loved doing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You felt like family working here.
Planner / Buyer (Former Employee), Clinton, IANovember 9, 2013
Pros: friendly atmosphere with good work ethics.
Cons: plant closing
The company was a good mix of people and while working there it gave you a sense of family. There was a good mix of helping hands to work you towards advancement and once advanced to help you to excel in your position. I felt good going to work each and every day. If the plant would not have closed I would have retired from here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved my job
Production and Material Planner (Former Employee), Brooksville, FLOctober 30, 2013
Pros: great place to work
Cons: no cons
working long hours
all kinds of things
great
very nice
working six or seven day a wk
everything was a great place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This Job was a "high level" customer service and extremely educational
Account Manager (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 21, 2013
Pros: full of opportunities
Cons: lacked organization
Being able to work a high level customer service job of this nature allowed me to expand, improve and utilize my existing skills. I was also given the opportunity to learn new skills and techniques in customer service such as six sigma, furthering my education and skills, very, very interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a nice place to work until they moved
Shipping Coordinator (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHAugust 18, 2013
Pros: nice people to work good benifits
Cons: not many
very nice company to work for. no longer in business. packed up all operations and moved out of state. I assume due to the union.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was enjoyable when part where done according to standards.
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Jonesboro, ARJune 28, 2013
Pros: bring ones own lunch or do without.
Cons: short breaks, medical was to the fullist and complete.
A days work started at 06:00 until 14:30 or with overtime also.
How to work with others in a non military manner.
They could receive more involvement with employees to find
about their lifestyle and their dos and don'ts.
Job knowledge and they complained about everything that
wasn't correct to their standards.
Understanding the companies standards and – more... policy with their work ethics.
Actually doing the job you was hired to do. – less

1 2 3

About Thomas & Betts

Thomas & Betts (T&B) bets on its good connections. The company provides electrical connectors, HVAC equipment, and transmission – Read more