THOMASVILLE HOME FURNISHINGS Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place, just badly managed
Interior Designer (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZNovember 29, 2017
Thomasville was not a bad place to work, if you like working under a microscope. The managing partners are wonderful people as are managers in other locations outside of the Tempe store. Be prepared to work very hard for some great sales months, but make sure you budget yourself, because not all months are guaranteed. Sometimes you will sit for hours on end waiting for clients to come in, and other days, it is extremely busy. The location makes it difficult for some people to locate as it's a nice store, but between a McDonalds and a closed down car wash/gas station.
Cons
current Manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to build a career!
Interior Design Consultant/Sales (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZAugust 19, 2017
I enjoyed working @ Thomasville Home Furnishings and would most likely still be employed there had I not mad the decision to relocate back to Wisconsin. As it was a commission based position you have to make/exceed your quotas.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Receptionist/Secretary (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZAugust 14, 2017
Thomasville Home Furnishings was a wonderful work environment. The sales people are very respectful to the receptionist and warehouse people. I would recommend anyone to Thomasville.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paying easy boring job
Front Office Manager, Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZJuly 10, 2017
Real easy and family oriented. Great money and job security. No room for advancement. Was the only one to run the entire front office while my coworker was online all day every day ordering clothes and shoes off the internet.
Pros
Great money. Easy. Close to home.
Cons
Boring and no team work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thomasville of El Paso
Sales Design Consultant (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJune 15, 2017
Great store to work at. Family owned friendly, compassionate and very understanding.
Good commissions and pay on written business.
Hardworking operating-owners and good work hours.
Not open late at night and they are closed on Sunday.
Honest, dependable and a wonderful work experience.
Pros
No late evening work hours and closed on Sunday.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Comment – July 10, 2017

Fun place to work. They allowed creativity when needed.
Management and owners are very nice.
The proprietors have been in the business for over 67 years.
Family oriented business. Wonderful to work for.

Comment – July 10, 2017

Great job. Straight forward sales job, little design work. Lots of accessories to sell. Management respected you as a person and professional. Co-workers were friendly and professional as well. I enjoyed the selling Thomasville product! Great working hours; not open after 7pm and closed on Sundays.

Comment – July 20, 2017

When I worked there, I got paid on time as promised.
I loved the time I spent there. I really miss the job.
The reason I left is because my husband got transferred with is job.

Comment – August 11, 2017

Fantastic time when I worked there. I miss everyone and El Paso!
Easy hours and lots of fun working with the sales team and customers.
They taught me how to give great customer service.
I made top sales person of the month several times.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong company values
General Manager (GM) (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, DEDecember 21, 2016
Great place to work, company however has closed most of its stores. They are more focused on the wholesale side of furniture and have let the retail side to a few key markets.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace.
Sander (Current Employee) –  Lenoir, NCJanuary 31, 2016
A typical day at work would be working with others to get a task done. Hand sand all furniture for top quality. Inspect for any damage on furniture before it gets shipped off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive day
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 2, 2015
Put together paper work from deliveries from previews day and turn into the accounting department, check in pieces for customer service, answered 8 line phone directed and helped out customers on information they needed, end of the day print out and put together the final deliveries for the next business day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideal administrative position
Operations Administator (Former Employee) –  Orange, CTNovember 4, 2014
I enjoyed all aspects of my job.
I experienced challenges with various Managers and designers.
Pros
Adminstrative duties
Cons
Long commute
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent group of people to work with.
Sales and assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando FlJuly 10, 2014
First thing would be to review my prospects from the day before then call each guest and thank them for coming in and ask if they had any questions about their visit? Any questions about our special finance specials or the collections they were looking at.Once again offering my assistance that i can give them.
The hardest part was getting the merchandise delivered. making sure everything was in excellent shape and not damaged.
The most enjoyable part of my job was a satisfied customer.
Pros
Bonus when we made the President club for being the top sales person for the month
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job , great company.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAApril 16, 2014
I loved working for this company. The management, staff etc.. were wonderful.

Very creative, very challenging.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great furniture and selections
Design Consultant (Former Employee) –  Altamonte Springs , Fl.November 29, 2013
Great job; no Benefits. Straight forward sales job, little design work, no real volume in accessories. Draperies were done out side of business. Management respected you as professional and a person. Co-workers were professional as well. The most difficult part of the job was no support other than Furniture and lamps. I enjoyed the Thomasville product! Great working hours; not open after 7pm.
Pros
quailty for less
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place with great people
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Farmingdale, NYJanuary 10, 2013
I loved working here and in a way I regret leaving but it was time for me to move on. I loved everyone who worked there and to this day I still go back to visit. I grew great relationships with many of our customers with in turn made them come back. I got all of the basics on customer service, purchasing,and many other traits, Most days were great there although some were rough (but when is everything perfect).
Pros
great people who appreciate each other
Cons
its the furniture business, money could be good or bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for until the economy slump
Sales Representative/Design Consultant (Former Employee) –  Brookfield, CTSeptember 26, 2012
Difficult to rely on a commision based pay when you are head of household. When the economy fell times were hard for all
Pros
wonderful people and surroundings
Cons
uncertainty of montly pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding job with long hours but allowed for creativity.
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Florence, KYSeptember 22, 2012
Upon opening the store, I would run all reports concernng previous sales and merchandise coming and going from the store that day and make sure the drawer balanced.
I was responsible for all aspects of running a store - from ordering supplies to merchandising to training and coaching personel.
I would handle customer questions and concerns until all was satisfied.
I worked 55 hours a week.
The merchandising part of the job allowed for me to be creative.
I have customer knowledge and design skills that I could teach my employees.
Pros
my design skills were used and taught.
Cons
long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great product, inconsistant management
Interior Design Manager (Current Employee) –  Paramus, NJJuly 17, 2012
The New Jersey locations are independently owned. A lot of great people working very hard, with very little support or compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thomasville is a good company to work for. It is fun selling the product and advising the client's about their design needs.
DESIGN CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZMarch 17, 2012
I enjoyed working at Thomasville. The job can be stressful, but there is opportunity to sell.
Pros
wonderful staff, great hours for retail.
Cons
not enough time for breaks, stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at THOMASVILLE HOME FURNISHINGS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6