Find companies:
Thompson Construction Group, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

Thompson Construction Group, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
checks went in every week
Crane Operator (Former Employee), Wallingford, CTSeptember 22, 2014
A big company that is continuing to grow.honest place to work.descent screening for good help.all management is family of someone in company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment, good, hard working men.
Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Greenbrier, ARMay 23, 2014
Typical day begins with safety meeting, planning day's work schedule and expected goals.
Management includes helping each worker be his best, co-workers willing to learn and do a good job.
I'm continually learning each man has his own skill set and deciding where to best place him to be most efficient and productive.
Making sure we meet schedules and – more... deadlines is always foremost in my mind.
The most enjoyable is finishing a job, seeing the clients satisfied with our work and the men being proud of their accomplishments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ensuring everyone gets home safely to their families.
Electrical superintendent (Former Employee), Anniston AlabamaMay 19, 2014
Typical day at work. First safety meeting,Second, assign daily work. For example,set 2 30 kva transformers, set mcc switchgear,install and terminate process instruments.Then,10:00 meeting with management to talk about contract modifications,deadlines,and outlook.Knowing my co workers strengths and weaknesses and places them where they can be productive. – more... Hardest part of a job is having to lay off employees. The most enjoyable part of my job is meeting deadlines in a safe and timely matter. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family run employee driven
Sub-Contractor Owner/Operator (Former Employee), Richmond KYMay 13, 2014
On a daily basis i would oversee and supervise one to two employees on job acquisition and implemenation. It was a family owned small business where we would complete construction tasks for the customer wher customer satisfaction was key.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast and productive work environment
Contractor (Current Employee), Richmond, VirginiaApril 16, 2014
Pros: since the company was in the phillip morris plant, i learned a lot about the production of cigarettes.
Cons: the amount of pay, and the atmosphere in which we worked.
A typical day of work included being efficient and fast paced during cleaning of all overhead and high rise above six feet, ice blasting and steam cleaning bins. I trained new hires on cleaning and making sure they were set up for success. One of the most difficult things in my particular job was covering conveyers with plastic, it involved wearing – more... a harness with a lanyard and using D-rings to reach it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all and all a good company to work for
Pipefitter (Former Employee), Decatur, ALMarch 10, 2014
learned a lot from the management and people I work with as we fit and installed piping systems in tight spaces. I love working outdoors and having new and different task to do everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never could do enough.
Employee (Former Employee), Charleston, SCMarch 2, 2014
Cons: get better field supervision.
Brothers were Micro Managers. Monthly meetings were a joke. Brothers even had words in some meetings. They cut costs in many areas of Safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rough construction
Pipe Fitter Helper (Former Employee), Sumter, SCJanuary 28, 2014
basic welders job, rushed project times. long hours but good pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Pipe Fitter (Former Employee), Huger,SC.January 5, 2014
Pros: co-workers were approachable: always safety minded: focused on doing the task right the first time.
Cons: commuting
Was really grateful to work this job.Messy? Yes! Greasy? Yes !Long Hours? Yes! Christmas Morning at Home with my family? Yes!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work Place
Pipe-fitter (Current Employee), Sumter, SCNovember 3, 2013
I have no problems with Thompson. Just need to be prepared when current job ends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not well managed
Superintendent (Former Employee), Mooresboro, NCSeptember 23, 2013
Cons: job site under constent confusion and lack off direction.
Owner and HR manager allows piping superintendent which is project managers son to belittle, demean, insult and create a hostile work environment for everyone he disagrees with. Very unprofessional and childish. Does not allow safety manager to do his job and is undermined by General Superintendent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: everything was well run. caring management.
Cons: nothing negative to say.
Worked hard, generally self-supervised. Demanding supervisors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not all it's cracked up to be
superintendent (Former Employee), kentuckyAugust 13, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: no life/work balance
I worked on the industrial services side and saw a whole different side than Thompson Construction. The management lie and there is no work/life balance. The expectations were rough and they had no sympathy. Would not recommend this business to anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work steadly
Field Mechanic and HVAC Technician (Former Employee), Myrtle Beach, SCJune 11, 2013
I like the people that I worked with. We stayed busy and did our work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good entry level job
Curb Appeal (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMay 14, 2013
Pros: easy work
Cons: short breaks
Its a good job but it has bad management.The co-workers were friendly and easy to get along with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No stability
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 27, 2013
Pros: little supervison, no micromanaging
Cons: not good management and high turnover rates
This company was not great in a lot of ways. It has management issues, as well as a high turnover rate. Both of those are not good qualities to have when you are looking to work somewhere and have stability. However, I did gain knowledge on the hiring process as well as pre-screening applicants. I learned the in's and out's of a manufacturing company – more... as Thompson was a contractor for Phillip Morris U.S.A. So overall, I did gain knowledge, and for that I am greatful! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to work
Accountant and computer operator (Former Employee), New Milford, CTJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: family
I was able to set my own schedule that let me preform my assigned tasks

Computed and prepared employee payroll taxes and checks.
Performed credit & collection telephone calls.
Posted A/R, A/P.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good company to work for.
Safety Supervisor (Former Employee), Sumter, SCDecember 15, 2012
Attended daily safety meetings and conducted daily safety audits. Assisted with site specific orientation. Responsible for ensuring that all employees are in compliance with all safety and health regulations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst management ever
General laborer (Current Employee), Richmond, VAOctober 1, 2012
Pros: co-workers are like family
Cons: horrible managemnt, horrible supervisors, no job security
I have been an employee here for nearly 2 years. I thought coming into this job I would be dealing with professional people but soon after being there I found out that it was completely opposite. My supervisor is completely out of line. I've been called every name under the sun, belittled and constantly have my job threatened. There are supervisors – more... sleeping with the employees and management has done nothing about this. They dont care about how you are treated they will even ask you in your interview if your okay with being around rude people and they dont mean the employees they mean supervisors. Your co-workers are the only thing that make this job bareable. Everyone tends to see the same problems and stick together to keep from saying or doing the wrong things to not lose their job. As far as co-workers its like family. Take away the poor management and supervisors its a pretty good job. If you do have a family i wouldnt come here. You work every weekend it doesnt alternate. I cant add up the amount birthdays or school functions I have missed being at this job. And of course no one there cares. Like the previous review said these supervisors think they are untouchable and they are. Management is no help! I wouldnt recommend this job on my worst enemy! I've had people ask about getting them a job, which wouldnt be hard considering they're always hiring because their turnover rate is so high, but I refuse to let someone I know get this job and have to go through what I have. If anyone with this company with some type of authority over these incompetent people with Thompson Construction at Philip Morris USA reads this I hope you take this review seriously and look into it. I will be more than happy to give you my name and help get to the bottom of everything and I'm positive other employees will also. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No life when working here.
General Laborer (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJuly 12, 2012
Pros: co-workers
Cons: schedules, healthcare, no union
This job will be excellent for young people with no children or families. The schedule will be an issue if you have a family. They do not tell you if you have overtime until the day of and always switching at the last monment. Like I said It is a good start off job though. I Realy got attached to my co-workers. We are like family. I have learned how – more... to operate Scissors and Boom Lifts. – less

Thompson Construction Group, Inc. Photos