Thompson Hospitality Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely hard environment to grasp from the employee prospective.
HVAC Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Univerity Service CenterNovember 9, 2017
Thompson Hospitality was never employee friendly from the beginning. Benefits were difficult to begin for family members. Hostile work environment. Work schedules changed with little or no notification. As shift of the day employee, I was asked to work beyond my departure time or a regular basis.
Pros
Had a job
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome opportinuity to help students
Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee) –  Pine Bluff, ARNovember 3, 2017
A typical day at work was the enjoyment of ensuring college students enjoyed healthy meals daily. I learned students produced better while nourished. The management of the place was impeccable. We received personnel from all over the world which ensured we had a diverse culture. The hardest part of the job was to ensure the student felt at home while dining in our facilities. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the smile upon the students faces. This ensured the students were well nourished and had a better chance of receiving a quality education.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice productive work place
HVAC Technician (Current Employee) –  Tuskegee, ALOctober 29, 2017
Working at Thompson at Tuskegee university will broaden your skill ability. Its also a nice place to learn how to be more professional and gain people skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding and fast paced
General Manager (Former Employee) –  George Washington University, Washington, DCSeptember 25, 2017
Paid well. Great benefits. Lacked in giving guidance to managers. Expected to much with little guidance on company policies and procedures. Not well organized.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Very political. Senior Management was not trustworthy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Marketing (Current Employee) –  MarylandSeptember 25, 2017
This is a workplace you will have to experience for yourself. I'm not sure if it would be the same in all units of the company. Locally my management is supportive. Corporately, I sometimes question what they believe the role of the marketing manager is in the unit, and if they want it to be better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Environment
Retail Manager (Former Employee) –  Tuskegee, ALSeptember 22, 2017
It was a really good learning environment. I gained skills and knowledge that I could take to any job. I was able to advance and work at different locations in different cities and states.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management was subpar
Utilites (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDSeptember 4, 2017
There was much miscommunication within the management and, a lot of times, malfunctions were blamed on the workers. The favoritism was very prominent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Litte summary
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Current Employee) –  Lincoln University, PASeptember 2, 2017
I go in at 8am every morning. Where they have me working is very stressful. I have no help most of the time. The management its just fine. I enjoy my coworkers.
Cons
Hate working alone with no help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAAugust 16, 2017
Needed better management. Butt overall it was a good place to work. You have to enough dealing with students day in and day out. The staff at the school were good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical work enviorement
Cook (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GAAugust 9, 2017
The job is a great job for someone who wants to get work experience while earning more then minimum wage. But if you are experienced the pay isn't much.And cant be negotiated because they are an unionized company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Line Server/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Itta Bena, MSAugust 8, 2017
Thompson Hospitality is a great place to work. The atmosphere is pleasant at times and the employees there will make you feel as if you are part of the family. The most enjoyable part of the job is that you have opportunities to advance in your career and you meet new and interesting students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a job where I met new people and serve in different places.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAAugust 8, 2017
I learned how to be a better communicator. There was nothing bad about the job everything was just smooth and simple.The most enjoyable time was serving the people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work pays off...with more work
Cook (Former Employee) –  Petersburg, VAAugust 2, 2017
Thompson Hospitality is a good place to work. You have plenty of chances to improve your stature with the company, if you're willing to put in hard work. There are often Catering events that you'll have to assist with, but that workload is not as hard as the day to day that you have to accomplish. It can be overwhelming at times, and the students aren't neccessarily the most polite, but barring that, its a good job. Would recommend.
Pros
Good, competitive pay
Cons
Long amounts of time on your feet, in front of a stove, lack of communication
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance; not enough help from uppper management
Food Service Director (Former Employee) –  Pine Bluff, ARJuly 15, 2017
no work life balance. worked most days 6 am to 12:30 pm. leadership not that supportive. As Food Service Director I was doing the work of four managers. Not enough help with managing the account.
Pros
I like working at University
Cons
too many long hours. not enough support from upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace enviroment
Server/Waiter (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAJuly 10, 2017
*Being early as you can
*Having patience and good customer service
*Management was alright at times
*Dealing with rudely college students
*The most enjoyable part is the food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Princess Anne, MDJune 30, 2017
Management treats employees rude employees always call out. They over work the good employees and the pay is terrible. Supervisors step down or quit and they also let other employees make new hires quit as well
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
needs work
Retail Director/Manager (Current Employee) –  Hampden Sydney, VAJune 26, 2017
I Love what I do
the company needs better support for its managers
communication is lacking
no job love
employees would like more manager involvement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Entrepreneurial Culture - Hard work and results driven
Sr. Vice President/VP Development (Former Employee) –  Reston, VAJune 15, 2017
Creativity plus great financial results provide great opportunities to advance here. Need great attention to detail to grow business units and staff development.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace with awesome employees
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 7, 2017
personality caring oraganized adventures understanding supervisors loving and generous customers and just all around a chill environment to work in thank you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stand pace
Cook/Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  South Chesterfield, VAJune 6, 2017
Fast pace. Must have good customer service skills. I deal with all VA State campus students and staff making sure they have the best experience possible while on campus.
Pros
Get meals
Cons
15-30 Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Thompson Hospitality. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 131 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1